We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, clean comfortable rooms, no frills and functional” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Station Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Station Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cochrane
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value, clean comfortable rooms, no frills and functional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Good location, friendly polite staff and provides good value, functional, clean and comfortable rooms. Very comfortable beds and station restaurant provides great breakfasts.

Great place to stay before taking polar bear express further north to Moosenee, plenty of long term car parking.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
14
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Located right in the old train station this is the true railway experience.
The rooms are reasonably priced and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Our room was clean, a fair size and had a flat screen TV.
It get's a bit busy when the "Polar Bear Express" to Moosonee is coming or going but we didn't have any problems with noise.
There is a restaurant in the station where we had a decent simple breakfast (not included) before heading out on the train.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulln, Austria
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The train station is the hotel - perfect. When you arrive in the evning with the Northlander - you don't have to search for your hotel - you stay already in the lobby.
Only one thing is not that perfect - every dinner closes in June at 8:30 pm - so when the Northlander is late - you don't get anything to eat.
Rooms are small but clean. Staff is friendly. Station Inn Restaurant for breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpme88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosonee, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Located right inside the Cochrane train station this hotel is very convenient for rail travellers, especially people coming or going on the Polar Bear Express. A few rooms are quite small, a result of fitting the hotel into an historic train station. Half of the rooms have trackside views, a bonus for railfans. There is a restaurant with decent food on the premises. Rooms are clean. Soap/shampoo dispensed in liquid form from hard to squeeze devices so you may want to bring your own. Recent updates include flat screen TVs.

Room Tip: If you are a railfan ask for a trackside room. If you don't like listening to trains get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed here with my family on our way up to Moosonee. We had an amazing stay and really enjoyed ourselves. When we got there we were greeted by the nicest people and they helped and explained themselves thoroughly. The check is was very quick and efficient. It was priced very reasonably. We then headed up to our rooms, which proved to be the perfect size for the 3 of us and very clean. The room was a little cold when we got in but a small adjustment on the air conditioner fixed the problem quickly. We were on track side but had no problems with noise. We got our wake-up call on time, and went downstairs where our receipt was ready and waiting. We enjoyed our breakfast at the Station Inn Restaurant which is located in the same building. It was affordable and very good. We then got to sit in the lobby of the building to wait for the train. It was overall a great trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I stated here on our way to Moosonee, ON. We loved that our room, the restaurant, and the train station were all in the same building. It's very convenient in the morning!

Staff was friendly and helpful, and service was prompt and efficient. The rates are very reasonable and the rooms are clean and pleasant.

This is a very well-run hotel. If I'm ever in Cochrane again I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank keili88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
216 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

This small hotel sits right above the train station that serves passenger trains to Toronto and to Moosonee, Ontario. It is extremely convenient being able to simply walk downstairs to board your train and we liked that alot. The rooms and hallway were very clean and personnel were friendly. Our room had one double bed and the room was very small for two people which is the main down side to this place. For a short overnight stay it is good but for a longer stay the small room would be not so good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SilverStar092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cochrane hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Swan Castle Inn
2.0 mi away
North Adventure Inn
North Adventure Inn
#5 of 7 in Cochrane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thriftlodge Cochrane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Inn

Property: The Station Inn
Address: 200 Railway Street, Cochrane, Ontario P0L 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Cochrane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cochrane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to take advantage of our exceptional northern hospitality by staying at the Station Inn during your travels to and through Cochrane, Ontario. We are pleased to welcome overnight guests at the Station Inn, which is conveniently co-located with our train and motor coach station, the departure point for the Polar Bear Express train and several motor coach routes.The Station Inn has 23 modern, deluxe rooms, each featuring the following amenities:-A four-piece bath -Cable television -Complimentary in-room Keurig coffee and tea -Iron and ironing board -Individually controlled heating and air conditioning; and -High-speed wireless Internet service available in all rooms Guests enjoy access to our sauna, as well as complimentary parking for both vehicles (plug-ins available) and snowmobiles (with lock-up).In addition, guests have access to the following services, subject to additional charges:-An on-site, full service restaurant -Fax and photocopy service; and -A meeting facility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Station Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Cochrane
The Station Inn Cochrane, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing