We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean, convenient, and friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Station Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Station Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cochrane
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very clean, convenient, and friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I stated here on our way to Moosonee, ON. We loved that our room, the restaurant, and the train station were all in the same building. It's very convenient in the morning!

Staff was friendly and helpful, and service was prompt and efficient. The rates are very reasonable and the rooms are clean and pleasant.

This is a very well-run hotel. If I'm ever in Cochrane again I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank keili88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
14
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

This small hotel sits right above the train station that serves passenger trains to Toronto and to Moosonee, Ontario. It is extremely convenient being able to simply walk downstairs to board your train and we liked that alot. The rooms and hallway were very clean and personnel were friendly. Our room had one double bed and the room was very small for two people which is the main down side to this place. For a short overnight stay it is good but for a longer stay the small room would be not so good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SilverStar092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

I just stayed at the Station Inn and was quite impressed. The front desk staff was friendly, the rooms were adequate and clean. They are starting to redo the decor in the rooms which will be very nice (they had the curtains up already). I would stay here again, no problem. This property is also very convenient.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank lomadaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

I was in Cochrane for the Centenial celebration in May 2010. I had never been in the Inn rooms before and was amazed and pleased with everything. The recetion desk staff was pleasent and helpful. The room was clean and larger than expected. I was there three nights and had no complaints. I read another review and wondered if we were talking about the same location. If in Cochrane again, I will stay in the Station Inn again. I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Driver98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

Ontario Northland's Station Inn is literally part of the train station in Cochrane, Ontario. For those traveling by train on the Ontario Northland Railway between Toronto and Moosonee, it is inevitable that a night must be spent in Cochrane.

I was scheduled to arrive in Cochrane around 10:00 p.m. one Thursday evening in early May. Ontario Northland's Polar Bear Express [sic] was, however, a little over four hours late leaving Moosonee and a little over six hours late arriving in Cochrane. (While local reports in Moosonee had confirmed that the train's arrivals and departures have been a little bit more predictable during the last few months, this kind of delay has apparently been pretty common in recent years.)

When I checked into the hotel at 4:30 a.m. I requested (with some reluctance) a 7:00 a.m. wake up call in order to prepare myself for the (scheduled) 8:00 a.m. train departure for Toronto. I settled into my bed a little before five to catch the elusive two hours sleep...

But the hotel had other ideas and I received my 7:00 a.m. wake up call at 6:00 a.m. An anguished call to the front desk provided an unsatisfying explanation to the effect that an earlier power failure prior to my arrival was somehow or other responsible for this snafu. The night manager, in response to my request for a partial rate reduction as compensation for my mistreatment, assured me that the manager would be in on Tuesday and that he would be happy to talk to me then. (Tuesday was five days and at least one country ahead of me at the time.) As soon as I hung up the phone with the front desk, the phone in my room started ringing again. Apparently they were committed to waking me up no matter what the cost.

One other point bears passing mention: When I initially approached my room on the upstairs hallway, I had to pass through a double door with this sign on it: "Danger Do Not Enter No Fire Exit." In my exhausted state it took me a while to comprehend the fact that my room was actually in a wing of the hotel which no longer had a serviceable fire exit. Apparently, the provincial authorities have been given sufficient incentive to look the other way when it comes to the fact that the Station Inn (at least at the time of my visit) was renting rooms without proper emergency egress.

I realize that not everyone who visits this hotel will have this exact experience. So take your chances if you find yourself overnighting in Cochrane Ontario. I can, however, tell you that there is a very new Best Western across the street that looks quite welcoming from the outside. I can also say this is the first time I have ever given any establishment a one star rating at TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RailwayHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cochrane hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Swan Castle Inn
64.4 mi away
North Adventure Inn
North Adventure Inn
#5 of 7 in Cochrane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thriftlodge Cochrane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Inn

Property: The Station Inn
Address: 200 Railway Street, Cochrane, Ontario P0L 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Cochrane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cochrane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to take advantage of our exceptional northern hospitality by staying at the Station Inn during your travels to and through Cochrane, Ontario. We are pleased to welcome overnight guests at the Station Inn, which is conveniently co-located with our train and motor coach station, the departure point for the Polar Bear Express train and several motor coach routes.The Station Inn has 23 modern, deluxe rooms, each featuring the following amenities:-A four-piece bath -Cable television -Complimentary in-room Keurig coffee and tea -Iron and ironing board -Individually controlled heating and air conditioning; and -High-speed wireless Internet service available in all rooms Guests enjoy access to our sauna, as well as complimentary parking for both vehicles (plug-ins available) and snowmobiles (with lock-up).In addition, guests have access to the following services, subject to additional charges:-An on-site, full service restaurant -Fax and photocopy service; and -A meeting facility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Station Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Cochrane
The Station Inn Cochrane, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing