We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Provincial park for camping.”

Arrowhead Provincial Park
Ranked #2 of 35 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stouffville
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Provincial park for camping.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Lots of activities for all ages e.g, canoeing, hiking, programs at the park's Amphitheatre, swimming, beautiful beach etc. Beautiful scenic views from anywhere in the park. Most campsites have good to excellent privacy. The only thing I can complain about is the wet wood sold at the park-which also cost surprisingly more at this park than at Awenda. Also the bathrooms and showers were not kept as well as other camp sites we've gone to. Otherwise, we all had fun and would go back again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jcmrn1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    151
    31
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful park!!!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We visited the park and had a wonderful time. Lots to do and well maintained. Great swimming areas, and Stubb's falls was lots of fun. We rented a canoe and enjoyed our time. Puppy swim area was very clean and had nice areas to sit and relax.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ourholiday154980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kawartha, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time for the family AND the dog!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was our first visit to Arrowhead Provincial Park. We camped for three nights during a weekend in July 2013. We camped at site #139 (non-electrical and radio-free) and will definitely go back to that site. We were right next to two toilette stations, however the traffic was not that bad. The site was big and clean with two picnic tables, steps away from the main beach and canoe rentals. Rented a canoe for 2 hours for $15 and saw a Moose drinking water from the river we were traveling down.

There is a store located at the park entrance that sells a bit of everything including, ice ,wood and eggs, and the shower stations are clean.

For our dog, Arrowhead has a leash-less Pet Exercise area, which is a mini private beach, but also allows dogs on their main beach in designated areas (on a leash). He also went canoeing with us!

The reason why I gave a 4 out 5 is because Arrowhead does not have employees patrolling the park at night and we were next to VERY loud people that kept us up most of the night, other than that, we has an AWESOME time and can't wait to go back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice park, nice lakes , nice sites..Great for family”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This park is substantially better then any of the Algonquin sites on highway 60 . (i only go to the Algonquin north sites)

The sites are very large and very private . bathrooms are mostly flush , good shower facility's. There is no laundry but you are 10 minutes max to town.

DO NOT BUY WOOD FROM PARK..it is soaked and rotted and should not be sold I bought 3 bags and had to use naptha to get it to burn, It was easy to tell who was there for first night as they got scammed by park they all had no fires, just smoke.

Buy wood from lagoon general store just outside gate

The beaches on arrowhead lake are clean and not busy There are a few bike trails, longest is 5 k around lake and easy ride for whole family ( my youngest is 4 and did the whole trail with help on hills)

Fishing is poor but good for kids to catch tiny perch and bass. Kids loved the large snapping turtles

The lakes are No motors so my jet skis stayed at home, You can rent canoes for cheap .

Small waterfall

it is radio free so the park is quiet . very slight road noise at night but nothing compared to Algonquin

We stayed four days and would have liked to stay a few more days. . You can easily kill a week here

Highly recommend over the south Algonquin sites, several which should be closed and moved

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank sorrenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great camping experience”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from a nine day camping excursion at Arrowhead Provincial Park. This location offers numerous sandy beaches, canoe/kayak/mountain bike rentals and two area for dogs to swim. The facilities are modern and well maintained. There was never an issue of running out of hot water in the showers regardless on the time of day you attended. The park location is excellent as it is very close to the Town of Huntsville. This allows campers to replenish their supplies or spent the day shopping in their unique downtown area. Staff are very friendly and accommodating with requests that you have. The camping site are generous in size and well treed to allow privacy. The park offers a camp store on site that is fair well stocked. This locations offers many trials for hiking and other activities. I would certainly recommend Arrowhead Provincial Park for both the novice and experienced campers. This is a great place for families and their canine companions. We had an great experience observing a moose standing on the bank of the East River over a three day period. This magnificent animal would stand at the waters edge and park visitors could view from the bridge just 200m away. On the second day families where paddling past her in the river with her calming watching the onlookers.
This was truly one of the highlights of our trip!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arrowhead Provincial Park also viewed

Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 

Been to Arrowhead Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing