We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU HAVE TO EAT HERE!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stuffed Peasant - CLOSED

The Stuffed Peasant
Cuisines: French, American, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Chef Scott Carter uses as much locally supplied products as possible.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YOU HAVE TO EAT HERE!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

You must dine at The Stuffed Peasant! This is a wonderful and charming place and the food is unbelievable! From appetizers to mains and then desert - everything is fantastic. Once you have taken your first bite you will understand what delicious really means. The staff are fabulous, from everyone front to the back - You all, together created an an incredible experience! My parents came to Collingwood a short time ago and raved about how terrific the food was. Now that we have been here I can definitely say that every time we come to Collingwood we will have dinner at The Stuffed Peasant. Mr. Carter and staff WELL DONE!!!
Agreed, Come hungry and leave stuffed. :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    27
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“scrumptious food, generous portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We are locals and have eaten at The Stuffed Peasant on several occasions. The food is always scrumptious, the portions are very generous and the atmosphere is friendly. A few of my favourite items on the menu include the spinach salad, the duck in a pomegranate sauce and the to-die-for sticky toffee pudding (OMG - it is YUMMY!) The menu is small but varied enough to appeal to everyone's tastes. Try it out - you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thompson63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anguilla, British West Indies
Level Contributor
160 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“PLEASANT SURPRISE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just returned from a yummy dinner on the architecturally charming Hurontario Street in this comfortable, relaxed, nicely designed storefront restaurant. Fairly priced and creatively prepared with reasonably priced wines we shall return. The homemade desserts were fabulous as was our terrific waitperson Michelle. We SHALL return!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner, Oct 16, 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Absolutely the best liver ever eaten. Steak and Frites were special, cooked just right. Duck confit was wonderful. After our great starters of cheeses, mushroom pâté and 1/4 salad, we devoured our main course. Dessert was a tasty finish to an amazing meal. Thanks. Recommend this to anyone and everyone. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robertjheil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“expensive but good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were a group of eight. The menu was such that there was something on it that everyone would eat. The food was good but not as hot as it should have been, especially the frites. The kitchen is an "open" one. The wait staff are very well versed and professional. Overall, a nice experience but we'd only go back on a special occasion as the prices were quite high for us pensioners: the wine prices, especially high. Reservations a must as the restaurant is tiny. The fixed menu is better value, as long as you like the choices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sperrinone18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stuffed Peasant also viewed

 
Collingwood, Ontario
 
Collingwood, Ontario
Collingwood, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing