We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Swan Castle Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cochrane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had to come into town for a family function and so we first looked to Trip advisor to help us out in choosing a place to stay and we're glad we did. When looking at the other hotels around town, most looked sketchy. So we were glad to have a standard hotel to stay in.
This is a basic hotel across from the railway station, so a LITTLE noise from the trains, but it wasn't bad at all. Stayed on the first floor near front door so we were worried about noise, but this was NO problem at all.
The rooms were VERY CLEAN!
The breakfast was basic. The eggs provided were COLD boiled eggs, which I don't mind but others might. There were make-your-own which is nice/fun for the kids to make. Other than that it was a basic Continental breakfast.
Front desk had some difficulty figuring out our room situation as we only needed some rooms for one night and others for two, and in those others the number of people in each room changed. I didn't think it was too difficult to figure out but they had trouble with it. It wasn't a huge problem but just took time checking in, and in the end they did get it correct-so good.
Staff were pleasant and friendly.

So all in all a good experience and only could give this place a four star rating rather than a five is because it is only a standard hotel, and not a fancy hotel.

And we couldn't figure out why it's called the "Swan Castle Inn" other than the painting in the front hall and the logo on the door.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 163 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

we stayed for 1 night around sunday the exterior of the hotel is not what i anticipated it was quite small as to what i saw in the advertisements anyhow im suprised though of how the room was quite big enough for that price and also clean only problem in that place was that the elevator is not working at the time we where there plus the breakfast area was kinda small its beside the reception area and again contrary to my expectation. but over all I like it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ereinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

There isn't much competition in Cochrane and it shows. Nothing really bad about the hotel but the only place it met my expectation for a hotel was in internet speed. Next time I'll stay at the Holiday Inn in Timmins.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This little gem is clean and has very friendly staff to help you find what you are looking for whether it be a good place to eat or great adventures to find.
It's location is right in the centre of town and walking distance to most conveniences including a Chinese Restaurant The Ice Hut which is another great place to eat.
This Hotel serves a lovely continental breakfast each morning but make sure you stay for a couple of days at least to see all the places of interest including a swim with the resident Polar Bear!
Summer is a real treat with Lake Commando in the centre of town.
Book early as this place gets booked out in advance.

Room Tip: The King Size bedrooms are so comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhondaRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I won't stay at any other place in this area. Beautiful and comfortable facility. The rooms are each somewhat unique and well appointed, clean, comfortable and relaxing. Staff are friendly and helpfully. I have stayed here for both business and pleasure. Reserve ahead if you can. May often fill up. Food available nearby or very short drive. Across from the Train Station and Polar Bear Express. Just off the Trans Canada Hwy 11- 2 minutes in Downtown

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on the way to southern ontario and then back home. The first time was on a Monday night - very quiet. The second was on a Saturday - lots of kids staying for hockey - really loud. Other wise an amazing stay - rooms are large, comfortable and clean. Staff are welcoming and nice. Breakfast area is small but has enough choices - bagels, english muffins, toast, cereal, fruit, pasteries, yogourt, and hard boiled eggs. Very impressed and will stay here again when travelling through. Didn't check out the whirlpool or exercise room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellers1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Choices to stay are rather limited up in the north, but this place was very good. Staff was excellent and very courteous. My room was very clean and although faced the main road, it was very quiet.

The breakfast area could be a bit bigger, but not a deal breaker.

The only complication was the wi-fi was not working that night. It may even have been working later in the evening, but it was no big deal.

Definitely a must if you must stay up in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontime2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cochrane hotels
125.9 mi away
North Adventure Inn
North Adventure Inn
#5 of 7 in Cochrane
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thriftlodge Cochrane South
0.1 mi away
The Station Inn
The Station Inn
#3 of 7 in Cochrane
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Swan Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Swan Castle Inn

Address: 189 Railway Street & 7th Ave, Cochrane, Ontario P0L 1C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Cochrane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cochrane
Price Range: $137 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Swan Castle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Swan Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cochrane
Cochrane Best Western
Best Western Swan Castle Inn Cochrane, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing