We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arrowhead Provincial Park

Arrowhead Provincial Park
Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Otterville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Very private, and family oriented park. The waterfalls is neat to see! Also lots of bears around we actually saw them a few times. I would definately go again.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank CandY287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    144
    30
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoy Peace, Quite and Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

When our children were small, around 1970's and 1980's, we started camping at Arrowhead Provincial Park in Huntsville Ontario. It has everything you would want for a young growing family.Large private camp sites, beautiful shallow beaches, hiking trails, a magnificent water fall, guided nature trails and learning opportunities. Our grown children came here with groups of friends before they had their own children and now our grown children come with their own children, our grandchildren. My husband and I just visited again for our 44th anniversary in September and thoroughly enjoyed the warm sunny days and cool evenings around the campfire, while observing the millions of stars in the clear night sky.We were excited to see that the park rents bicycles, canoes and kayaks now. We took advantage of local attractions such as shopping in nearby Huntsville and taking a float plane ride with Georgian Bay Airways to Henri's Fish Restaurant. Unforgettable!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie and Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham Ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to go camping!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Arrowhead is a beautiful provincial campground. With large campsites, its a great place to take your dog as well, as they have a small off leash beach area and a larger leashed beach area....and for those without dogs there are also dog free beach areas as well. I suggest renting a canoe to take along the river to see stubbs falls along the way you can spot deer, beaver and other wildlife. Fish off the dock for bass or rent a bike and check out the trails. Great even if you just want to go for the day but even better when you stay for a few. The stars at night are stunning. Don't forget to stop in the town of Huntsville while you are there with its beautiful resturants along the river

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank gingereden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful provincial park, great for quiet getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have enjoyed the beauty and relative peace of Arrowhead on numerous family camping vacations. Less famous than Algonquin, and also less Disneyland! The view of the oxbow lookout is worth a hike, even with young children. Aside from the waterfront action, there are not a ton of activities laid on, which is what some fo us are looking for. Arrowhead is also close enough to Huntsville that daily provisioning trips to (a good-sized) town are an option.

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank YYZYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The lake and falls were amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Arrived at Arrowhead Lake early in the morning and the fog was still rolling over the water, the views were spectacular. Rentals are available and the lake wasn't very crowded, so it was still very relaxing even later in the day. Stubb's Falls are a must-see, one of the best sites I experienced on a recent trip to the Muskoka region. Algonquin gets more press, but this little gem to the West deserves some recognition as well!

Helpful?
2 Thank MarkEightThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arrowhead Provincial Park also viewed

Huntsville, Muskoka District
 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 

Been to Arrowhead Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing