We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski Weekend in Collingwood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Ski Weekend in Collingwood”
Reviewed January 3, 2010

My husband and I booked 2 nights @ the Holiday Inn Express over New Year's. We arrived around 3:00pm on New Year's Eve and were giving keys to our room right away. We had a basic room with 2 queen beds.

The hotel offers free wireless Internet in the rooms but you must pay to use the computer in the lobby. We forgot our laptop at home so we didn't use the service.

Breakfast is severed in the mornings between 6:30am and 10:00am. We awoke on our first morning around 7:00am to a quiet and fully stocked breakfast bar that included eggs, bacon, cinnamon rolls, muffins, toast, cereal, coffee, tea and juice. There was plenty of everything and it seemed fresh. On our second morning, we arrived at breakfast around 8:30am and the breakfast area was a zoo so I recommend trying to get down to breakfast before 8:00am.

The beds were comfortable and linens were clean enough. Nice shower head in the bathroom.

We would stay at this hotel again. It's not as nice as the Westin but definitely more affordable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    120
    78
    25
    24
See reviews for
121
87
4
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

first of all, i really did like this hotel, and i appreciated how the lone clerk at night handled the problem, so service was very good, cleanliness on the other hand.......anyways, we opened up the pull out to put the kids to bed around 9:00, someone's old underwear is in the sheets. we were given another room and could keep the room we had, we were given a free movie($15) and 20% off for the night. all in all we were happy and have a story to tell. the hotel was located near lots of dining, shopping, etc. and only 5 min. from the blue mountain resort. indoor pool was chilly but useful. free hot breakfast was decent. hotel did seem a little on the dirty side overall, it was a sunday night, maybe the major cleaning is at the star of the week?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We booked in here at the last minute and were pleasantly surprised. The location isn't great but it's ok and handy for lots of family restaurants and also a cinema.
The rooms were lovely-really comfy beds ,very spacious ,spotlessly clean and quiet. Free breakfast was average but was enough to set us up for the day.
Collingwood was OK as a base for visiting the area. I'd highly recommend Sunset Point Park and especially the fries from the van there!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beemmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, ON
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We had spent 3 days at another "less-than" establishment in Collingwood. We decided to extend our visit, but decided to stay at the Holiday Inn Express. What a nice night we had. There were only a couple rooms remaining, so the front desk personnel allowed us to stay in the Queen suite (2 queen beds, small kitchenette, work area) for a super price. The hotel is super clean - loved it! The pool is beautiful and we were given warm towels straight from the laundry service when we got out. The buffet breakfast was fantastic and the ladies who work there were top notch. We had a great night - a great experience. I would definitely reccommend this to others.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewels_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2009

One of the best stays I've had in years - We were up for some skiing and relaxing, and wanted a reasonable rate. We shopped around a lot and found that they had the best rate in town in terms of "nicer hotels". The staff were amazing - from the front desk at check-in to the housekeepers, all made us feel so welcome and were so friendly. We want to start travelling more locally around Ontario because there are some amazing outdoor activities in the Collingwood/Blue Mountain Area, and I would go back in a second to the Holiday Inn Express. Awesome!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgurl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

We wanted to take the kids skiing over Christmas at Blue Mountain. To stay in the Blue Mountain Village between Christmas and New Years, all the hotels require a minimum 5 night stay at inflated prices. This is understandable because of the time of year, they include restrictions like this. We only wanted to stay for one night. We booked at the Holiday Inn Express for one night - there was no requirement to stay longer as it is not located in the Blue Mountain Village, but in the town of Collingwood.

The hotel is located on the edge of town closest to Blue Mountain and the ski hills are a 4 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel is located near a lot of family style restaurants, large grocery stores, and a Walmart. Very convenient.

We found the staff at check in to be very friendly and helpful, telling me where to park to access my room easier.

The room itself was updated. We had a suite with 2 queen beds, a double pull-out couch and a kitchette (mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and some dishes). The room could have 6 people, but we had five in our group. I was disappointed that the pull-out couch did not have any bedding and I had to call and have some sent up. They did not make up the bed, but just handed me 2 fitted sheets and 1 flat sheet at the door. Also, we only had 3 bath towels. With 5 people booked into the room, I would expect there to be a minimum of 5 bath towels. We called for more and they did arrive in a timely manner.

The breakfast was included. It was nice, but not outstanding. The omelets and scrambled eggs are not fresh, but must be made from frozen. The toast, cinnamon buns and other pastries were okay. There was coffee, juices, milk, and yogurt as well as sausages and bacon and cereals.

We had free in room wireless internet - no problems.

The biggest problem we had was turning into and out of the hotel parking lot. It is located on a very busy corner and we were there at a very busy time of year so it was difficult at times.

  • Liked — Location, no booking restrictions, and price for the time of year
  • Disliked — Trying to turn into and out of hotel parking lot
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 4Canadian Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmora, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2008

My family and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express from December 5-7, 2008. Overall our stay was quite enjoyable. We stayed in a suite which gave us two double beds, a sofabed, a fridge, and a microwave. The extra convenience of the kitchenette facilities was wonderful as we were traveling with our children. The room was clean and fit our needs perfectly! The breakfast that is included with the price of the room is an excellent added bonus. There was lots of variety and the fact that the kids could attend in their pjs before getting ready for their hockey games could not be beat! The front desk staff seemed very happy and approachable.
The only negative about our stay was the fact that the pool was closed due to the heater breaking. Considering the fact that there were a number of hockey teams staying at the hotel it would have in my opinion been much easier to try and find someone to fix the pool then to hear the continual moaning and complaining from all of the parents. We were credited $10 per night for the inconvenience.

  • Liked — The free breakfast.
  • Disliked — The closed pool.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
1.7 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
3.8 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#5 of 8 in Blue Mountains
360 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mariner Motor Hotel
Mariner Motor Hotel
#8 of 11 in Collingwood
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cranberry Resort
Cranberry Resort
#4 of 11 in Collingwood
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 4 Balsam St, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 3J4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Hotel & Suites. We are a smoke free property. Our hotel features Complimentary Deluxe Express Start Breakfast. Enjoy our heated indoor pool, FREE high-speed Internet connection. Access to walking trails such as The Georgian Trail, Bruce Trail, Niagara Escarpment and Scenic Caves. The Comfort Inn & Suites in Collingwood is conveniently located 10 minutes from Wasaga Beach the world's longest freshwater beach, Le Scandinave Spa, and only minutes away from the Village at Blue Mountain where you can experience the unique atmosphere year round. We are close to industries including Pilkington Glass, Zellers, Home Depot, Rona, WalMart, Loblaws and Zehrs Markets. Our large parking lot has room for RVs or trailers. WE ARE 100% SMOKE FREE. The Comfort Inn & Suites is two stories with an elevator and an indoor heated pool. A credit card is required upon arrival with photo identification. The cardholder must be 18 years of age and reside in the registered room. Cash or cheques will not be accepted as deposits or as an alternative to a credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain
Holiday Inn Express Collingwood
Holiday Inn Collingwood
Collingwood Holiday Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Collingwood, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing