We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long-time favourite”
Review of Cedar Grove Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Grove Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Long-time favourite”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've been going to Cedar Grove since I was a small child -- my parents even honeymooned there -- and returned this past summer with my own kids. It's one of those wonderful places that essentially never changes, except for upgrades to keep it current with the times. Hence cabins have been upgraded from rustic to very comfortable over the years, and the menu has changed to reflect current tastes. But it remains a wonderful, homey place to get away, enjoy the woods, the lake, the low-key hospitality and the many activities they facilitate without "over-scheduling". My kids were happy as could be just playing with other kids on the small beach and going for daily boat rides, while the adults enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and wonderful meals. Have been there in winter, summer and fall and always enjoyed it...

Room Tip: Choose cabins ranging from comfortable to luxurious, depending on your taste and budget - the websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    20
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
43
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've been back to Cedar Grove several times as a family and for a couple getaway. Nothing to complain about. Fantastic everytime! The food is wonderful. The cabins are clean and comfortable, and the fireplace is awesome in the middle of winter. We all love skating on the pond, taboganning, or simply playing board games. It's amazing how connected a family can be without the access to technology. Skiing is nearby at Hidden Valley.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Threekidsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Excellent accommodation, food and above all, service. We’ll be back.

All accommodation is in Individual cabins with unlimited firewood and daily maid service. Three huge home-cooked meals a day. The menu is homey and North American, made with fresh ingredients and a lot of care. There was not one bad or even unremarkable meal out of the 15 we had there. The lake fish is especially good. Pickerel, whitefish, trout. Mmmm.

Staff are exceptional and go out of their way to help.

You have free use of non-powered boats and a nice hiking trail around the hill above the lodge. There are pontoon boat rides around the lake a few times a week.

All-in-all one of the best values for money of any resort we’ve ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowbanks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Cedar Grove Lodge is an amazing place to go! My girlfriend and I stayed for 6 nights and can't wait to return next year. Gary, Jeremy and all of the staff were so friendly and helpful. The accommodations were very clean and very comfortable. The food was to die for.....gained a few pounds, I am sure. LOL. A very pet friendly place. Our dogs, Jenny and Sadie were very welcome at Cedar Grove Lodge as well......they were spoiled with daily 'doggy bags'. Have booked for next summer with family and next fall for girls getaway. A truly amazing holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lowbankian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

In 1950, my parents got married and headed north for a honeymoon. They ended up in Huntsville. With no reservations, they asked at a gas station re: local Lodges. They were given directions for Cedar Grove.
For the past sixty plus years my parents and family have been drawn back year after year. It is a wonderful addiction that we don't want a 12 step program to cure.
Cedar Grove is amazing. Ninteen cottages are spread along the shoreline of Peninsula Lake. Three amazing meals a day, served by terrific, long-time staff. The cottages are constantly being updated and there is daily maid service by other friendly staff. The grounds are kept clean and tidy by a grounds keeper. The office staff always are helpful and friendly. At Cedar Grove, you can be as busy or lazy as you want. In summer, tennis, tubing, water skiing, swimming, boat cruises, shuffleboard, paddleboats, disc golf are available at no charge. In the winter, x-country skis, snowshoes and skates are available and can be done on the Cedar Grove property. In all seasons, a games room and exercise cottage are available as well as Huntsville and Algonquin Park being close by.
They have an excellent website that has many pictures on it and it will give you a real feeling for the homey country feel of the the cottages and Lodge. We like many other guests have made life long friends by meeting other guests, during our stays.
My family is not going to give up our addiction to a wonderful family vacation. We are always counting down until our next time.

Room Tip: In the summer, there is a fire pit by the big dock - fun for most but if you need more sleep get a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pariby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our family has been coming to Cedar Grove Lodge for several years. Our daughter now brings her family each year and it is a wonderful opportunity for all of us to get together. The cottages are so nice and comfortable and someone else makes the beds each day. We are completely spoiled by the staff in the dining room and the food is delicious. The children enjoy the meals as well. This resort is fantastic for adults and children alike. We have made so many good friends over the years. Cedar Grove Lodge is a family run resort that offers a degree of hospitality not often seen nowadays.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenna52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

9 years and counting says it all. When we ask our children (now 12 & 10) where they would like to go on holiday this summer, the answer is always the same - Cedar Grove …and we live in Europe! They look forward to it more than Christmas and we do too.

No need to repeat here all the feedback from others who have already said positive things about the log cabins, main lodge, lakeside setting, and sports/activities, however what I am always impressed by is that year on year it remains consistent in achieving that perfect balance between tradition and modern and in my opinion one of the few resorts left to offer a genuine traditional Muskoka resort holiday for both couples and families.

Over the years we have made lifelong friends with other couples and families who book the same week as us and look forward each year to getting together, relaxing and enjoying Muskoka life.

Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runningfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
175 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
457 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,846 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colonial Bay Cottage Resort
Colonial Bay Cottage Resort
#3 of 7 in Huntsville
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Grove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Lodge

Property: Cedar Grove Lodge
Address: Highway 60 | P.O. Box 5104, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel Huntsville
Cedar Grove Lodge Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing