We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Too stuffy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mariner Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariner Motor Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Too stuffy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Well.....we called it the "Elvis" hotel as it seems to be in it's original 1960ish decor and the Elvis festival was the next week. Check-in was difficult as the owner had trouble understanding English. The room was completely airless, no window opening, we turned on the fan, mistake. Dust and dirt was the result. Opened the hall door for some air, didn't help. My friend's headache increased form lack of air, at 0300, we almost were packed and on our way to demand our money back when I found a door on the wall under the window which contained a screen vent to the outside, but had been covered with a pillow and some styrofoam. We finally were able to sleep but passed the time for breakfast (0930) No amount of asking would persuade the owners wife to make a pot of coffee, perhaps it was due to the loud argument they had in the hallway just moments before. There are no amenities in the room except threadbare towels and basic soap, shampoo etc.
I give this a 3 star only because we sat out on the front porch after coming in from a night on the town and enjoyed a smoke under the oak tree.

Room Tip: Don't check in until you view the room yourself and try the fan, TV etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    12
    5
    15
See reviews for
16
21
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a real authentic '60s motor inn which has a unique history and pedigree. All the design details are still there, a bit time worn, but it's clean and quiet. It's handy to downtown Collingwood and about 15 minutes to Blue Mountain. Highly recommended as a local alternative to the stucco discount
boxes on the highway.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank IanPanabaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days over Christmas, to go skiing at Blue Mountain. Though we booked it a good two weeks in advance and arrived exactly when we said we would, the room temperature was 14°C - the electricity bill was more important to the owner to the owner than customer satisfaction. He assured us that it'd get hot fast, so we set the thermostat to 30°C and went skiing. When we returned the temperature was 17°C and it didn't go up much overnight.

We also got a room that shared a (locked) door with the owners' apartment, so we could hear everything as if it was happening in our room - including a constantly screaming child, phones ringing, and an alarm that would go off every time someone walked into the hotel. This went on until about half past midnight and resumed at around 7 AM.

The bed was uncomfortable, but the room relatively clean. At least there was free wifi.

Room Tip: If you have to go there, make sure you do NOT get room 21. It's gonna be very noisy and you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubadrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Collingwood hotels

Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend back in August during the tall ships festival. Here is what we liked about our stay:

-Check-in was fast, man at front desk was friendly and helpful
-Fairly close to downtown, only about a 10-15 walk from where we wanted to go
-Decent value- everything else was sold out and they could have charged much more
-We liked that continental breakfast was offered

Here are some things we did not like:

-Front desk was not 24 hours- it closed around 10:30pm which we found a little odd.
-Noisy; the fan was extremely loud and you could here through the walls
-First thing we found when we entered our room was a large black bug crawling across the floor
-The rooms are in need of some TLC; we understand that it's 50s decor but some of the furniture needs some upkeep
-We went to check out around 9:30am; no one was at the front desk to hand our key in to and no one answered when we rang the bell. We weren't sure what to do so we just left our key on the front desk.

It was an OK stay. I probably won't stay there again, but if you're on a budget and you just need a place to sleep and nothing else this would be a good place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is VERY clean. It looks like a perfect little slice of 1950ish resort. It is a Frank Lloyd Wright building and will be a great find if you want to make your stay memorable. The owners are great and the breakfast in the morning is nice - eggs, yogurt, milk, coffee, OJ, etc.

Live you life and stay here. I loved it. It has air and wifi. That was a deal sealer for me.

Great

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cary1950Ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

the architecture and furnishings are classic 50's with great elegance. the chair in my room was wonderful; lots of wood and mirrors. could do with money to restore the finishes.

clean, simple but not modern; breakfast over at 9h30

the staff are friendly but shy; we did get dinner recommendations which were out of date as one place had closed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you're just passing thru Collingwood, you could do worse. You could also do better.

I was lured to reserve here by the promise of Frank Lloyd Wright architecture. And you do get a nice Wright exterior and a view of a Wright-ish garden area. But the interior was more "old" than authentic.

It's not very efficiently run, with no one at the front desk to greet arriving visitor, a breakfast that was gone by the time we got to it, and a variety of things that didn't work....including the air conditioner in our room. Staff and cleanliness were so-so.

It's very best asset is its location adjacent to the town's hiking trail that will take you down to the museum and the waterfront for a nice piece of morning exercise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPincheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 11 in Collingwood
3.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
3.0 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
#1 of 11 in Collingwood
4.0 of 5 stars 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Relax Inn Collingwood
Relax Inn Collingwood
#10 of 11 in Collingwood
3.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
5.1 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
1.9 mi away
Cranberry Resort
Cranberry Resort
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
3.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Motor Hotel

Property: Mariner Motor Hotel
Address: 305 Hume St, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 1W2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariner Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Mariner Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mariner Motor
Mariner Motor Collingwood
Mariner Motor Hotel Collingwood, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing