We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Muskoka gem”

Sugarbush Hill Maple Farm Ltd
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sugarbush Hill is a "State Of The Art" maple sugaring operation near the Town of Huntsville. We are the largest sugarhouse open 5 days a week to the public on a year round basis in the District of Muskoka. We offer 100% pure maple syrup and other delicious maple products produced right here from our own sugarbush. SUGARHOUSE TOURS and TASTINGS from May to October, please check tour times and hours on our website under "Contact" and "Tours Details". Reservations and payment via email or phone is required for tours in advance as they fill up quickly. See our huge eco-friendly and highly efficient wood-fired evaporator, many displays of maple antiques and artifacts or stroll our maple forest. From our maple observation deck you have an excellent sight line of "The Big Maple", a slice of the tallest sugar maple ever in Canada. Our "Bucket Wall" can also be easily seen from this vantage point. We would be pleased to take the time to explain the complete maple sugaring process from the past to the present day. A Canadian heritage at it's finest is waiting for you. For your premium MUSKOKA MAPLE EXPERIENCE come to Sugarbush Hill Maple Farm and see what all the fuss has been about for centuries.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Muskoka gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We were camping north of Huntsville with the intent of cycling, but rained non stop the week we were there. Our spirits were lifted however, by stopping in on a rainy day to check out Sugarbush Hill. Tom was incredibly warm and welcoming and gave us a fascinating and extensive tour of the operation. It became a highlight of our week and we enjoyed hearing the story of how they arrived at this juncture in their lives also. Highly recommend a visit to Sugarbush Hill and wonderful maple syrup!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarbushhillmaplefa, Owner at Sugarbush Hill Maple Farm Ltd, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank-you for visiting us at Sugarbush Hill and thank-you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Yes, we've had a fair amount of rain in Muskoka lately and it would be rare for someone to be able to say that they had gone a week without some this summer. Our trees however, are quite happy.
We're glad that you enjoyed your visit so much, we could tell that you were genuinely interested in hearing about maple syrup (which excited me) and also the trek that we took getting to this chapter of our lives. It's a bridge that most of us, God willing, get to cross at some point. There are exciting times later in life to be found, it just takes some listening to oneself and an open and willing spirit.
Hopefully, when we meet again the sun will be shinning brightly with all the rays that you missed the last time you were here. Enjoy your syrup.

warm regards
Sugarbush Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    11
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Sweet Day in the Muskokas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Growing up in Quebec I always took the maple syrup industry for granted. You know, some buckets hanging off maple trees. Wow it's come a long way baby! Meet Tom and Pauline Stehr ex Quebecers and owners of Sugarbush Hill , probably one of the most advanced maple syrup producers in the region. Their " state of the art Sugar Shack" consists of the family homestead as well as the production factory, a Willie Wonka type sweet tooth heaven.
Most days both Tom and Pauline are on site to give tours and bring everyone up to speed on the modern day production of Canadian maple syrup and it's by -products.
Our visit started with a folksy welcome by T & P and dog Boomer then onto the tour . From first tree tap to final gift shop souvenir syrup bottles we were educated in maple syrup production . Tom was very informative and happy to share his syrupy stories.
This was a delightful day for a Canadian revisiting a country tradition . I hope visitors to this part of our country can enjoy this "sweet adventure"

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lngmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarbushhillmaplefa, Owner at Sugarbush Hill Maple Farm Ltd, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank-you so much for taking the time to give such a lengthy review and a wonderful one at that. It's always nice to reconnect with transplanted Quebecers here in Ontario especially when its over the topic of maple syrup. How sweet is that!
We share your excitement about our "Canadian country tradition" and are very pleased that you took the time to visit our maple farm.
Please drop in anytime you are in this beautiful part of Muskoka, our doors are always open.

Sinsyruply
Sugarbush Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Sweet Discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

It's been a couple of years since our last visit to Mary Lake. Change is slow in this part of the world so we were surprised to see the inviting sign for Sugarbush Hill. Our family pulled in and we were barely out of the car before we were met by the enthusiastic owners. We learned that Tom and Pauline were retired Air Canada employees and they didn't want to wait in the "departure lounge" the rest of their retirement, they still wanted to fly to the finish line. After a quick tour around the facility you quickly realize there's been a lot of sweat equity put into the property. It's 150 acres of woods, plastic tubing stretched and pulled in a maze-like configuration. Apparently the snow was so high last spring it was quite the effort to tap the trees. The main house is beautiful and it contains a state of the art maple syrup production facility. Tom and Pauline provided interesting narrative about how it all works - you can tell, these guys love their maple syrup! Soon it was time to sample the sweet goods. We tried the light and the medium and I couldn't get my wallet out fast enough to bring home some of this golden goodness. The syrup is really fantastic but what makes it better is you know it was made with love, pride and passion. Sugarbush Hill is definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SalernoCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarbushhillmaplefa, Owner at Sugarbush Hill Maple Farm Ltd, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank-you for your visit from beautiful Alberta. You had many really good observations, one of which was your comment on "change is slow in this part of the world", that's one of the attractions of being and living here in Muskoka, that comment was well noted.
We noticed that you were really excited about the history of maple sugaring and the modern day process that produces this delicious food. We agree wholeheartedly with you, how can one not, it's so tasty and such a Canadian thing, eh!
We had a really good laugh with your comment about "whipping out my wallet", it doesn't get more honest than that.
Thank-you also for seeing and feeling how much pride and passion we have about maple syrup, it is very true!
We thoroughly enjoyed your company during your visit here at Sugarbush Hill and are looking forward to receiving your BBQ sauce recipe. Hope to see you again next year.

warm regards from Muskoka
Tom and Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heartfelt enthusiasm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Sugarbush Maple Farm as something to do to fill an unseasonably cold and wet afternoon. What a find! We were welcomed by the owner Tom who gave us an enthusiastic and extremely informative tour of his maple syrup operation finishing with tastings of the various products he sells. As well as coming away with a new understanding of how maple syrup is produced we also really enjoyed chatting with Tom who gave us many new insights about Canada. Strongly recommended!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Radwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarbushhillmaplefa, Owner at Sugarbush Hill Maple Farm Ltd, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank-you for having visited us and your very kind words. You had so many interesting and thoughtful questions that it made sharing our Canadian heritage of maple sugaring easy for me.
I trust that you and your family have enjoyed your visit to the Muskoka District even though the weather could have been a little more cooperative and that when you return home to Scotland that your memories of Canada will always be fond ones.
Enjoy your maple syrup.

Sinsyruply
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Sugarbush with Passion! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

On our ride into MBC (Muskoka Bible Centre) I suggested that we stop and take a look at this sugarbush. As a seasoned sugarbush visitor from the Ottawa/Gatineau area where the annual pilgrimage in the spring is a tradition - I was curious to see this place because of the beautiful inviting road sign.
We found a treasure here! Passionate owners told us more about sugarbush operations than we ever knew before! The tastiest syrup and a tranquil small setting. Not a pancake house....but the best syrup you'll ever have for your cottage and home breakfasts!
The bucket wall and equipment were a highlight for my teenage boys - as will the syrup be....if I share.

Helpful?
Thank ottravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarbushhillmaplefa, Owner at Sugarbush Hill Maple Farm Ltd, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank-you for your visit and the time you took viewing our sugarhouse with your boys. The Ottawa area has many fine sugar makers and for you to rate our maple syrup so high is a wonderful honour. We are also glad that your boys enjoyed the bucket wall and our maple equipment. It s always great to share the history and heritage of maple sugaring with enthusiastic guests like yourselves.
Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Sinsyruply
Tom and Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarbush Hill Maple Farm Ltd also viewed

Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 

Been to Sugarbush Hill Maple Farm Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing