We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tranquil Woods Victorian Inn
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knights Inn - Huntsville(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Huntsville(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$86
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Huntsville(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Valley Resort(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Inn(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arrowhead Inn(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulip Inn(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
125
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhispering pinesblueberry pancakesjudy's breakfastsother guestshuntsville areaalgonquin parkcustom builteach morninglittle piece of paradisebed and breakfastthe entire propertysaw deercomfortable roomprivate deckwonderful hostswe've stayeda great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 127 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our family came here to spend one night between Christmas and New Years and absolutely loved it!! We used all three rooms which were beautifully decorated, very clean and very comfortable.

From the minute we arrived we were warmly welcomed and made to feel at home. We spent the afternoon and the next morning in nearby Arrowhead Provincial Park where there is a great skating trail through the woods, tubing, and snowshoeing. The park was very close to the B&B which was great.

It was wonderful to come back to a warm fireplace. We felt so relaxed and felt it was a real holiday even though it was one night. Our adult children also loved it. We enjoyed reading and playing games by the fire.

The breakfast was delicious and was presented so beautifully!!

We would highly recommend this B&B

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Laserman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed in this beautiful B&B recently in the Whispering Pines room which is on the ground floor. Judy was very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were superb, particularly the blueberry pancakes which were to die for! As I didnt like cinnamon she made me some special ones - very thoughful. What was particularly nice was use of her kitchen. We could make ourselves a tea or coffee when we got back in the afternoon which was much appreciated.

The house is so quiet as it is outside Huntsville and surrounded by woods. So relaxing. This was particularly appreciated after a hectic few days in New York and Niagara. We were really sorry to leave. A big thank you to Judy.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights there as part of our honeymoon, we wanted to hike in Algonquin Park to see the leaves change colour and explore the shops of Huntsville. After seeing the photos and reading the reviews, the choice to stay here was easy.

Judy is a very warm and lovely hostess and immediately made us feel comfortable in her home. We enjoyed chatting with her in her kitchen over tea, hearing her stories, sharing some of our own, and learning tid-bits of tips on a wide range of topics. Before you embark on any adventure, ask Judy first, she will probably have a trail guide or book to lend you, or have stories and info to share. We've only had brief encounters with Dan, but we found him to be a very friendly guy.

We slept in the Scarlet Maple Room and had the best sleep in days, the bed was very comfortable. We were given our own keys to lock the room door and front door when we headed out during the day, that was unexpected but appreciated. The entire house is very clean, lovingly decorated, and spacious. We wished it was a little warmer so that we could spend time hanging out on their porch or back yard. What a lovely place! We had satellite TV and WIFI internet access in the room to keep in touch with family in the city. The washroom was super clean and the entire room had a cottage feel to it. Wonderful.

We met and had breakfast with the other guests (who happened to be tourists from Germany) and realized quickly that the Tranquil Inn does well by attracting friendly and mature visitors. All the guests were fun to talk to and we shared hilarious stories of Germany and Canada.

Judy's cooking is great! What we loved about her breakfasts was that they were varied and nutritious, it was not just mere bacon, eggs and toast. Being fed something different each morning was such a treat to us. Dining in her beautiful Victorian styled dining room made the meals all the more pleasant. We were even allowed to fill our thermos with coffee to take with us on our hike. That was nice of Judy.

The wildlife around the house is fantastic. We saw a pair of young deer grazing along the side of the road and they were not afraid of people. We drove (slowly!) up to them to take photos. The view of the stars at night is amazing! Have you ever seen the arms of our Milky Way galaxy with your bare eyes? You will out there if it's a clear night.

Overall we had a fantastic time around Huntsville and staying at the Tranquil Woods B&B made it even better. Hospitality at its best.

Thank you Judy and Dan! We will definitely be back.

- Mark & Jade

Room Tip: The room downstairs (whispering pines) seemed a little more secluded, probably more private than the other rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Judy and Dan's home is always the best place if you come to Huntsville area. We kept coming to Tranquil Woods every 2 years and just feel we are coming back to catch up our old friends. You will have the warmest welcome from Judy and Dan, they kept the house clean and comfortable, breakfast is always fresh and delicious. We really enjoy chat with them and they always have a lot of suggestions, from the parks to the restaurants...............

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VD006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had the good fortune to stay at this B and B and loved it! Dan and Judy were warm and inviting and the house itself was amazing. Lots of spots to sit and enjoy the outdoors - from the wrap around porch to the screened Muskoka room. Our room was beautifully appointed and the bed was to die for. Breakfast was delicious and we met an interesting couple travelling from Germany. We highly recommend this B and B and hope to stay there again. Tracie O'Keefe and Paul McGoveran

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracieOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews