We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect long weekend getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beauview Cottage Resort
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect long weekend getaway”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Gord and Nancy certainly know how to make their guests feel welcome. They are excellent, friendly hosts, on hand with advice, maps and information, but were never obtrusive. The five of us rented the 3 bed cottage, which was clean, comfortable and well-equipped. The lake front and dock area is lovely, with a huge amount of water toys and boats. We liked the water trampoline and moonwalk, and tried out the kayaks, canoe, stand-up paddle board, row boat and paddle boats. We also swam and floated lazily on the water in tubes. There are plenty of muskoka chairs to lounge in and look at the view, although the bugs were definitely biting at this time of year. Nancy kindly gave us some anti-bug wristbands and patches and we sprayed ourselves liberally with Off.

We visited Algonquin Park for a day, and Nancy and Gord were able to supply a vehicle pass which avoided us having to line up to buy park passes at the park gate. But really, the setting of the cottage on Lake of Bays is so beautiful, we were happy just to spend time pottering around and enjoying all the facilities. It is very peaceful and quiet, totally relaxing. We would definitely love to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were looking for a place close to Algonquin Park, and found Beauview online. Courteous and friendly hosts, made sure we had all that we needed and more. Cottage was clean and cozy, with all the amenities, Satellite TV only got used to watch the Hockey game, if only we could have watched it from the hot tub :). Area was perfect for enjoying some quiet time. I wouldn't hesitate to go back. Thanks for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were returning customers for a 3 day winter break in February 2013. We stayed in a totally modern 1 bed cottage which was fully equipped for every eventuality (right down to an radio/ipod charger). Gord and Nancy had given thought to everything that a traveller would require. Once again Gord and Nancy were excellent, friendly and full of advice as to the local amenties. Access to the free vehicle pass for the local parks was greatly appreciated as were the use of the snow shoes (and most of all a lesson on how to use them).

We made full use of the local parks to snow shoe, cross country ski (a first time for both of us) and snow tubing.

Room Tip: The 1 bed cottage is ideal for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eganp70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Wonderful service. Fantastic homey cottage and a wonderful place to stay in snow mobile country. The cottage was warm, cozy and the service was impeccable. We came to enjoy a few winter activities and everything was ready and waiting for us upon arrival. Very welcoming.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel9939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent a few winter days in cosy cabin #4. We like the rustic charm, the cosy gas stove and the beautiful, unobstructed view of the lake. The full moonrise over the lake was spectacular. Gord and Nancy are lovely hosts. The location is great...close to some wonderful spots like Arrowhead Provincial Park, Hidden Valley and Algonquin Park. Gord and Nancy are super hosts...they made us feel very welcome and gave us lots of info about local activities.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AKL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We went to Beauview for a romantic getaway and romantic it was! He proposed in front of the giant picture window in cabin #2 and the wonderful picturesque view! The cottages are extremely well equipped – we wanted for nothing while we were there. Also, the hot tub is incredible! Gord and Nancy were gracious hosts, pleasant but not overbearing. They had lovely little touches such as handmade soaps and a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived (that bottle of wine is still on display in our kitchen!) In the flurry of activity that comes with getting engaged, we had to take a moment to sing the praises of Gord and Nancy. Thank you Gord and Nancy for making our experience absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KWsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have travelled a bit but have never really cottaged. We had our first family cottage vacation at Beauview Cottage Resort. We got lucky as It was a last minute booking. I found the Tripadvisor reviews helpful in making my choice. The location of Beauview Cottage Resort is perfect and as there are many towns to visit in the Muskoka area. The resort is only 15 minutes away from Huntsville and about 45 min. away from Algonquin park which is a great day trip. The Lake of Bays is a picturesque and clean. The hosts Gord and Nancy made the vacation great with their experience and attentiveness. We booked the one bedroom cottage and it satisfied our needs as it was clean and comfortable. There were so many activities to keep you busy if you wanted; no matter what age. We swam, fished, canoed, kayaked, paddle boated, paddle boarded......and relaxed. Gord will take you out on his boat, tubing or waterskiing and Nancy does bingo and crafts. One evening we made a bonfire and enjoyed toasting marsh mellows in the fresh evening air. We really enjoyed our cottage experience at Beauview.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italiamia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
175 reviews
24.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
9.5 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Colonial Bay Cottage Resort
Colonial Bay Cottage Resort
#3 of 7 in Huntsville
65 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
456 reviews
7.8 mi away
Blue Water Acres
Blue Water Acres
#4 of 7 in Huntsville
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beauview Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beauview Cottage Resort

Property: Beauview Cottage Resort
Address: 4215 South Portage Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Stars Canada Select. Resorts of Ontario member. A small, quiet, friendly, unpretentious, cottage resort with six cottages on Lake of Bays, near Huntsville Muskoka, Ontario. Close to Algonquin Park. The cottages have kitchen, 3 or 4 piece baths, satellite TV, gas fireplace, A/C, wireless internet. Some have outdoor personal hot tubs. Canoes, water trampoline, kayaks, playground. Winter: snowshoes available to borrow, snowtubing, skiing, snowmobiling nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beauview Cottage Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing