We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the children”
Review of The Iron Skillet

The Iron Skillet
Ranked #3 of 116 Restaurants in Collingwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Full menu featuring many dishes from around the world. In house smoker. Our steaks are AAA never frozen cut to order. All soups, sauces and Caesar dressing made fresh. As all meals are made to order special requests can be accommodated example gluten-free lactose-free vegetarian always willing to help. Feature board brought your table. Check her Facebook page for daily features coming events like music dances, murder mysteries, and special events. An outdoor patio.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for the children”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We accidentally arrived at this place because of the proximity of it to the Holiday Inn in Collingwood. On arrival with 2 tired boys (6 and 9) they gave us a box for each child containing not just the usual crayons but also toys and a set of cards each. We all had a great meal, partly due to the fact the children were entertained but also due to the quick service, polite staff and huge portions of food.
I had the chicken wraps which were delicious and my husband had the pork schnitzel, both of which we would recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony s, Owner at The Iron Skillet, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Hope to see you again.
Tony and Doris Sensenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    192
    66
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My new favourite area restaurant”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Great food and service. Large portions. Different and very tasty food but also normal food for people who don't want different (like my husband). :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adventure R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony s, Owner at The Iron Skillet, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Hope to see you again.
Tony and Doris Sensenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I'd have to give it a second try..”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I used to go to the old Tony's for breakfast and loved it! New restaurant was just okay on my first visit. We were a large table of 11 and we had several errors with our meals. One girl ordered a dish and the server brought out the wrong meal.. He had to ask her what she ordered, after we all had our food in front of us, they went and started to make hers. We waited long enough as it was. Most meals were good, some people weren't fussy on what they got. One big complaint was how red one piece of my friends chicken schnitzel was. It was a thicker piece and we were told it was cooked and sometimes it just looks like that. My schnitzel appeared to be pinkish inside but I was convinced it was cooked, hers was clearly red.. the server wouldn't do anything about it except tell her it was cooked. In the end the server told us he would take all the pops off our bill, great... only about 5 of us had pop. Why not just 10% the bills so everyone who waited forever gets a small discount? I think our experience could have been better if we had a better server. Id be willing to try this place again but not for awhile.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony s, Owner at The Iron Skillet, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Sorry for your bad experience at the skillet. The server is no longer with us for good reasons. Would like to try to make this right. If possible try us again and ask for tony or Kerri.
Tony Sensenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BEST steak & ribs I've ever had!!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It doesn't look like much from the outside, but when they serve you your meal you KNOW you've found an amazing place to eat! Best beef ribs anywhere and excellent NY strip!
I ordered the beef tenderloin stuffed with caramalized onions & smoked brisket....and was a little doubtful that it would be cooked to order (med rare). Boy was I wrong....the BEST dish I've ever had from any restaurant. Tony knows his way around the grill and serves up the most delish food.
We are changing our anniversary plans so we can go up to Collingwood for the weekend & eat at the Iron Skillet again!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony s, Owner at The Iron Skillet, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Hope to see you again.
Tony and Doris Sensenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim ON
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Downhome Charm”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were recommended to try The Iron Skillet while on a recent vacation to Collingwood, ON. We found it to be very comfortable and homey......friendly servers and a good menu. There was nothing fancy about this place, but the food was great. It is quaint inside and the menu is on a board that is brought to your table. We had the steak and it was cooked perfectly. There was homemade pies for dessert and we shared the pumpkin pie. It was delicious. We understand this is also a great lunch spot. We will return here. It is a kind of "meat and potato" kind of spot that we look for sometimes. Thanks for having us!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NLK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony s, Owner at The Iron Skillet, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Hope to see you again.
Tony and Doris Sensenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Iron Skillet also viewed

 
Collingwood, Ontario
 

Been to The Iron Skillet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing