We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High price, bad breakfast, crowded and uncomfortable beds.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High price, bad breakfast, crowded and uncomfortable beds.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The breakfast was disgusting, and my bed was hard as a rock. Cold showers and kids screaming all night.. crowded breakfast room.. kids everywhere.. I hated it. I will not be returning. I paid 160 for a terrible experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMahnke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear BMahnke,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. Rest assured that the issues you have raised will be addressed and appropriate actions will be taken. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    120
    78
    25
    24
See reviews for
121
87
4
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express as a lower cost option to staying at the Blue Mountain ski resort area. Location is convenient, however, I would recommend if you can, spend a few extra bucks and stay in Blue Mountain unless you really need to be in Collingwood. We had a room with 2 queen beds that were not very comfortable, however, were clean. The hotel itself feels like an old motel that they tried to update. Breakfast is included, however, not very good. Tom at the front-desk was extremely helpful and was the best part of the stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady_Travel_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Lady_Travel_1969,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Holiday Inn Express in Collingwood looks, acts, and tastes like a Holiday Inn. The room was very clean, had 2 queens and sleeper sofa, and felt a little "motel-ly". Oddly, no closet in the room; just a wardrobe to hang up outer clothes. The linens were awesomely soft, and the beds were comfy. Holiday Inns rarely have the goal to be upper crust, but they promise comfort, and reasonable rates, with clean rooms and friendly staff. This one delivers on that promise. The pool area is a bit ordinary, and I missed having a hot-tub for warming up in, after hours out in the cold. (It is a ski and snow town, after all.) The complimentary buffet breakfast had all the usuals, plus.... a pancake machine! We thought that was cool! Buffet staff was really friendly and helpful, as was front desk staff. We found the staff helpful in every case, and they have excellent attention to detail. Overall, I would recommend this hotel, and it was nice that they will book for a single night, when many places in Collingwood demand two nights. If we ever go back to Collingwood, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterdown, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

stayed here last winter (2012) and were hugely disappointed. This year, it was a different story. The rooms seem to have been updated and now are clean and tidy with new furnishings.
The location is fine (about 10 minutes to base of hills).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Overpriced - $ 160 + tax for the two bedroom. I have to admit, it was on Jan 1/Jan 2, 2013, so considered as Holiday.
Tax included, price for one night was $ 180 CDN, too much even for traditionally overpriced Collingwood.
Service, housekeeping, comfort, hot breakfast was as you would expect from Holiday Inn label. Staff was very nice, location is good (close to Blue Mountain ski resort), however I won't be paying same price in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear mtcp,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We appreciate the kind words for our staff and we are also pleased that you liked our location. On the other hand, we are sorry you were not happy with the rates. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I thought this hotel was fantastic!!! The housekeeping staff are superb, they attend to all needs with great efficiency! I stayed in 134 with a king-sized bed. Very spacious! The cleanliness of the room was surprising, the other reveiws on here are poor in that department, but I found the exact opposite!!! Very clean!
Front desk could have been a bit more polite, but housekeeping made up for it. When we expressed this to them they apologised profusely.
The new renovations were great!
I hope I can return as soon as possible!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Comfortable hotel, 5 min. drive to the Blue Mountain Resort area. Good rates. Complimentary breakfast. Pool area is very comfortable with chairs and lounges. Outdoor terrace by the pool also. Nice rooms. Friendly staff - knowledgable about the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
1.7 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
3.8 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#5 of 8 in Blue Mountains
360 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mariner Motor Hotel
Mariner Motor Hotel
#8 of 11 in Collingwood
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cranberry Resort
Cranberry Resort
#4 of 11 in Collingwood
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 4 Balsam St, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 3J4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Collingwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Hotel & Suites. We are a smoke free property. Our hotel features Complimentary Deluxe Express Start Breakfast. Enjoy our heated indoor pool, FREE high-speed Internet connection. Access to walking trails such as The Georgian Trail, Bruce Trail, Niagara Escarpment and Scenic Caves. The Comfort Inn & Suites in Collingwood is conveniently located 10 minutes from Wasaga Beach the world's longest freshwater beach, Le Scandinave Spa, and only minutes away from the Village at Blue Mountain where you can experience the unique atmosphere year round. We are close to industries including Pilkington Glass, Zellers, Home Depot, Rona, WalMart, Loblaws and Zehrs Markets. Our large parking lot has room for RVs or trailers. WE ARE 100% SMOKE FREE. The Comfort Inn & Suites is two stories with an elevator and an indoor heated pool. A credit card is required upon arrival with photo identification. The cardholder must be 18 years of age and reside in the registered room. Cash or cheques will not be accepted as deposits or as an alternative to a credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Collingwood - Blue Mountain
Holiday Inn Express Collingwood
Holiday Inn Collingwood
Collingwood Holiday Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Collingwood, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing