We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Couldn't Ask for More” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tranquil Woods Victorian Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquil Woods Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Huntsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
343 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“You Couldn't Ask for More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a great bed and breakfast. Judy, the owner, is friendly, helpful, and has a good sense of humor. The accommodations are beautiful, comfortable, spacious, and super clean. It is one of those places where you have your choice of several public spaces--including a screened-in porch and living room. Guests are encouraged to enjoy themselves. Judy turned us on to Limberlost Forest and Wildlife Reserve which was spectacular, close to the B & B, and free. We would never have known about it otherwise (especially since the Huntsville tourist information was not open on the weekend!).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emilee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
73
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

"What does a policeman say to his tummy? You're under a vest!!" Do you remember that one Judy?

We had a great stay here from 13th May 2012 to 16th May 2012(4 nights). We stayed in the Whispering Pines room which we loved as you could walk straight out into the vast garden and into the forest. The room itself was elegantly decorated (we liked the rustic door as the headboard) and had every amenity you could want with a very large double bed.

The hosts Dan and Judy did everything to make us feel welcome and looked after us right from the beginning with an escorted trip into Huntsville just after our arrival. The breakfasts were truly superb and at the end of our stay neither one of us wanted to leave.

The B/B is also close to Deerhurst Golf resort so I thought it would be rude not to try a round whilst I was there. Excellent small par 64 Lakeside course, and there is also the tougher Highlands course.

If you're in the Muskoka region you couldn't do better than to try Tranquil Woods, you'll certainly not regret it.

Andrew & Joanne

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronjon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

What a great setting.

As the name suggests, you really are in a lovely, peaceful place, but without being too far away from civilisation. It's an easy 10 minute drive back into town.

At the time of our stay, we were the only guests and Judy gave us a complimentary upgrade to her best room with it's own access to a small private patio and surrounding gardens.

Breakfast was good and leisurely, and you could catch an occasional deer or raccoon passing through the woods/garden. Not a big deal for the locals, but a highlight for a couple of UK townies! It was a big open plan kitchen/diner/living area so your host could chat with you whilst preparing the meal.

Huntsville itself is a nice small town, but big enough to offer a good selection of both small and large shops/restaurants etc. and enough to do for a couple of days without needing to be serious hikers, bikers, etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donnyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

As soon as you pull up on the driveway of Tranquil Woods you know it's somewhere special. Tranquil is the right word for it - the forest setting is so calming.

Judy was a welcoming and friendly host who serves up delicious breakfasts, with something different each day. The caramelised apple french toast we had one day was beautiful.

We stayed in the Scarlet Maple room which is really spacious and en suite. The entire house is stunning, with a lovely netted outside area you can sit outside on and a beautiful lounge inside as well.

Judy was happy to provide tips of where to eat and what to do. It's less than an hour from Algonquin Park and the series of trails and lakes off Highway 60.

All round, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keen_traveller079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We felt like two little princesses in the big house of Judy and Dan. We had a warm welcome and Judy looked after us for the 3 days we were in Algonquin park. The possibility to make tea or coffee, the internet, the terrace, the hammock,...and than there are the rooms... Large, cozy, a very nice bed, a clean and nice bathroom,... See got us in touch with a kano teacher and we had a wonderfull day with him. It is not in the park and not in Huntsville, but right in between in a very quite area. It's not the cheapest place, but definitly the best place to relax ,enjoy holidays and being well served. Judy does it with all her heart and that's what you experience every day you stay at tranquil woods!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sophke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Can't imagine better place, nicest host, quitter B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlainVad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

I booked into this bnb instead of the usual hotels b/c of the exquisite care, time and effort Judy and Dan have taken to make their home and especially their garden an idyllic retreat. It was a pleasure discovering their garden and their generosity of spirit. Their attentive company as well as their garden is without compare. As hosts, they are accommodating to a T. Their home is spotless despite being filled with guests(and is it a wonder that it seemed always booked!). The food Judy prepared was lovely as was her and Dan's.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank reemaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Muskoka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.0 mi away
Morgan House Bed and Breakfast and Wool Works Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquil Woods Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil Woods Victorian Inn

Property: Tranquil Woods Victorian Inn
Address: 50 North Portage Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet road and perfectly situated in the peaceful surroundings of a pristine woodland, Tranquil Woods Bed & Breakfast allows our guests to experience the gracious elegance of a Victorian-Country Home specially built as a B & B. The quaint charm of our wrap around veranda invites you to linger with a cup of tea and enjoy the towering trees, delightful gardens and lush lawn set into the extraordinary Muskoka terrain. Tranquil Woods B&B provides a romantic and comfortable base from which to explore Algonquin or Arrowhead Provincial Parks as well as historic Huntsville ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquil Woods Victorian Inn Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing