We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt Like Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquil Woods Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Huntsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa,On
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Felt Like Home”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during the Ironman Muskoka. From the moment we made first contact with Judy to make a reservation, we felt at ease and welcomed. When we arrived, we were greeted with a cheery hello and a big smile from Judy. The home is absolutely beautiful and very well cared for from top to bottom. You are free to use all areas inside and out. The beds are very comfortable and extremely clean. I cannot add more than what was already said in other reviews other than the plaque that is located at the top of the stairs is a true statement. (see attached picture)

We will be returning either for a weekend get away or for the Ironman again next year (hopefully as an athlete).

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
74
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed with Judy and Dan for two nights and felt like part of the family when we left! Incredibly friendly welcome, spotlessly clean accommodation, with all the facilities you could ask for. A peaceful location within easy reach of Huntsville and the Algonquin park. Loved it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil Stead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed in Tranquil Woods for three nights in June and had a fantastic time.
Judy and Dan are lovely, we felt like home from home.
Their B&B is very spacious and we were allowed to use all their facilities (living area, open plan kitchen, and great winter garden). Our room (whispering pine room) was spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated). It was very relaxing, and we didn't want to leave. The breakfasts were always great and each morning we got something different. We loved staying there. If you want a little bit of luxury for an affordable price I would strongly recommend Tranquil Woods to you.
Also, if you like outdoor activities (e.g. canoeing or hiking) Algonquin Park is only 1 hour drive away and there are other nice trails close by. We went on a 4 hour canoeing trip and saw 5 moose. It was great stuff!
We have high standards and we loved it!

Thanks Judy and Dan for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
346 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a great bed and breakfast. Judy, the owner, is friendly, helpful, and has a good sense of humor. The accommodations are beautiful, comfortable, spacious, and super clean. It is one of those places where you have your choice of several public spaces--including a screened-in porch and living room. Guests are encouraged to enjoy themselves. Judy turned us on to Limberlost Forest and Wildlife Reserve which was spectacular, close to the B & B, and free. We would never have known about it otherwise (especially since the Huntsville tourist information was not open on the weekend!).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

"What does a policeman say to his tummy? You're under a vest!!" Do you remember that one Judy?

We had a great stay here from 13th May 2012 to 16th May 2012(4 nights). We stayed in the Whispering Pines room which we loved as you could walk straight out into the vast garden and into the forest. The room itself was elegantly decorated (we liked the rustic door as the headboard) and had every amenity you could want with a very large double bed.

The hosts Dan and Judy did everything to make us feel welcome and looked after us right from the beginning with an escorted trip into Huntsville just after our arrival. The breakfasts were truly superb and at the end of our stay neither one of us wanted to leave.

The B/B is also close to Deerhurst Golf resort so I thought it would be rude not to try a round whilst I was there. Excellent small par 64 Lakeside course, and there is also the tougher Highlands course.

If you're in the Muskoka region you couldn't do better than to try Tranquil Woods, you'll certainly not regret it.

Andrew & Joanne

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronjon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

What a great setting.

As the name suggests, you really are in a lovely, peaceful place, but without being too far away from civilisation. It's an easy 10 minute drive back into town.

At the time of our stay, we were the only guests and Judy gave us a complimentary upgrade to her best room with it's own access to a small private patio and surrounding gardens.

Breakfast was good and leisurely, and you could catch an occasional deer or raccoon passing through the woods/garden. Not a big deal for the locals, but a highlight for a couple of UK townies! It was a big open plan kitchen/diner/living area so your host could chat with you whilst preparing the meal.

Huntsville itself is a nice small town, but big enough to offer a good selection of both small and large shops/restaurants etc. and enough to do for a couple of days without needing to be serious hikers, bikers, etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donnyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

As soon as you pull up on the driveway of Tranquil Woods you know it's somewhere special. Tranquil is the right word for it - the forest setting is so calming.

Judy was a welcoming and friendly host who serves up delicious breakfasts, with something different each day. The caramelised apple french toast we had one day was beautiful.

We stayed in the Scarlet Maple room which is really spacious and en suite. The entire house is stunning, with a lovely netted outside area you can sit outside on and a beautiful lounge inside as well.

Judy was happy to provide tips of where to eat and what to do. It's less than an hour from Algonquin Park and the series of trails and lakes off Highway 60.

All round, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keen_traveller079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
166 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Muskoka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,717 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
447 reviews
2.0 mi away
Morgan House Bed and Breakfast and Wool Works Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquil Woods Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil Woods Victorian Inn

Property: Tranquil Woods Victorian Inn
Address: 50 North Portage Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet road and perfectly situated in the peaceful surroundings of a pristine woodland, Tranquil Woods Bed & Breakfast allows our guests to experience the gracious elegance of a Victorian-Country Home specially built as a B & B. The quaint charm of our wrap around veranda invites you to linger with a cup of tea and enjoy the towering trees, delightful gardens and lush lawn set into the extraordinary Muskoka terrain. Tranquil Woods B&B provides a romantic and comfortable base from which to explore Algonquin or Arrowhead Provincial Parks as well as historic Huntsville ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquil Woods Victorian Inn Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing