We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cedar Grove Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Grove Lodge
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Total relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

From the time you check in, to the time you leave, you will feel total relaxation. The place is so well kept and clean, it is hard to believe that a cabin resort could be that way. This is our second year here and we are a group of 12 guys that go up for the weekend to golf nearby, play a bit of cards and fish. We have been doing this for over 30 years at many resorts in Ontario and this is by far the best.
Nice beach for children, campfire at night, boat and canoe included. Lots of pets around.
This is really the kind of place you want to stay and keep coming back year after year.
I stayed in the "Raven" (all the cabins are named after birds) at it was a premium cabin with two bedrooms, 3 beds, living room, bathroom with airjet tub, separate shower and premium bath products. Nice fireplace in the main room and they supply the wood.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27Brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    20
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
42
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is the best place on the planet to experience a true Canadian summer complete with all its rites of passage: jumping off the dock into a brisk clean fresh lake and swimming to a floating dock for a slide or dive. It's a place for families to come together as a group and laugh and relax. If you want to kick back and have time away from the crowd that's just as plausible. Cedar Grove offers the best of both worlds. The children played by the shore for the entire day while mom and dad watch. Cabins have always been clean. Food is wonderful. Simply, one of my favourite places on this planet!

Room Tip: If you want a quieter stay choose cabins further from the main dock. Mind you we had the cabin right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spend a few days with friends every June at Cedar Grove. The cottages are lovely & clean and all have a beautiful view of the lake! The food is always delicious and the staff are very friendly and make you feel at home!

Room Tip: We like the cottages closer to the dock-my husband likes to fish!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I am late writing this review because we have stayed at Cedargrove many times in the winter. It is the kind of place you want to go back to over and over again, year after year. In the winter, the welcome of the wood-burning fireplace in your own, private log cottage with a view of beautiful, frozen Peninsula Lake is addicting. It never gets old, it is timeless. Ontario winters are beautiful and this place is right in the heart of it. Although it is easy to get to by car, once you are there it is as if the winter was provided only for your enjoyment. Be aware, though, you might want to call in September to make your winter reservation. Many people go year after year and September is when they confirm for the next year. If you are lucky, you may find you are able to take advantage of one of their rare cancellations and get yourself into a lodge experience of a lifetime.

Be aware, although this place is in no way primitive, it is definitely for those who want peace and quiet and to enjoy themselves with the simple pleasures of life: a good meal, good exercise in the pristine air and forest, a good book and a good drink by the fire in the evening. You can even make arrangements to bring your furry friend with you if you like their company. If you are looking the hot night life and are the 'need to be entertained all the time' type, you may find it is not for you.

Room Tip: All of the 'rooms' are individual log cottages. Some have showers only and not a shower/tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iCandy0000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We just got back from our stay at Cedar Grove, we are relaxed and full of wonderful memories that we made once again.
The cottage was lovely, spotlessly clean the view fabulous.
All the meals as always were delicious and served with a friendliness that is gracious and true.
Just loved our time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Let me start by saying that this is the fourth year in a row that we have attended Cedar Grove for our annual "Girls Only Weekend" and we have already booked for next year. We stayed the weekend of June 7 - 9, 2013.

The cottages are amazing, we always stay in the Cardinal, which is the last one in the row (we can be kind of noisy and don't want to disturb the other guests), it has three bedrooms two with two queen beds and one with a single queen bed (the beds are ridiculously comfortable, makes it really hard to get up), a nice large bathroom with a whirlpool tub (never actually get around to using it) it has a large stone fireplace and they provide the wood for you.

The best part of this mini-vacation is the not having to cook or clean, the meals are fantastic and always a large variety for each meal there is always something for everyone from Pancakes with fresh strawberry sauce in the morning to Prime Rib for dinner (the menu changes seasonally). You never go hungry here, we usually bring some snacks with us and end up bringing them home untouched. All you need to bring with you is whatever you are going to be drinking whether it be pop or rum. The dinning hall cannot sell alcohol but you can bring your own to meals. The wait staff is great, we had Maddie this year and she was great, took care of us and was very accommodating with any requests we might have had.

The extras are really fun, we always go for a kayak ride on the lake (they are free to use) as well as the paddle boats. They also have a tennis court and a nice big dock that you can just sit around and relax in the sun or jump into the water and have some fun on the diving board and slide :).

Men please note that there is only one television in the main hall, that's it, there are no televisions in the cottages. To make it more fun we bring up a lot of board games and card games and have a great time.

I will keep going back as long as we can get a group together it is truly a great and memorable weekend and I already cannot wait until next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have been going to Cedar Grove for years and thoroughly enjoy the cottages, the lodge and the food. However, this trip we seem to notice that the food had a higher salt content than usual at Cedar Grove, and when we got back home our doctor confirmed that our blood pressure was up over what it normally measures. We were told by the waiters that they hired a new chef since were were they last time and that are trying many new dishes. New dishes are wonderful, but sometimes a chef will try to mask their lack of knowledge of spices by just dumping in a bunch of salt. Like we said the experience was great, but please have the chef try some more "health consious spices". After all you should want to keep your guest around a little longer so they can enjoy the lodge with their grandchildren. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinterHiker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Muskoka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colonial Bay Cottage Resort
Colonial Bay Cottage Resort
#3 of 7 in Huntsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Grove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Lodge

Property: Cedar Grove Lodge
Address: Highway 60 | P.O. Box 5104, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel Huntsville
Cedar Grove Lodge Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing