We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hosts around”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beauview Cottage Resort
Reviewed October 4, 2011

What a pleasant experience we had last weekend. The setting is idyllic....but I grew up in a similar setting. What I found most charming were the hosts of this resort. I'm not sure how they are able to make each and every guest feel so special, but they do! From the little extras (yummy jam and wonderful little soaps) to the very special attention that Gordon and Nancy supply - for example, when Gordon saw that our robes had gotten wet in the rain, he brought us new, fresh, dry ones. Who pays attention like that?! Amazing! We really felt that they would help us in any way necessary. Of course we enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub while taking in the beautiful scenery and the view of the lake. It got quite chilly over the weekend and we enjoyed the gas fireplace, its ambience and its toasty warmth. Thank you to Nancy and Gordon for providing a lovely interlude.

Room Tip: I think all of these cottages are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 118 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2011

I grew up spending lots of time cottaging Muskoka, where my parents now life full-time. It's my favourite place in the world, and was a natural first choice for my September wedding. My mom connected us with Beauview as an option for accommodations for our close family, as everyone was coming from out of town.

In the spring, I went over to take a look, and thought the grounds on Lake of Bays were ABSOLUTELY gorgeous. And a bonus - Beauview is nestled in behind Langmaid's Island, the other side of which is where my family spent many a summer day during my childhood.

Beauty aside, Gord and Nancy were absolutely delightful to work with - incredibly accommodating and gracious. We heard from everyone who stayed on the property that the accommodations were lovely, and the families with kids had a great time outdoors in their downtime.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
Thank RachelBerdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Our family spent yet another summer week at Beauview and we have already booked not one but 2 weeks next summer!

There aren't many places like Beauview, not just for its beautiful and relaxing location and clean and well-maintained cottages - the best "feature" that Beauview has going for it are the owners, Gord and Nancy, who every single time, go way over and above what is expected to make their guests' experience the best possible. Continued improvement efforts are obvious - for example, there was a brand new barbeque and a new flat screen TV in our cottage and there were new climbing structures on the water for guests to enjoy.

Our week in Beauview was just what we needed to re-charge our batteries and we can't wait to go back next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This is a perfect cottage vacation place. Been there for a long weekend vacation. Cottage is clean and good condition. Area is beautiful, quite and relaxing. Will come back for more in coming years.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egria2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Our family has been long time visitors to Beauview, both summer and winter. The location is great, and the hosts Gord & Nancy go that extra mile to make sure your time spent at Beauview is the best. I have stayed at many different locations across Muskoka, and none can match the experience at Beauview.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonDawydko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We have been to Beauview twice and this summer (2011) will be our third. We wish we had heard about Beauview earlier, since our every stay has been wonderful. Yes, some cottages are not super modern, but none of this matters - the location, peace and quiet and utter relaxation, but most of all - Gord and Nancy, make this small family cottage resort feel like home.

Just to mention a few examples: we needed a pot for cooking pasta - within minutes Gord comes back with 3 brand new pots for me to choose from. Gord recommended mosquito patches and even gave us a few samples - not a single bite and I always get eaten alive. You want a boat ride on the lake - Gord is ready to take you. Anything you may need or want to make your stay comfortable - Gord and Nancy will go out of their way to provide.

The location is excellent - quiet, only 6 cottages and a great family feel make this little resort the best we have ever been to. The cottages are super clean and well stocked with dishes, pots, etc. Every cottage has a hot tub - we've used ours daily. Another thing worth mentioning is the cleanliness. We have rented cottages before, and Beauview cottages are the cleanest we've ever stayed in.

There is only one thing to say to conclude this review - Thank you Gord and Nancy and keep up the good work! We will be back and will always warmly recommend Beauview.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tireless_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Travelled here in December. 2 families of 2 adults 2 younger children in 2 cottages.

The positives. The location is spectacular. Playing boot hockey on the lake whilst the sun sets with a glow the distance. Making your own toboggan run in the fresh snow. Something that for the most part is very tricky to do here in Oz. Wonderful. In the middle of winter it is certainly peaceful. Only a few people on site during our stay. Driving through roads with the snow on the ground and deer bouncing along beside the road (and sometimes on it!!).

There are things such as the boot hockey equipment, snow shoes and toboggans which are left around the cottages for general use. We found this to be a great idea and the kids enjoyed being able to grab and do something.

As noted in many reviews “Gord” certainly is a pleasant host who goes that little bit extra to keep the place running. We had need to call on him to fix a few things for us and they were done quickly and without fuss. We also needed a bit of help with some chores and again Gord was more than happy to assist.

There are a couple of nearby ski runs. From our point of view both offer fabulous value (compared to Oz not sure about Canada). My wife and daughter went for a ski after opening presents on Xmas Day - certainly won’t be many of our friends who have done that. Tick that one off the list. There is a tubing hill not too far away which was good fun too.

Negatives. The cottages we stayed in were, shall we say, functional - just. This was our first trip to the lakes area and maybe this is standard but we were expecting a lot more from the accommodation itself. The cottages were a bit more basic than we expected. To be honest the one we stayed in really did need a complete overhaul. The other family we travelled with had a cottage of a slightly higher standard but still some of the design elements left a lot to be desired. You could tell you were in a small personally run cottage resort where repairs and maintenance are probably completed in the “when we have enough money” timeframe. An example would be the old fridge positioned against the wall directly behind the head of the main bed which decided to run for long periods of time and when running made a tremendous noise which did impact on sleep during the night and the peace and quiet of the day.

Nearby Huntsville itself is a pleasant enough place to explore. A picturesque bridge over the river. A few local shops of interest. We did seek solace from the biting cold at a place called “Mill on Main” (I think) which had recently opened and provided some much better than expected food and drink. As can be the case we did not expect much and so our expectations were far exceeded.

We also had to visit Deerhurst which recently held the G8 to get picked up for a trip dog sledding. Whilst seeming very refined it did seem a bit like any other large hotel/resort type place. You could have been pretty much any major hotel chain in the world. The cottages certainly gave us a more Canadian experience.

So to the question, would I go back? If I was passing through this way again in the summer then maybe as you wouldn’t be quite so dependent on the cottage. Winter I am sorry to say but no I don’t think I would - it was just a bit too in need of updating for us.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Essexboy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeofbaysguy, Owner at Beauview Cottage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about the Beauview Cottage Resort. We continue to upgrade our cottages each year. Last year we put new vinyl flooring and a new gas BBQ grill in the cottage you stayed in. The wireless internet system has been upgraded to a commercial grade system that will accommodate all our guests. Some of the improvements for this year are: replacing the vinyl flooring in 2 more of the cottages, replacing some of the mattresses with memory foam mattresses, replacing more of the BBQ grills, and converting some of our 27 inch TVs to 32 inch flat screen LCD TVs . We hope you'll return to Beauview and see improvements each time you visit. - Gord and Nancy Bell, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
10.3 mi away
Colonial Bay Cottage Resort
Colonial Bay Cottage Resort
#3 of 7 in Huntsville
79 reviews
10 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
509 reviews
9.5 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
191 reviews
8.4 mi away
Pine Lodge Inn
Pine Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
127 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beauview Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beauview Cottage Resort

Address: 4215 South Portage Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Huntsville
Price Range: $220 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Stars Canada Select. Resorts of Ontario member. A small, quiet, friendly, unpretentious, cottage resort with six cottages on Lake of Bays, near Huntsville Muskoka, Ontario. Close to Algonquin Park. The cottages have kitchen, 3 or 4 piece baths, satellite TV, gas fireplace, A/C, wireless internet. Some have outdoor personal hot tubs. Canoes, water trampoline, kayaks, playground. Winter: snowshoes available to borrow, snowtubing, skiing, snowmobiling nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beauview Cottage Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing