We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just perfect!! would wanna go back again :)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beauview Cottage Resort
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was just perfect!! would wanna go back again :)”
Reviewed June 5, 2010

This place is just pefect for everyone. The hosts are great. Myself and my husband were very happy with our 1st cottage experience and would definitely wanna visit again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tolady14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed at Beauview Resort in Cottage no. 4 in October and arrived to a warm fire and a very warm welcome. The area is stunning in the fall and the cottage just 25mins from the beautiful Algonquin Park - which we visited most days. We originally booked for 6 days but extended by another 2 as we liked it so much and there is loads to do in the area. The owners, Gord and Nancy, were SO helpful and went out of their way to assist us - even giving us lifts to and from the car hire in Huntsville. The cottage had great views of the Lake of Bays, was really well equipped and we loved heading straight to the hot-tub straight after a hike in the Park. Cheaper than the lodges in the Algonquin Park itself and great people..we thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtterSpotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2009

What a wonderful time we had at the cottage this past weekend. The kids really enjoyed themselves at the "park", loved seeing theducks so close and even the wet weather couldn't spoil the good time we all had. Beautiful cottage, beautiful scenery. Owner is friendly, helpful and goes out of his way to make your stay more enjoyable. Can't thank him enough for the little things he did for us, it really make an impression and we can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeLaSalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We just got back from our weekend at Beauview - just found it on the internet in our quest for a much needed quiet and relaxing getaway. Beauview was absolutely perfect. I was astounded at how spacious and well-equipped the cottage (#5) was and Gord and Nancy have gone that extra mile by providing all sorts of wonderful little extras (soaps, wine, jam and robes for in and out of the hot tub). The hot tub was definitely a highlight and we spent Friday, Saturday night and Sunday morning coffee in the tub overlooking the lake. Truly wonderful. The canoes and kayaks are great, and although the weather wasn't stellar, we still went out onto the lake in the canoe - the scenery is beautiful and this time of year is tranquil and peaceful on the water. Truly a fantastic weekend. We will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoVicki1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We found this cottage resort on an internet search and we lucked out. This place was beautiful and Gord and Nancy wonderful hosts. Gord took time out of his day to take us out for a very enjoyable boat ride.
The most amazing thing was how well equipped this extremely clean and modern cottage was. Too many things to list but will mention a few. There was flashlights, bug spray, fly swatter, sos pads, dish soap, so many dishes, pots and pans, any utensil you could name, huge full set of knives with scissors, wine glasses, coffee maker, microwave, BBQ on the deck. You seriously need to bring nothing but food and drink and your clothes.
There was also so much to do. We swam in the lake everyday. The water was clear and clean, we went out on a paddleboat and canoe. We had every intention of hitting Algonquin park for a hike one day but never left at all . We kept outselves busy right there at the resort.
We were already planning out next visit to Beauview on the drive home!!! We thought maybe the hot tub on the deck might be even more enjoyable in the winter.

Kathi and Glen
Caledon ON

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadamo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle UK
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We enjoyed a great two-week stay with hosts Nancy and Gord in late July 2009. We (Ali, Ben and two kids - Maddy (5) and Finlay (9)) had a great time at Beauview.
Beauview
We chose this place having read other TripAdviser comments and were glad we did. Nancy and Gord have an excellent, small (is beautiful), personal and personalised set up here. We really appreciated the family-feel that Beauview offers - the complete antithesis os large-scale corporate operations.
The cottage was comfortable, well-equipped and had a to-die-for view of the lake. The kids (Maddym Fin and - especially - Ben) enjoyed all that the lake had to offer - swimming, the kayaks, canoes and pedal boats, the trampoline, diving dock and so on. We used Beauview as a base for our holiday, anticipating a lot of walks (hikes) in Algonquin but in the event the attractions of the immediate area led to a great holiday. Hunstville is a very attractive small town and we enjoyed the Baysville 'walkaround' - a kind of village fete (yes - we're English).
The kids not only enjoyed Gord's tubing but Nancy's craft sessions and bingo. They have clung onto their craft boxes as repositiories for various bits of Canadian paraphernalia.
The key thing to a successful holiday is the people. We were lucky enough to meet a range of very kind, warm and positive people during our stay at Beauview, helped greatly by Nancy and Gord's welcome bbqs. From our perspective and from our children's it is the warmth and openness of the people we met that will live as long in the memory as the things we did. Thanks Nancy and Gord.
Much respect to Nancy and Gord for all the hard work that has gone into creating this haven. A great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Like many of the other reviewers our family spent a week thoroughly enjoying our time at Beauview. Not only is the location lovely with well maintained cottages, everyone enjoyed the use of the paddleboats/canoes/kayaks, the water trampoline, sandpiles, tetherball, ample chairs and the awnings. Also, Gord's grill down by the water was handy not only for the welcome barbeque but also when we borrowed it to put on multi-family lunches (the fun never has to stop for lunch). Yes, we met another family at Beauview and our kids playing with each other gave us apple opportunity to make new friends.

As others have mentioned we also did an afternoon outing to nearby Huntsville (for Ice Cream and mid-week groceries) and did a day trip to Algonquin Park with the pass the Beauview has for this. Both added a little variety to an enjoyable week mostly staying put. Our family normally does roving vacations so having a week at Beauview was a change and it worked out really well, the kids had a blast and we cut way down on the driving and the packing & unpacking. Still between unstructured play, Nancy runs crafts, Gord took the kids out water tubing, we all went out on the boats, or got in the hot tub with the neighbours, we made serious dents in the beach novels and other summer reading or just vegged out. Exactly what we'd expect from a week at the cottage.

Two things that I don't recall previously mentioned. Beauview has rods & reels that they're happy to lend and the stars at night. Our two 10-year olds wanted to try fishing so we borrowed the gear and happily spent hours learning to cast and retrieve with just lead sinkers and floats (no hooks and no having to unhook 10-year olds or other non-fish items and a lot less intense supervision required).

The star gazing was amazing, I do kinda regret that our week was in July and not in August during the annual Perseid meteor shower. We live near the city and it's sometimes a challenge find just the Big Dipper. After nightfall (and after the mosquitos have subsided), the dock is a wonderful place to go stargazing. If you've never seen a night sky that isn't washed out by light polution, the sight of the Milky Way will make the hair on the back of your neck stand up. Soooo many stars. It's been a long time since I was able to find many of the constellations I once was taught to look for. Not only the are the Little Dipper and Bootes much easier to find but the Summer Triangle is spectacular from the dock. I should have brought my star chart and binoculars to try finding some of the Galaxies and double stars that are visible in the night sky. Oh well, perhaps next time.

A last word for Workaholics or those that need to be on-line, our cottage had a Linksys WRT-54GL (with high gain antenna) providing a very acceptable quality of Internet. I do *not* regret having left my work laptop at home but was glad we brought my personal laptop. Our 13-year old definitely was happy to have connectivity in the mornings and evenings.

The short summary is this: we liked Beauview, the property and the proprietors (Nancy & Gord) and we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olde_biL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
24.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
10.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,844 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colonial Bay Cottage Resort
Colonial Bay Cottage Resort
#3 of 7 in Huntsville
65 reviews
7.8 mi away
Blue Water Acres
Blue Water Acres
#4 of 7 in Huntsville
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beauview Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beauview Cottage Resort

Property: Beauview Cottage Resort
Address: 4215 South Portage Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Stars Canada Select. Resorts of Ontario member. A small, quiet, friendly, unpretentious, cottage resort with six cottages on Lake of Bays, near Huntsville Muskoka, Ontario. Close to Algonquin Park. The cottages have kitchen, 3 or 4 piece baths, satellite TV, gas fireplace, A/C, wireless internet. Some have outdoor personal hot tubs. Canoes, water trampoline, kayaks, playground. Winter: snowshoes available to borrow, snowtubing, skiing, snowmobiling nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beauview Cottage Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing