We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice park, nice lakes , nice sites..Great for family”

Arrowhead Provincial Park
Ranked #2 of 35 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice park, nice lakes , nice sites..Great for family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This park is substantially better then any of the Algonquin sites on highway 60 . (i only go to the Algonquin north sites)

The sites are very large and very private . bathrooms are mostly flush , good shower facility's. There is no laundry but you are 10 minutes max to town.

DO NOT BUY WOOD FROM PARK..it is soaked and rotted and should not be sold I bought 3 bags and had to use naptha to get it to burn, It was easy to tell who was there for first night as they got scammed by park they all had no fires, just smoke.

Buy wood from lagoon general store just outside gate

The beaches on arrowhead lake are clean and not busy There are a few bike trails, longest is 5 k around lake and easy ride for whole family ( my youngest is 4 and did the whole trail with help on hills)

Fishing is poor but good for kids to catch tiny perch and bass. Kids loved the large snapping turtles

The lakes are No motors so my jet skis stayed at home, You can rent canoes for cheap .

Small waterfall

it is radio free so the park is quiet . very slight road noise at night but nothing compared to Algonquin

We stayed four days and would have liked to stay a few more days. . You can easily kill a week here

Highly recommend over the south Algonquin sites, several which should be closed and moved

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank sorrenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    146
    30
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great camping experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from a nine day camping excursion at Arrowhead Provincial Park. This location offers numerous sandy beaches, canoe/kayak/mountain bike rentals and two area for dogs to swim. The facilities are modern and well maintained. There was never an issue of running out of hot water in the showers regardless on the time of day you attended. The park location is excellent as it is very close to the Town of Huntsville. This allows campers to replenish their supplies or spent the day shopping in their unique downtown area. Staff are very friendly and accommodating with requests that you have. The camping site are generous in size and well treed to allow privacy. The park offers a camp store on site that is fair well stocked. This locations offers many trials for hiking and other activities. I would certainly recommend Arrowhead Provincial Park for both the novice and experienced campers. This is a great place for families and their canine companions. We had an great experience observing a moose standing on the bank of the East River over a three day period. This magnificent animal would stand at the waters edge and park visitors could view from the bridge just 200m away. On the second day families where paddling past her in the river with her calming watching the onlookers.
This was truly one of the highlights of our trip!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Arrowhead Provincial Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Arrowhead is just a few minutes up Hwy 11 from Huntsville. It is much smaller than Algonquin, but has easy interesting hikes, a nice beach with canoe rentals. We live in Huntsville and have a Season's Pass for all Provincial Parks. We go out to Arrowhead and walk to Stubbs Falls almost every day. In May the trilliums are beautiful. This year there is a yearling female moose hanging around the back side of the trail.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice park, good campgrounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We bought a visitor's daypass to check out this park and it was worth it. There is a nice wooded trail leading you to Stubbs Falls where you can jump in the water in summer. You can rent a canoe, kayak to go down the river to the lake, spend some time on the beach. The campsites look very nice, lot of privacy because of the underbrush. You must prebook your camping site ahead of time in the summer, it is very popular.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TomKat2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cross country ski at Arrowhead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

It has all levels of trails for CC skiers. It also has a inner tube sliding hill. Not very glitzy but lots of winter fun

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank iCandy0000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arrowhead Provincial Park also viewed

Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 

Been to Arrowhead Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing