We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much better than the reviews suggest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“much better than the reviews suggest”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

After having read a number of reviews and being concerned about the number of unfavourable reviews we did a last-minute booking here for the labour day long weekend. This was NOT part of a time share sales program

We booked a 2-bedroom condo.and were quite happy to be upgraded to a 3 bedroom condo. Spacewise the condo was almost as big as my 3 bedroom townhouse. We were expecting something cramped so we were exited to get a place so big.

The paint inside looked fairly new, the couches and beds were comfortable and looked to be in good shape.

We used both the outdoor and indoor pools and hot tubs. Yes the outdoor one was not brand new, but it was still in good condition, and very kid friendly. Having the bar right beside the outdoor pool was an added bonus, though I personally do not believe that alcohol should be served poolside.

We used a $10 off voucher to dine at the on-site restaurant. Most hotels try and overcharge you for meals. Thankfully this place didn't. The prices on the menu were quite reasonable. Both my wife and I had and enjoyed the roast beef special. Including tax and tip we were around $65 for a family of 5. The waitress and hostess were quite accommodating and helped us get our rambunctous 3 year old reigned in.

NB: for dinner service the gratuity is included in the bill, but our server definitely earned her tip

All-in-all it was a good trip, and we will definitely go back..

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    189
    149
    100
    157
See reviews for
255
197
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed for 1 night. Entrance is very impressive. Rooms do not reflect. Bed is not comfortable and room needed a good cleaning. Carpet is worn. Had problem with the flushing mechanism of toilet. Many families were there enjoying the outside pool. Had a nice balcony which enjoyed. Would look at another property in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel09Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulujp
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I stayed Aug 11-13 with my 2 girls (4 yrs old and 15 months) and my parents stayed 2 nights longer. This hotel is quite basic but there's potential for it to be much better - needs a major investment to bring it up to a good level. We arrived late, around 8pm after a brutal drive. The check in staff were very courteous and they immediately arranged to have a pack n play set up in the room for the baby (although I had specifically requested this at the time of booking they waited until we arrived to set it up...bit odd). I asked the maintenance guy who was setting up the pack n play if there was room service so I could get the kids something quick n easy to eat. "No room service but there is a restaurant but it's closed now...it was BBQ night but that just finished". So we had no way of getting any food (but I had a bunch of snacks and fruit).

The bed was very comfy, the bathroom was TINY, couldn't swing a cat in it and it was arranged in such a way that you bumped into everything. We had an old TV, the big box type and the picture was quite poor on the majority of the the channels. But it was sufficient to entertain the girls. They have a Keurig machine in the room which is great but the coffee was not replenished the next day and then I read the leaflet next to the machine and it appeared that you had to go and buy the k-cups. Never experienced that in any hotel ever before and it's a bit tight of them to expect guests to pay $1 per k-cup....

On our fist full day we checked out the outdoor pool, which was a bit cloudy. A few hours later we decided to go in the pool; we were directed to a commercial type laundry facility to get towels and while I was there another guest advised us that the outdoor pool had just been closed down by health/water inspectors - apparently the water quality was dodgy so they closed it down......eugh... And this guest had been swimming in the pool all morning - he was fairly good humoured about it and joked that him and his son weren't feeling too bad....yet...
We then went in the indoor pool. If it hadn't been for my 4 year old BEGGING to go swimming you would have had to take a gun to my head to get me in that pool. Absolutely disgusting - the whole thing needs to be refurbished and cleaned up. I kept flip flops on the whole time - it just didn't feel clean enough and there was a dirty 'tide mark' all around the white tiles of the pool. Ack! We scrubbed ourselves when we got out.

All in all the Georgian is a hotel/resort that needs a makeover and renovation. The decor is old and tired, the pools are just awful and the restaurant only stays open tip 8.30 which is unacceptable. The only saving grace is the staff - everyone I encountered who works there is really great but even grew, courteous staff can't make up for a lacklustre, shabby establishment.

Room Tip: I suggest that you book a suite - which has separate bedroom, kitchenette and lounge area. My paren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulujp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed one night and our experience was not bad. The front desk staff is enthusiastic and friendly. The room is okay although not 100% sound-proof because we can hear the people on corridor, the TV and flushing of toilet next door. Our bed is squeaking but its okay and comfortable. Liked the complimentary Keurig coffee on the room. The tiles of the indoor pool looks dirty though, so we decided to swim in the outdoor pool which is okay. My son enjoyed the playground. Wi-fi reception is bad and was not able to connect and use at all. Liked the location--quiet and a great place to relax.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edgartraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Three words, "what a dump"! Pool not working, green. Clubhouse pool dirty, full of leaves not heated, freezing cold. Hot tub yellowish rim and so many chemicals eyes watered just after sitting in it for 30 seconds. Indoor pool tiles yellowish colour around rim. Nail salon and spa closed looking for new tenant. How can u charge a resort fee when nothing works? Wi-fi only worked if u were on the balcony. The beds were terrible and the entire stay was unenjoyable not recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadia1890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Collingwood hotels

Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Very comfy beds, clean, delicious breakfast at a reasonable price, I am thinking some reviews here are a bit harsh. Yes it is an older resort, a little dated and the grounds are not perfect but for a one night stay we were very happy. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, On, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed one night with my sister and 3 teenager girls. The girls loved the pools and hot tub.Complimentary towels but make sure you return them or you will be charged for them. The grounds are well maintained. We requested a roll away bed but didn't use it because it was too uncomfortable. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Updated and clean bathroom, too. Disappointed with resort fee and energy charge. You don't have a choice but to pay it so I asked why it isn't just added to the nightly rate but they didn't have an answer. I booked through booking.com so got our room at a reduced rate. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly- R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
2.6 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
1.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
354 reviews
1.5 mi away
Living Water Resort
Living Water Resort
#2 of 11 in Collingwood
363 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cranberry Resort
Cranberry Resort
#4 of 11 in Collingwood
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 10 Vacation Inn Dr, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 5G4, Canada (Formerly Georgian Manor Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian Bay Hotel offers superior hotel rooms, one, two, and three bedroom suites, indoor and outdoor pools, a tennis court, a children's playground, a workout room, and Superstition Golf, a spectacularly landscaped 18 hole professional family putting course. Our recent renovations have transformed Georgian Bay Hotel and Conference Centre into a stunning venue. From corporate events, corporate meetings and retreats, weddings and private parties, our freshly re-designed event rooms are ideal for a variety of occasions. State-of-the-art technology and a selection of venues that vary from small intimate events to ballrooms that can accommodate up to 400 plus people make the Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Center the perfect location for your next meeting, retreat or event. The Spa at Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre Our intimate spa setting is sure to help you leave your cares behind. If your personal goal is relaxation, beautification or wellness our highly trained staff can help. The combination of comfort and personalized attention will be sure to fulfill your vision of the perfect day spa experience. We provide a full line of services including registered massage therapy, specialty body treatments, skin care using Eminence Organic products, hand and foot care, and specialized retreat days. Our spa professionals are dedicated to creating and providing customized treatments that will exceed your expectations in both product quality and service. Book a party and our spa manager will be happy to help plan for any special occasion. Gustav Chophouse & Bar? Offering a unique, refined and comfortable dining destination located in the lobby of the Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre. As the name suggests, Gustav offers classic chophouse fare with a modern touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Manor Hotel Collingwood
Georgian Manor Collingwood
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre Collingwood, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing