We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swallowdale Inn B & B
Ranked #4 of 21 Huntsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I could not praise this venue too highly. The breakfasts are very good, the location on the lake is stunning and the quality of the accommodation is wonderful. Very helpful and friendly hosts. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The Lakeside room is as it says on the tin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troll001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks for the review. We were so sorry that you had to cut your trip short, but we were glad to hear that you got home safely. Hope all is well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have just returned home to the UK after our first trip to Canada. We spent three nights in the Lakeside room at this beautiful B&B. The room was spacious, attractive, with a very comfortable bed, and a French window opening out on to a private deck virtually on the lake shore.The house has a wonderful situation at the end of Fairy Lake, it is so peaceful, and perfect for recharging the batteries, after spending time in the city. We enjoyed some wonderful sunsets from the dock, and loved the conservatory, where we could relax in the evening, and have breakfast. The breakfasts were truly amazing, lovingly prepared and served by Michael. We will never forget the waffle with fresh fruit and maple syrup, and sausages! And those cinnamon buns! The most delicious we had ever tasted! Michael was kindness itself, driving to pick us up from the bus station in Huntsville, helping us sort out car hire locally, and looking after us on our last morning, before the bus journey back to Toronto. We visited Parry Sound, about an hour's journey, and had a fantastic cruise around the 30,000 islands, and spent a day in Algonquin Park and did a couple of the walking trails- another special memory of our time in this beautiful area. Swallowdale Inn is the perfect place to stay! Thank you, Michael and Isabel , for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: The Lakeside room is spacious and has a large private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue180513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us. It is always sad when something planned goes wrong; we were delighted to be able to help you sort it out. Hope you had a good 'rest of trip', we loved chatting about the Lake District - positively nostalgic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at Swallowdale the weekend of the 2013 Ironman event. It was everything that a Canadian B&B experience should be. Our host and hostess could not have been more accomodating and friendly. The rooms and common areas were spacious and clean. This is also a great location if you want to stay in Muskoka but want to avoid all the crowds. The setting is stunning, right on the lake in a tree covered lot. Very quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraftonSpaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for the review. It was much appreciated. All the more so as it comes from the owner of St. Anne's Spa in Grafton the top destination spa in Ontario. Isabel and I really enjoy helping our Iron Man guests. Early breakfast and getting them off to a good start. Congratulations to your friends on their best times in this year's race.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Swallowdale Inn is absolutely the best place we stayed in Canada!
The house is placed in a wonderful location on a nice lake, with a well curated garden, beautiful and spacious interiors and two lovely owner, Michael and his wife, Isabel.
We slept 2 nights in the Lakesider room, a big and nice room overlooking the beautiful garden and the lake, with a full clean bathroom and a private entrance.
The breakfast was absolutely delicious, fresh and genuine.
Michael was so happy when we asked him to use his canoe for a short trip in the lake. He gave us all stuff and information, and we had a very romantic adventure at sunset!
Algonquin park is not so close, non so far (west gate is 40km away) but no worry about driving a little bit to reach it: if you stay at Swallowdale, you'll taste a piece of paradise!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ombretta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

"Swallowdale Inn is absolutely the best place we stayed in Canada!" Wow! Many thanks for the recommendation. We really enjoyed having you and chatting about the issues facing Europe. Your insights were most interesting. Perhaps we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This past weekend my wife and I spent a couple of days at this outstanding B & B. The hosts were very welcoming and gave great recommendations on restaurants and what to see and do. Our bedroom was huge and very nicely appointed. We even had our own screened in porch. The beach was lovely (sandy bottom) and you would have to go out in Fairy Lake a considerable distance before it was over your head.

Michael and Isabelle were delightful hosts and the breakfasts were scrumptious.. I could not get over the peace and tranquility that emanated from this property. The view was fantastic looking down the whole length of Fairy Lake. This was just an outstanding experience and we will do it again!

riverwood6foxlow@gmail.com

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you so much for the review. It was truly a delight to spend time chatting with you. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was a really wonderful, awesome time in this beautiful B&B! We enjoyed the hospitality, the excellent breakfasts, the very clean and tasteful rooms, the dock on the lake, which we could see from our room, the silence, nature pure,... All in all: it is a must to come to this place- we came all the way from Austria and hope thet we are able to come again. Thank you so much Isebell and Michael!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 523Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Barbara
Part of the joy of a B&B is the delightful people you meet. We had a great time chatting to you and we both hope to see you again someday.
Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

don’t think twice about it, I guarantee you’ll love it.
we will definitely be returning and we make a point to let my travel agent in on this place so others may have the opportunity to enjoy it too. Thank you Isabella and Michael for everything, you've made our stay experience a very special one. Good luck with your daughter’s wedding.
Edna&Gideon

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginossar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Edna, Gideon
Thank you so much for the review. We really enjoyed having you stay. Gideon's stories were fun. Good luck with your sculpting. Come again.
Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
3.8 mi away
Crews on INN
Crews on INN
#9 of 18 in Huntsville
36 reviews
10.2 mi away
Pine Lodge Inn
Pine Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
498 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arrowhead Inn
Arrowhead Inn
#12 of 21 in Huntsville
43 reviews
2.8 mi away
Echo Woods B & B
Echo Woods B & B
#6 of 21 in Huntsville
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallowdale Inn B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallowdale Inn B & B

Address: 46 Roe Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 0A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Huntsville
Price Range: $105 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallowdale Inn is a bed & breakfast located on the premier waterfront location on Fairy Lake in Huntsville Ontario. The Inn is an ideal place to stay for people visiting Algonquin or Arrowhead Parks. In business since 2003, the hosts, Michael and Isabel Kay welcome visitors (including children) and provide a hearty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swallowdale Inn B & B Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing