We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chucks roadhouse

Chucks roadhouse
Ranked #35 of 78 Restaurants in Huntsville
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Canadian, American, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Crabby Joe's Tap & Grill offers a casual, relaxed family friendly restaurant and bar experience and a menu with something for everyone. Good Food... Good Fun... Bad Temper!
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Nothing special that would make me want to come back soon. Just like many of the other franchised restaurants. Slow service, though the server was friendly. Lots of pasta, not much other stuff mixed in. No one at our table was raving about the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nearnorthduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    34
    35
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

It's a typical Crabby Joe's. No bells or whistles here. The service was good but found the tables to be a little dirty. Not my first choice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ayearOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englehart, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had lunch here, the burgers we good, nothing spectacular. The pasta my daughter had looked good too. Just an average place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarbecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powassan, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor managment is the issue”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in with the family for a quick meal. First thing we notice on the table is a tent card advertising a wing and beer deal.

I decide to order that and the waiter quickly tells me that the promotion is only valid during hockey games. I then ask why it is on the table only to be told it states that on the card. I accept this and order a drink. Upon further glance at the promotion card I notice there is nothing stating any conditions to the offer. I show this to the waiter purely out of principal and he agrees that I should be able to order it but his manager would not allow it. I tell him that he should tell his manager he has a unhappy customer.

A few minutes go by and I am visited by an obviously annoyed "manager" she proceeded to explain to me again the promotion is only valid during hockey games and that she will give me the deal since I am upset but will not do it again. I simply say that if there are conditions on an advertised promotion those conditions should be advertised as well.

We proceed to order or meals. My wings come out quickly they were over cooked and bland. We then waited a very long time for our mains which were just a couple of sandwiches. Our server was a pleasant younger guy who seemed to be the only server covering both the bar and the dinning room. I felt bad for him as he was trying hard and wanted to take care of the whole promotion issue but was obviously not permitted to make those decisions. On a humourous side note after the whole argument over the wings I happy to glance up at the tv and guess what was playing. A hockey game. The manager was so determined to set us straight she did not even think to notice that the one thing she was saying had to be on for the promotion to be valid was actually on. Anyways I digress.

Food was dropped off by the annoyed manager who was still shooting me daggers for having the nerve to question her.

I had the pulled pork sandwich and found it to be quite tasty and I enjoyed it. My wife had the smoked meat and she also enjoyed hers.

So in short food not bad managment horrendous. Had the server been empowered to make a

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rdwarrior1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iroquois Falls, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Group Booking Gone Wrong”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We love the food at Crabby Joe's so why not bring my dance team there to eat....well it was a disaster unfortunately. I booked in advance, a week in advance but even then there were too many of us and too little of them. The children were served last, and some weren't ever served. The children were told their dessert was a sucker, just to save time. One family left because they waited an hour and a half. It was a disaster. :( Once the food comes out it's yummy but not worth the trouble.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chucks roadhouse also viewed

Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 

Been to Chucks roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing