We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cranberry Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranberry Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A disappointment”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We are RCI owners and had a week to use up before the points expired. Told staff we wanted to be left alone, not interested in the member breakfast or sales presentation and were told we would not be bothered however they called the room regardless.

The room was clean looking although upon closer inspection found dead flies on the window sills, dirty jets in the tub (seriously I would be afraid I'd catch something using the tub), dishwasher is loose and wobbly, fireplace is broken, tv is fuzzy and when I went downtown to get a coffee the heat was off in the hallway. This resort is run down and in need of major TLC. They should have spent their dollars renovating instead of opening a new section across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim W, Front Office Manager at Cranberry Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I apologize for the issues and disappointments you had during your time with us,

We take all positive and negative comments very seriously and use them to improve our resort, I will make sure all department heads are aware of your review and I hope you have a chance to come back and see how much your comment matters to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    208
    207
    141
    182
See reviews for
337
358
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
markham, ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We decided to stay at the Cranberry resort this past month and the expreince was wonderful. We were celebrating our anniversary and were upgraded to a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen and living room! The dog was with us and we had a wonderful time! As soon we got to the room we didn't even want to leave to go out for diner! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very simple - avoid this place!

I got in Cranberry Golf resort through Dealfind offer believing that I will enjoy my birthday with my wife in luxury resort. Company advertised it as 562$ value.

On January 12th, 2012 I bought two nights stay in Collingwood - Cranberry Golf Resort. I have used them Oct 19-21.

Why I do believe that it was totally misleading?
Under the subtitle at my voucher - Where to use this there is a photo of resort that company is trying to sell (units) not at the place where we got accommodation.

it is advertised as 562$ deal with a huge discount 83%. It gave impression of a true good deal and promising weekend.

Reality - rooms are selling for 99$ (not that I didn't check but photo was pointing at completely different place ). It is one of the worst hotel I have ever been in Western part of the world (and I do travel a lot). The total deal over the week can't be worth more than a 270$ plus taxes. Not the half of advertised 562$.

Should I mentioned that after presentation upon arrival at my room there was a quite sizable dead bug at my pillow, that hotel restaurant was practically empty on Friday and Saturday night next to so loud music that we didn't want to use dining credit? After all those experiences we didn't even bother to go to spa and use our 30$ spa credit.

When I have asked front desk or salesman at presentation if this is misunderstanding, presented voucher to front desk manager they keep blaming each other. When asked front desk manager about price (can they give me any hard evidence or even recorded statement that I have received 562$ of service) I was told to wait and she had disappeared just never to came back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dejan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Collingwood hotels

Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My daughter & i spent a night there this week .. the room was clean !! & beds comfortable !! what more do you need !! the bathroom was clean as well ... not a Hilton !! (LOL) but we would go back !! wish they had breakfast !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truffles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

It was the worst Experiance ,everything was extremely poor .
The bedrooms smelled bad and carpet was dirty ,looked like never been cleaned. Toilet was dirty ,the bath tub was clogged.
There was a certain smell all over the hotel like that of an old carpet
Would never go back again and wouldn't recommend anyone either.
The worst place I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nighatriaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hi everyone. I have heard about this resort because it's also part of a fractionnal ownership program and a timeshare program. They have 2 building the Cranberry Inn which is 40 years old and need a lot of love from what I have read from other reviewers and a 2 years old condo building. The 2 years old building is called the The Cranberry Waterfront Suites and is really nice. It's on the shore of the lake, overlooking the marina. The room are so big, huge windows, fireplace, jacuzzi tubs, full size kitchen with everything provided, even a washer and dryer machine, dishwasher, 2 HUGES TV, one in the living room and one in the bedroom. The staff at the front desk is frendly and helpfull and the Memories Restaurant is great. They serve local beer from a close by brewery. It's situated in beautiful Collingwood, minutes from Blue Mountain and Wasaga Beach and 1:30 from Toronto. It could't be in a better location. The golf course is great, the pool area include a jaccuzi. The recreational center is offering a lot of services. The Waterfront suite offer daycare service. For a GREAT experience I recommend you a little extra and ask a studio or a 1 or 2 bedrooms in the new building. I would go back anytime!

Room Tip: Ask for the Cranberry Waterfront suite instead of the Cranberry Inn. It's surely worth the littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Alberta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We checked in flawlessly. Room was well appointed EXCEPT ants in the kitchen and clogged main ensuite. I called about both on Saturday and no one responded to either. Housekeeping response was, "I have emailed the pest control." Maintenence never did show up. We paid for a week and checked out Tuesday. The lounge had only the bartender. Service was slower than the second coming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dh51334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
1.1 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
3.7 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Living Water Resort
Living Water Resort
#2 of 11 in Collingwood
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranberry Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Resort

Property: Cranberry Resort
Address: 19 Keith Ave | Highway 26 West, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 4T9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cranberry Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cranberry Resort, set against the panoramic backdrop of Blue Mountain and the beautiful waters of Georgian Bay, is a world-renowned, 750 acre year-round vacation destination. At the Cranberry Resort, you can experience an expansive 18-hole golf course, full-service marina, fine dining, a luxurious spa and a wide range of outdoor and indoor fun the whole family can take part in. Cranberry Resort is a 4-season vacation paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cranberry Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranberry Hotel Collingwood
Cranberry Resort Collingwood, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing