We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disaster....this place is horrible.”
Review of Cranberry Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cranberry Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Reviewed August 28, 2013

After spending countless times at the Deerhurst Resort, we decided to try the Cranberry.....WHAT A MISTAKE....stay away from this place. Check in was set for 4pm....we arrived at 7pm....room was neither ready or clean. There resolution was to have me and my wife stay elsewhere on the resort somewhere on the 6th floor (no elevators) which was a dump after we looked at it first, at no point were they willing to charge us less for the room considering we had booked a condo in the waterfront condo complex which was costing us about 200.00 a night. After some yelling on my part, they finally agreed to clean the room (how novel)...which took over an hour. Eventually we were told that our room was ready, when arriving, we encountered a construction work zone with live wires hanging out from the wall, dust, noise, nausiating fumes and an elevator which did not work. The employees here are rude, not experienced, uneducated, poorly trained, lazy and just ignorant. My key to my condo had to be reset 3 times over a three day period....no one ever answers the reception phone....pool is dirty....and it takes for ever to resolve an issue....stay away from this place and spend your money at a resort like Deerhurst where they know how to run a resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Domingos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 996 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

I don't understand the previous reviews, we stayed here for 1 week in June and found the apartment just lovely. The kitchen area was a little small but that was okay, the lounge/dining area was a good size, the two bedrooms were very spacious, as were the bathrooms. The decor was excellent as were the furnishings. We had a very comfortable king size bed in the main bedroom and found the whole area quiet and peaceful. We had dinner in the casual dining area on our first night and were served a large meal with very fresh fish. All of the people who we met at this resort were there for golf, whereas we were there to explore. Lake Huron is huge, it was like looking at an ocean, Wasaga Beach was amazing, a huge sandy beach on a lake! We spent all our time out looking at the area and there is a lot to see, too much to mention here. The concierge was wonderful - a great sense of humour and very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan M, General Manager at Cranberry Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for this great review. We are delighted to read that you liked our decor and that the room was comfortable for you. Nice to see that you found our bedrooms spacious enough for your visit as well. We have been receiving many excellent comments on the food at the resort and we look for that to continue and even get better. Wasaga Beach is beautiful to visit, so much so that I live there with my family. It's awesome! Thank you for pointing out that our Concierge was wonderful and funny. It's always nice to see that the team is engaged. We hope that you come back and visit us again soon and we look forward to serving you in the near future.
Dan McIlhone,CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the hotel @ cranberry resort for a wedding...I was quite disappointed from the minute we checked in..the front desk help was not very helpful or pleasant ..
The inside of the hotel (room section) was very dated and smelled ..our room smelled musty..and the toilets didn't want to flush...
I would say that they had you between a rock and a hard place since we were there for a wedding...$155.00 a nite was truly a rip off
the only nice part were the cleaning staff who were friendly and helpful to get me some spray to get rid of the smell in our room ..

Room Tip: I cant really give a tip as this is probably one of the worst hotels I have been but there is a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jannieannie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Cranberry Resort describes itself as a "world-renowned year-round vacation destination" which is one of the reasons that Tripadvisor exists. That is the furthest from reality. The resort could have been world renowned in the 70's when you chose vacation destinations based on a picture in a catalog, but fast forward 40 years and it's time for more than minor cosmetic overhauls. The facility is split into an aging and pathetic three floor hotel, and various time share villas on the west side of the highway, and across the road are private owner villas and a newly built highrise timeshare.
We bought a weekend here on a daily deal type offer and didn't have very high expectations since we know the resort but were surprised that our very low expectations weren't even met.
The resort is relentless in harassing Toronto area residents with time share "tour" offers of "close to free" weekends to entice you to drive 2 hours north and get their very aggressive sales pitch for the timeshare operation. The daily deal offer had the 2 hour tour as optional, so we chose to ditch the tour but they kept insisting we take it, and only by being forceful did we get an acknowledgement we wouldn't be charged their normal penalty they bill visitors who fail to show up for the entire two hour tour and pitch.
It was a major pain to book since you have to deal with the timeshare people who never answer the phone, not the main desk. It appears they use the motel style operation for the weekend tour pitches and sell to retail daily visitors - I can only review the hotel operation, which is below grade to a Motel 6. Tired rooms, carpet probably updated about 5 years ago but looks 40 years old in style. Old school bathrooms, fixtures, tile. Sewage smell in the bathroom so we had to keep the fan going. Noisy wall AC unit. Sliding door lock was missing so the only way to lock it was using a metal bar, the handle fell apart as I used it which was laughable. No safe. No minibar. Typical 70/80's room design where they only put like 2 outlets in the whole room, so finding any to charge anything is always a hunting experience and then you wander in the dark as charging the phone is more important than illumination. Small generic brand flat TV - remote didn't work. If you happen to brave it here, ask to face away from the parking lot - since it faces Hwy 26 and is a busy let alone looking at the parking lot - truly a motel style experience. Indoor pool and hot tub is far from luxurious and just feels dirty. Outdoor pool and "rec" centre was probably swanky in the 70's but now in 2013 just feels tired - tired basketball court, tennis courts, old school pool, The "games room" was in the basement and no air conditioning so was 110 degrees and stuffy and consisted of a few old arcade games. One thing that I've noticed that sets the tone and ambience at a resort is the landscaping - especially the hardscape, pathways etc - and all of that is mostly tired here and pretty basic. A algae filled pond is what you view from the hotel area with a waterfall feature (with exposed wires coming in and out of the ground running the pumps in two different location which is sloppy work and unsafe)

The time share villas on the main side of the facility look like they are from the era of the hotel so I would guess these have much of the same issues, but the facility across the road is brand new so if you are exchanging or buying there you may have a better experience with the room, but the resort amenities still stay the same - throwback to the 70's and bring your disco shoes.

The funniest thing of our thankfully brief stay here is the toiletries were the "Lavish" brand - so that became the theme of our stay here - just "Lavish". Avoid the hotel part at all costs. If you are thinking of timeshare exchanging here, consider tolerating the age for a place to stay for skiing in peak season at Blue. If you've bought here, then you know how bad a move that was, and you're not reading tripadvisor.

Room Tip: For the hotel rooms, ask for the 2nd floor facing the courtyard (not the parking lot)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beachman727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Here is a copy of the email I sent to cranberry resort after our stay...I have not gotten any response or even been acknowledged.. Email was sent almost 2 weeks ago.

My boyfriend and I stayed at the cranberry suites Saturday August 10th for one night. I wanted to share our experience at your resort with you.

We checked in at the main building around 3 pm and then drove over to our building. When we walked in we quickly realized it was under construction. We took the elevator to the forth
Floor then the stairs up to the sixth. We got to the room to see the maid in there still cleaning from the other guests..... The said she would be quick so we went back down and walked around the property. It ended up being 5 pm before we were able to get into the room.

After we settled in and got ready to leave for dinner, my boyfriend noticed the door wouldn't lock from the hall or in the room. We called front desk and they sent up a lady to help. She couldn't lock it either so she arranged another room for us... We packed back up and was about to leave when she figured out if you lift the entire handle up and push it will lock, which will work for now until they can have it fixed on Monday.

When we returned from our evening back to the room, we noticed the bathroom smelt bad of sewage...I went in and there was a small leak from the toilet and put down a towel. The smell got even worse. And by the morning it continued so bad I didn't wanna shower or get ready in there.

Between these big problems, and lots of small ones: no literature with tourist info? No bottled water or drinks available( we had to drive to the store) coffee maker plug didn't fit in any of the wall plugs, no light bulbs in lamps, no light on balcony, etc, it was crystal clear these new rooms are not yet ready for customers to stay in, especially for $230 a night. It was also crystal clear you would rather fill a room for a night and make a buck, then please a customer and provide A positive experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JessicaNicole743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We didn't notice that there are so many facilities and activities, otherwise we would stay at least one day longer. We did pontoon boat, bike trials.. both wonderful nature.. and basketball a bit, swimming and playground with kids. We ran out of time but we really really want to do tennis.. maybe next time. also sightseeing Collingwood historical downtown and the Villages ; We had a great dinner at the Memories. Huge group all of us were very happy. Other than one hour delay in check in and we were told the wrong check out time, everything is good. Oh. Also the beautiful cafe on the golf course. Also free Wi-Fi. We will come back for ski stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YipChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The exterior is beautiful. We had to wait 45 minutes for them to process our stay...it was left on the fax machine or something like that. The room was down one flight if stairs and we had a heavy cooler. We waited an additional 30 minutes for someone to help, but no one showed up. No elevator. The Internet was not dependable. The hot tub was under construction during our entire stay. The breakfast was great. I really enjoyed the 'make your own waffles'. The resort/hotel was very close to the SeaDoo rentals, which was wonderful. Not a far drive to the Blue Mountain area. Due to some of the unpleasant parts like no hot tub, no elevator or poor Internet that were out of their hands, they gave us a surprising discount for our stay which was appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the main floor so you don't have to carry items up or down stairs. Great locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBu519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
1.1 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Blue Mountains
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Living Water Resort
Living Water Resort
#2 of 11 in Collingwood
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranberry Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Resort

Address: 19 Keith Ave | Highway 26 West, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 4T9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range: $95 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cranberry Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cranberry Resort, set against the panoramic backdrop of Blue Mountain and the beautiful waters of Georgian Bay, is a world-renowned, 750 acre year-round vacation destination. At the Cranberry Resort, you can experience an expansive 18-hole golf course, full-service marina, fine dining, a luxurious spa and a wide range of outdoor and indoor fun the whole family can take part in. Cranberry Resort is a 4-season vacation paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Cranberry Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranberry Hotel Collingwood
Cranberry Resort Collingwood, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing