We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Will Be Back Soon!!! :)”
Review of Beild House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Collingwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beild House Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Collingwood B&B and Inns
Stirling
1 review
“We Will Be Back Soon!!! :)”
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Highly recommend the Beild House to anyone who wants to relax, be surrounded by wonderful and accomodating staff and GREAT food. Every day was so much fun and something different. Every morning begain with a great breakfast with a number of options to choose from. Then with help from Stephanie and the staff they pointed us in the right direction for what we wanted to do for that day, they even went as far as setting up appointments for us!!! (sooo stress free) Then down for supper it was fantastic, can not say enough about the food, all meals were excellent. The service was exceptional and to top it all off every night we went to our room there was all different extras in our room from rose pedals to champagne to chocolate dip strawberries, what an amazing experience and a perfect way to spend our honeymoon. We cannot even thank Stephanie and the Staff enough for giving us such a wonderful experience!! Thank You Thank You Thank You, what a way to start our new life together!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheStevens9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    33
    11
    6
    14
See reviews for
15
73
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

How to tell if the Beild House hosts the spa for you...

When having a pedi/mani, do you like to soak you feet in a Dr. Scholl's foot bath for two minutes and it's not even plugged in? Do you like to soak your hands in a mixing bowl?
Do you like your spa music to be piped out of ancient boom boxes that make the music skip so it's all you can focus on?
Do you like nail polish that is so old that it will never dry? (Mine was ruined about fifteen minutes after leaving since it was no where near drying and removed the minute I got home).
Do you like a proprietor (Stephanie) who is all about the money and nothing about the customer?
If you answered yes to any of these questions, then the Beild House is THE spa for you!!!

But definitely...NOT for me.

(PS Note - this review is solely focused on the Beild House and their amenities - not on the staff who are typically quite nice!)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarnia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

When looking for a weekend getaway, I came across this B & B, a bit skeptical, I decided to call and enquire. I spoke to Stephanie, the owner, who was very nice and gave me lots of info on things to do and places to see. She also noted this place is 100 years old and are having an anniversary special - 99 per night includes, breakfast, afternoon tea and baked goodies. They also have chefs on sight and they provide great meals. 99 dollars for 2 and lots of food. I decided to go with this place as it sounded perfect for us. We arrived and were greeted by the staff and Stepanie. We were shown around, they also provide unlimited beverages and a fridge to keep your own wine for your meal. We The chocolate strawberries and truffles are the BEST. we like the strawberries so much we had them both nights. They also have a selection of movies and historic books, and a nice place to sit in the living room, as well as unlimited drinks in the fridge- help yourself anytime. We had breakfast in bed- it was the best- you dont even have to get out of bed to let them in!! just let them know its ok to come in and they give you plenty of notice that they are on their way in with your food. The supper was amazing, Stepanies husband is the chef and he has some great ideas and gave us some of his secrets. my husband surprised me with the roses, petals in the room and candles one night- it was amazing how the room looked, more beautiful than it already was. we also had a fireplace in our room. it was so relaxing. I was a little concerned that it wouldnt be so private- but it truly was- we really didnt see anyone until mealtimes and didnt hear people in the halls or partys unlike the chain hotels. It was an amazing experience for both of us. the appetizers for dinner were great- especially the cheese and crackers- warmed, the chicken and portobello mushroom meals was our choice and ther mousse and cheesecake were amazing. they also have a ghost walk that meets once a week- we didnt do this , but it did sound interesting. Stephanie did say the house was haunted. It didnt scare us, but me a little, when we came back to find our used matches were gone???hmmm was it the ghost of Beild house?? I dont understand why a couple others have given this place a bad review. Stephanie and her staff are just great and they do everything to make your days special.. and appreciate their guests. Thanks so much to all of you for making our 2 days away special and relaxing. We felt like a King and Queen. It was worth all the money and we shall see you again soon!!!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chadnshaunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Our first time at this place and our first impression was it was a nice & cozy place. We are welcomed by the owner, Stephanie who is friendly and proceeds to give us a little background on the house and history. As for our room, it was cozy and the decor was lovely but the sheets smelled musty as if they weren't washed with detergent or not even washed at all! We asked for clean sheets, which were delivered in a ball and left at the edge of the bed. The cot we requested never came and we asked about it and still no cot came. She did not refund our money for the cot the next day saying we had already paid. So basically she took our money & left us with nothing. The dinner next day was not impressive at all. We had the shrimp starter and the fish entree. Basically the shrimp was a mouthful of fried batter - anything tastes good when you fry the hell out of it. The fish was so rubbery I would have had an easier time eating my shoe. They did not come around to ask us how our dinner was and didn't seem to care that we hardly touched the food. Low and behold, the credit card we had given her to hold our reservation, she went ahead and charged our meal on there without even telling us. Getting a credit for services and product we did not receive from this place was frustrating and she was not cooperative. They are all about money and not customer service. I will never recommend this place or ever stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

My husband and I took advantage of Beild House's $99 special. We stayed in Room #4, the Windsor Room. Lovely room with a creative antique canopy bed, fireplace, and TV with VCR and DVD player. The bathroom was very clean, and had a shower stall.

A nice feature of the overnight is that it includes afternoon tea if you'd like, in addition to their free pop, juice, water and fruit that are always offered. We had some delicious carrot cake in the lounge! For breakfast, they have a menu where you can choose whatever you'd like! Nicer than the usual only one option B & B breakfast.

We also had dinner at the Inn - a lovely 6-course meal enjoyed with the other guests. And it's Bring Your Own Booze, so you can drink whatever you'd like on your own budget!

The environment was lovely, just what we needed for a nice night away!

Also, if you're in Collingwood, go to Le Scandinave Spa - a great day of Scandinavian hot and cool tubs, as well as saunas, steam rooms and lounging!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meghanleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2009

After snowboarding all day Saturday at Blue Mountain in the midst of a white-out we were stranded in Collingwood and needed a room. Needless to say there wasn't a vacancy in sight. After stopping at the Holiday Inn to try one last time we were told a family run B&B just down the road had a room available. The staff at the Holiday Inn were very kind to call the inn for us and make a booking. They had told us to expect friendly staff, clean rooms and breakfast included, at the very reasonable rate of $99/night. We were very grateful but slightly weary, usually when you're told to expect clean rooms you think the place must be somewhat sub-par but upon arrival we we're very impressed.

Entering the Inn we were greated by the owner, Stephanie, with open arms. She said she had been expecting us and had hot cups of tea waiting in the lounge. She told us we could help ourselves to coffee, tea and a variety of complimentary non-alcoholic beverages anytime. There was a wall full of books and dvds, magazines, board games, anything we wanted to enjoy during our stay. She then showed us 1 of 2 rooms to choose from which were gorgeous. Each with a fireplace, lounge area, and each with it's own unique history and decor. We chose one with a juliette balcony over looking the wonderfully snowy Pine street, and once all cozy warm inside could really appreciate the beautiful white calm outside. We also got the full history on the House, originally owned by the famed cookie man himself - Mr. Christie.

Breakfast was a lovely treat and if purchased elsewhere probably would have cost half of what we paid for the whole package. Salmon eggs, Eggs Benny, fresh juice, fruit, coffee, croissants, all served in the quaint dining room in the main lounge. It was delicious! The staff was very courteous and seemed genuinely happy to serve you.

Overall our experience was almost too good to be true. We joked that something bad had to happen, like maybe the place was haunted but not even a bump in the night :)

I look forward to getting the chance to stay at the Beild house again and would reccommend it to anyone looking for a great relaxing country getaway. Our thanks to Stephanie and Bill and all the staff for being so hospitable. They really know how to please their guests and are definitely in the right business. We had a great time and wish you all the best!

  • Liked — comfort, relaxation, friendliness
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank villaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2009

My family and I were looking for a "stay-cation" this Christmas as we usually fly out of province. Our agent found this B&B for us as we wanted to have a ski holiday this year. We had so much fun at the ski hill and at the Beild House. We especially loved that they let us bring our little dog Brian as he is a part of the family too and should not be away from us for Christmas. We are a family who enjoys the finer things in a relaxed atmosphere and Bill & Stephanie delivered! The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. Having been a restaurant owner, fine dinning, I know what is acceptable. We will go back and have been telling all of our friends!

  • Liked — Dog Friendly
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Collingwood hotels
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
310 reviews
2.5 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Craigleith Manor Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
The Findlay House
The Findlay House
#5 of 9 in Collingwood
61 reviews
1.1 mi away
Living Water Resort
Living Water Resort
#2 of 11 in Collingwood
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beild House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beild House Inn

Property: Beild House Inn
Address: 64 Third Street | (Entrance is on Pine St.), Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Beild House Hotel Collingwood
Beild House Inn Collingwood, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing