We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed again with the food and service”

The Ice Hut Bar and Grill
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Cochrane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Impressed again with the food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Visited The Ice Hut Bar and Grill again as my experience the first time was excellent. My second visit was also an experience that will have me coming back whenever in Cochrane. I ordered the prime rib and let me say it was perfect. The staff ensures that all of your requirements are met.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    40
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by the staff at the Best Western near by. I love unexpected finds. From the moment we got there we were welcome with a smile. Had very friendly host Jenna. Her service was one the best i have encountered. She recommended the Beef and it was a great pick. It was served as exactly as i ordered. My team member also enjoyed her full meal too. Then we had desert. The Deep fried Cheesecake was a first for me. I would recommend this restaurant any one coming to the area. We also heard it a great bar after 11 too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“thank you Best Western desk clerk for pointing me to The Ice Hut for dinner tonight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I've been in Cochrane for two nights - wish I had foundThe Ice Hut last night! I had the pesto chicken grilled panini and the spinach salad with walnuts, goat cheese, granny smith apples and a very nice homemade berry dressing. It was perfect - been on the road for a while so I needed something that was 'real food', not deep fried fast stuff or subs, and this fit the bill perfectly! Speaking of the bill - I found the main entrees a little pricey, but I hear the quality is worth it and the prices would be fine for a nice social 'dinner out' - as opposed to business travel. But the items I had were very reasonably priced - $16.95 taxes in for a delicious, perfectly grilled (real) chicken panin and a quite large very fresh salad. The host was very friendly, everything is shiny, updated and spankin' clean in the whole place. I worked in restaurants for 20 years and this place, I know, is doing the job right! Best place in Cochrane, I'm sure! :D

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Can't really comment on Cochrane itself as we were staying very briefly overnight on a business trip. Thankfully, we were advised to try "The Ice Hut Bar and Grill" for a meal - absolutely superb steak, cooked exactly as requested and served with a good selection of veg. My colleague demolished his meal, so enough said!

Restaurant was fairly quiet, but we were in for an early meal - very friendly service and I would recommend to anyone. Unfortunately, I'm unlikely to return, but that's simply based on the fact that I live 6,000 odd miles away!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CQ-Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Could be Better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Things to improve would be. ADD SOME SPICE. Was very bland. We had the 3 Cheese Burger, no spices, buns were very dry. Fries were crisp but again no salt. Service was not good. We had to wait for everything. Waitress apologized 3 times. She seemed like she didn't really care. Looks like many of the good reviews came from friends of the owner. I would not go there again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ice Hut Bar and Grill also viewed

Cochrane, Northeastern Ontario
Cochrane, Northeastern Ontario
 
Cochrane, Northeastern Ontario
Cochrane, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to The Ice Hut Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing