We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westway is not the best way.”
Review of Westway Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cochrane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westway Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cochrane
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Westway is not the best way.”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The rooms are outdated and the bathrooms are very small. Heating systems were noisy during the night and made it hard to sleep. The only good thing is that the motel is situated next to Tim Horton's.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
17
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunsford, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Wow what a nice surprise... nice new beautiful furniture, flat screen tv,,,fast internet, fridge and love seat too !! Came from Red Lake heading back to Lindsay ontario ,,and stayed in a lot of hotels this one beats them all including Best western and holiday Inn...exceeded any expectations!! good job!

Room Tip: Right beside Tim Hortons.....need I say anymore????
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We were looking for a place to stop in Cochrane on our way home from Thunder Bay. We stoped at the Chimo Motel because it advertised "clean rooms." Well their idea of clean and my idea are two very different things so I went across the street to the Westway and found them very helpful and the rooms very clean and nice. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FromBowmanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

My wife and I spent a night at the WestWay Motel after the highway in Cochrane closed. At first, we were put into a very small single room but the owners, (who were extremely apologetic and very nice) quickly moved us to a bigger room. Though the decor is a bit dated the owners were extremely helpful in directing us to a warm meal after a long, wintery drive. They also helped dig our car out after a raging blizzard when it got stuck, (twice), trying to get out of the parking lot, (it wasn't their fault - the snow was ridiculous and the plows were all working overtime all over town).
Anyway, I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It's not an ultra-fancy chain hotel but it certainly was comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GeraldtonSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

If you have extra cash in your wallet and no real plans for it, then the Westway Motel in Cochrane is just the place for you. For about $40 more than it is worth, the Westway provides you with a lovely 1970s decor and TV for that nostalgic night on the road. What would cost maybe $49 a night anywhere else, you can have for $89 at the Westway. Don't hesitate. Book today.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank lotusl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Every time I've been to Cochrane, I'm always drawn to the Westway, whether for a night or a few days. Being family own definitely has advantages. Well maintained, very clean rooms, relaxing atmosphere and always welcomed with friendly smiles. Easy access with ample parking, amenities are very close by, only a few minutes away from the train station, or downtown.
The best way for a quiet, relaxing night is the Westway.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank BigGuyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 4, 2006

The motel is clean, neat and tidy. The water pressure in the shower is great and some rooms have fridges.

The room was clean and wonderfully maintained - there was a hairdryer, the beds were comfy and the cable channels were excellent.

We stayed as part of the Polar Bear Express package - staff were courteous and the location was good - it was not right next to the train station but easily walked to or a cab was under $5.00.

Great stay - no pool or exercise room, but worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cochrane hotels
0.2 mi away
Thriftlodge Cochrane South
0.6 mi away
Best Western Swan Castle Inn
63.8 mi away
North Adventure Inn
North Adventure Inn
#5 of 7 in Cochrane
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Station Inn
The Station Inn
#3 of 7 in Cochrane
50 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Westway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westway Motel

Property: Westway Motel
Address: 83 Highway 11 West, Cochrane, Ontario P0L 1C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Cochrane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cochrane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westway Motel located in Cochrane Ontario Canada offers 42 comfortable rooms, whether on business, sports trips, taking the polar bear express, visiting the polar bears, on a snowmobile trip, hunting vacation, or fishing holiday. The Best Way Is The Westway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westway Hotel Cochrane
Westway Motel Cochrane, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing