We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“park staff ignorant and irritating” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arrowhead Provincial Park

Arrowhead Provincial Park
Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dundalk, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“park staff ignorant and irritating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice Park, the staff were another matter though. overly aggressive park enforcement very rude . forgot our kids helmets and we were treated like criminals by the park warden ian todd.Very disappointed in his approach to our campsite and his manner was offensive to say the least!The staff taking boat rentals was also very smart mouthed.
Really a nice park but too bad the staff followed the wardens lead I guess...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank john S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    144
    30
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englehart, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great park!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for a few days camping with my girls. Nice park, lots to do in the area. Very nice large private lots. Washrooms and showers could use an upgrade, and they need more showers as there was always a line up.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarbecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etobicoke
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What the heck happened to this place?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Seriously, did it come into new management since the last time we looked at this site?

We came to this place using the high reviews on Trip Advisor of 4 to 5 star place, but it wasn't all bad, here is my review.

The Good: Large, mostly private sites, the canoeing and the bike rentals were affordable and an awesome ride down the riverside. The beaches were nice as well, the hiking trails are quite beautiful. The Big Bend Lookout is a simply breathtaking natural wonder.

The Bad: the 100 + feet of extension cords you need to plug into your electric site, when we went to rent one for 2 dollars a day plus a 75$ deposit and CC only, "Oops, rented out". The comfort station showers were tiny, one night it didn't have any heat, the other night didn't have any water pressure. We walked most of the trails, some were very confusing with the signs being unclear to me and the many unmarked forks in the trails so we got lost a few times, other areas were as tiny as foot paths running through wild thorny raspberry fields. Lastly, the dog areas are really tiny, the beach in one was not sandy but muddy and beside a really weedy area, the other is at the mouth of the river pretty much right in canoe traffic, "Hey, were swimming here. Oh, I almost forgot, DO NOT BUY THE PARK WOOD! The wood is uncovered, wet and even rotting, you will need a fire starter just to get it going. The general store is selling dryer wood, but at $7.50, I remember other camps are selling them for $5.00.

In conclusion: Well, I guess we have been spoiled after going to Awenda, KillBear and Sandbanks of which didn't have to much of these problems. I get the feeling, at least in some areas in this Park, the workers and management just don't seem to care enough about their customers except to collect money, camp sites in the middle of nowhere are almost the same price as a 2 and half star motels, BYOEquipement. Of course I don't mind but for that price, I would have expected more, shouldn't you?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Erick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Provincial park for camping.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Lots of activities for all ages e.g, canoeing, hiking, programs at the park's Amphitheatre, swimming, beautiful beach etc. Beautiful scenic views from anywhere in the park. Most campsites have good to excellent privacy. The only thing I can complain about is the wet wood sold at the park-which also cost surprisingly more at this park than at Awenda. Also the bathrooms and showers were not kept as well as other camp sites we've gone to. Otherwise, we all had fun and would go back again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jcmrn1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful park!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We visited the park and had a wonderful time. Lots to do and well maintained. Great swimming areas, and Stubb's falls was lots of fun. We rented a canoe and enjoyed our time. Puppy swim area was very clean and had nice areas to sit and relax.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ourholiday154980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arrowhead Provincial Park also viewed

Huntsville, Muskoka District
 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 

Been to Arrowhead Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing