We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location special - Cottage not so”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beauview Cottage Resort
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Location special - Cottage not so”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Travelled here in December. 2 families of 2 adults 2 younger children in 2 cottages.

The positives. The location is spectacular. Playing boot hockey on the lake whilst the sun sets with a glow the distance. Making your own toboggan run in the fresh snow. Something that for the most part is very tricky to do here in Oz. Wonderful. In the middle of winter it is certainly peaceful. Only a few people on site during our stay. Driving through roads with the snow on the ground and deer bouncing along beside the road (and sometimes on it!!).

There are things such as the boot hockey equipment, snow shoes and toboggans which are left around the cottages for general use. We found this to be a great idea and the kids enjoyed being able to grab and do something.

As noted in many reviews “Gord” certainly is a pleasant host who goes that little bit extra to keep the place running. We had need to call on him to fix a few things for us and they were done quickly and without fuss. We also needed a bit of help with some chores and again Gord was more than happy to assist.

There are a couple of nearby ski runs. From our point of view both offer fabulous value (compared to Oz not sure about Canada). My wife and daughter went for a ski after opening presents on Xmas Day - certainly won’t be many of our friends who have done that. Tick that one off the list. There is a tubing hill not too far away which was good fun too.

Negatives. The cottages we stayed in were, shall we say, functional - just. This was our first trip to the lakes area and maybe this is standard but we were expecting a lot more from the accommodation itself. The cottages were a bit more basic than we expected. To be honest the one we stayed in really did need a complete overhaul. The other family we travelled with had a cottage of a slightly higher standard but still some of the design elements left a lot to be desired. You could tell you were in a small personally run cottage resort where repairs and maintenance are probably completed in the “when we have enough money” timeframe. An example would be the old fridge positioned against the wall directly behind the head of the main bed which decided to run for long periods of time and when running made a tremendous noise which did impact on sleep during the night and the peace and quiet of the day.

Nearby Huntsville itself is a pleasant enough place to explore. A picturesque bridge over the river. A few local shops of interest. We did seek solace from the biting cold at a place called “Mill on Main” (I think) which had recently opened and provided some much better than expected food and drink. As can be the case we did not expect much and so our expectations were far exceeded.

We also had to visit Deerhurst which recently held the G8 to get picked up for a trip dog sledding. Whilst seeming very refined it did seem a bit like any other large hotel/resort type place. You could have been pretty much any major hotel chain in the world. The cottages certainly gave us a more Canadian experience.

So to the question, would I go back? If I was passing through this way again in the summer then maybe as you wouldn’t be quite so dependent on the cottage. Winter I am sorry to say but no I don’t think I would - it was just a bit too in need of updating for us.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Essexboy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeofbaysguy, Owner at Beauview Cottage Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about the Beauview Cottage Resort. We continue to upgrade our cottages each year. Last year we put new vinyl flooring and a new gas BBQ grill in the cottage you stayed in. The wireless internet system has been upgraded to a commercial grade system that will accommodate all our guests. Some of the improvements for this year are: replacing the vinyl flooring in 2 more of the cottages, replacing some of the mattresses with memory foam mattresses, replacing more of the BBQ grills, and converting some of our 27 inch TVs to 32 inch flat screen LCD TVs . We hope you'll return to Beauview and see improvements each time you visit. - Gord and Nancy Bell, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2011

The moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice in staying at Beauview Resort. From all the little extras to the wonderful hospitality, we couldn't have asked for more. The grounds were well lit and the pathways cleared of snow. The location of the resort was the perfect distance to all the activities we wanted to do - from dog sledding to snowshoeing to cross country skiing. The nights were so peaceful - sitting in the hot tub looking at the stars. Our cabin was clean and all we had to bring was our food - kitchen and bathroom were well stocked with supplies.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suefrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. agatha, ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2010

It was our mother/daughter weekend getaway. Gord and Nancy provided a heartwarming welcome. A combination of the wonderful little cabin, hot tub and serene surroundings provided the perfect remedy for a mother/daughter getaway. Thank you Gord and Nancy. Look forward to seeing you next year. Cornelia & Tasha

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckucner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2010

This is as good as it gets if you're searching for peace and quiet in the Muskoka region. We've stayed at a few places in the area and Beauview gets our vote as the best.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UltraTriathlete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Very clean, modern and comfortable cottage in a beautiful setting, with excellent water facilities and close to all the local attractions. All the amenities were included; we couldn't think of a thing that wasn't provided. Our hosts were very friendly and went the extra mile to be helpful. An excellent vacation in the heart of the Muskokas. We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2010

This place is just pefect for everyone. The hosts are great. Myself and my husband were very happy with our 1st cottage experience and would definitely wanna visit again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tolady14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed at Beauview Resort in Cottage no. 4 in October and arrived to a warm fire and a very warm welcome. The area is stunning in the fall and the cottage just 25mins from the beautiful Algonquin Park - which we visited most days. We originally booked for 6 days but extended by another 2 as we liked it so much and there is loads to do in the area. The owners, Gord and Nancy, were SO helpful and went out of their way to assist us - even giving us lifts to and from the car hire in Huntsville. The cottage had great views of the Lake of Bays, was really well equipped and we loved heading straight to the hot-tub straight after a hike in the Park. Cheaper than the lodges in the Algonquin Park itself and great people..we thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtterSpotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
24.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
9.5 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
447 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colonial Bay Cottage Resort
Colonial Bay Cottage Resort
#3 of 7 in Huntsville
65 reviews
12.5 mi away
Tulip Inn
Tulip Inn
#10 of 18 in Huntsville
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beauview Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beauview Cottage Resort

Property: Beauview Cottage Resort
Address: 4215 South Portage Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Stars Canada Select. Resorts of Ontario member. A small, quiet, friendly, unpretentious, cottage resort with six cottages on Lake of Bays, near Huntsville Muskoka, Ontario. Close to Algonquin Park. The cottages have kitchen, 3 or 4 piece baths, satellite TV, gas fireplace, A/C, wireless internet. Some have outdoor personal hot tubs. Canoes, water trampoline, kayaks, playground. Winter: snowshoes available to borrow, snowtubing, skiing, snowmobiling nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beauview Cottage Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing