We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantic weekend of my life.”
Review of Walker Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walker Lake Resort
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most romantic weekend of my life.”
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I went to the Walker Lake Resort with my boyfriend who has been travelling the world for over 4 years. He's from England and he wanted to end his one year stay in Canada with something he'd never seen or done before. I found out about the cottages at Walker Lake from a buddy of mine who'd taken his fiance there a few months prior and raved about it. The owner or manager of the resort, Les, was really friendly and answered all of my questions with pleasure. When we booked, he even made reservatoins for us at his restaurant which was right there on the property. i so thrilled to say that I haven't had that much fun mixed with pleasure, relaxation, beauty, and romance in one weekend in all of my life. We stayed in "The Maple" cottage. It was roomy and cozy and had a real rustic feel to it. The kitchen was so elegant. It had a beautiful stove with cute wooden table and chairs. There was also an old fashioned gas stove/fireplace. My boyfriend and I sat in front of the fire playing cards all night long. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and we listened to music while relaxing in it after the most extraordinary French cuisine i have ever had. If you don't book a cottage, be sure to go to The Norsemen Restaurant. I couldn't have asked for anything better than sitting on a beautiful deck sipping wine while watching the lake as the sun went down. Not to mention feasting on the most succulent duck confit I have ever tasted. Over the weekend we cayaked, canoed, took the motorized dock into the middle of the lake and had a picnic, went on a hike, and roasted marshmallows over the fire pit in front of the lake. My boyfriend was eccstatic that he got to see a loon, and a deer. Anyway, I just wanted to let everyone know how fabulous my experience was. I am arranging to go back in the winter for a little girls retreat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo_Duguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norsemen, Owner at Walker Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear Jo_Duguay,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the Walker Lake Resort and the Norsemen Restaurant.

We're glad you liked the cozy and rustic feel of the Maple cottage and enjoyed relaxing in the Jacuzzi tub and in front of the wood stove. We're also happy you enjoyed your dinner and view of the lake and sunset at the Norsemen Restaurant.

It's great that your boyfriend got to see a loon and a deer at the resort.

We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon on another visit.

Best regards,

Les Gayne
Owner
Walker Lake Resort
Huntsville, Ont.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Walker Lake Resort is the ideal location to get away from it all and enjoy nature at its best.
There are seven cottages overlooking the lake, all are comfortable and adequately equiped and reasonably private.
Suzi and Les, the owners are always friendly and helpful.
The Lake itself is pristine, perfect for swimming, snorkling , kayaking, canoeing. The new large main dock is great to swim from and sunbathe on. There is also a small sandy beach suitable for children.
The cottagers have the use of kayaks, canoes, a paddle boat,
small motor boat and a large motorized raft. There is a large water trampoline near the dock.
The lake is crystal clear and almost always calm, full of smallmouth bass average size 12 to 14 inches with a few bigger ones to be found. There are also Lake Trout for the spring and fall.
The lake has few motor boats and a 12 kilometer speed limit which
keeps it peaceful and safe.
The resort is well located 15 minutes from Huntsville and half an hour to Algonquin park.
This is a beautiful location to enjoy all the magic of Muskoka
which is why we continue to make it our annual vacation destination.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom181747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The Location of this Resort is perfect. A serene crystal clear lake.
There are seven cottages all close to the water. The Cottages are comfortable on nice locations overlooking the lake, with barbecues and all nessesary appliances. Suzi and Les, the owners are always
friendly and helpful. The Lake is pristine ,almost always calm,
Great for swimming, snorkling and kayak/canoeing
The Lake is full of smallmouth bass 12"to 15" with a few bigger ones to be found. There is also Laketrout for spring and fall
There are very few boats and the speed limit is 12km
which keeps the lake quiet, safe and relaxing.
The resort has a nice new large main dock to swim from or sunbathe. There are kayaks,canoes,paddle boat,a small motor boat,
and a large motorized floating dock for the cottagers use.
Also a large water trampoline and a small sandy beach suitable for children.
It is conveniently located 15 min from Huntsville and 30 min to
Algonquin park.
This is a true Muskoka gem which will continue to be our annual
vacation destination.

fr

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom181747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I can only guess that the relatively new owners of this "resort" are in over their heads. When we arrived after a very long drive, the owner, Les, demanded that I pay in full the remaining balance before checking in. I realized after that he might have thought that I would run away after I saw the cottage, so best to get the money in advance. Once he had the money he disappeared to get wine for some restauarant guests so I was left just standing there for a long time until he could show me to the cottage.

The cottage (Maple) was described as rustic, but it was worse than rustic. It obviously had not been cleaned thoroughly in a long time - mouse droppings in the kitchen cabinets; old slippers and toys in the sofa cushions; strong smell of mildew and mold in the living room furniture; a build-up of dirt under the bathroom sink. The jacuzzi tub was a complete joke and we were too afraid to use it. It was encased in peeling wood grain Contact paper and the fake tile tub surround looked to be falling apart. Strong bare light bulbs glared down from the wall. We opted for showers even though the shower head only had one "needle torture" setting. The extra bedroom with bunkbeds was really scary: the wall was open to provide easy access to the jacuzzi motor; the bunk beds were held together with extra nailed-in strips of wood; there was no way to turn the light on and off without unplugging it ; no ladder to the top bunk. Not really appropriate for kids and the owner does not want adults to use it since the bunk beds "cannot take much weight". The cottage was supposed to have a private dock but it was actually shared with another cottage. To add to the overall charm, there was a planter of dead plants just by the entrance to the cottage.

We ate in the restaurant one evening. The food was okay but a bit overpriced for the quality - about $50 per person with wine and appetizer but no dessert. The fact that a mouse spent the entire evening charging at our table was a bit of a turn off. We could see the mouse nest by the fireplace and if anyone had vacuumed the dining room lately, the nest would have been obvious to him/her as well.

The lake is adorable with not many motorized boats and no jetskis. The resort has about 5 canoes in varying states of disrepair. It was really hard to find one that had two seats since most of the seats were either broken or missing. All the canoes were heavily patched. And there were only two paddles available - both child-size. There is a small motor boat that can be used for fishing. The motor was not working (water in the gas line) one day, so Les worked on it for some time and got it running. He decided to leave it running full throttle with a full tank of gas all afternoon while he went off and ran errands. No one could use the docks because the noise was deafening. Finally we went over and turned down the engine so that the guests could actually use the lake front that afternoon! Les did not return until later in the afternoon.

My final comment is that it is totally inappropriate for an owner to come into a guest's cabin without permission unless it is an emergency. We were sitting on the dock - in full view of the cottage - and saw Les come into our cottage. He wandered around and then came out. He offered no explanation for his actions. Very disconcerting.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BostonNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norsemen, Owner at Walker Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear BostonNix,

Thank you for taking the time to bring to our attention the problems you experienced. Your comments have been of great value and we have taken the necessary measures to avoid the occurrence of similar situations in the future.

We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. Had we known of any of your concerns either at the start of your stay or anytime during your stay, we would have gladly done what it took to make you happy, as we pride ourselves on going to great lengths to satisfy our guests.

Regarding the condition of the cottage, we have reviewed your comments with the cleaners and have instituted more detailed checklists to ensure all the aspects you mentioned are checked and taken care of immediately.

In response to my going into the cottage, as I explained at the time the person who actually booked the cottage told me they enjoyed their stay but had to go home early for a family reason. I understood that to mean that the whole party had left, and went into the cottage to begin the clean up process. Obviously this was my mistake and will ensure it doesn't happen in the future.

Allow me to offer my most sincere apologies for the problems you encountered during your stay. Again, we appreciate your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Les Gayne
Owner
Walker Lake Resort
Huntsville, Ont.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We had heard from friends about this wonderful resort and restaurant in Huntsville and booked a weekend trip there. We were not disappointed! Our cottage was lovely and was winterized and spotless and cozy. It is so peaceful and lovely there. We had dinner on the Saturday night at the on site restaurant, the Norseman, and it was fabulous. We enjoyed every morsel and the service and ambience was excellent. No complaints!!

We can't wait to go back to the Norseman and will tell all our friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2010

After having planned a surprise birthday party for my wife with about 25 friends, I wasn't sure what to expect. Sure I had talked with the owner and seen the pics, but you never know until you arrive. To say that it exceeded expectations was a complete understatement. The grounds were lovely, the view was so tranquil and calm, and the owner and staff were fantastic. We went during a wine tasting dinner, and it was sublime! Plenty of great wines, paired with lovely foods and cheeses, it was something to remember. We rolled out of the dining room filled with great food and contentness in our bellies, and memories we shall never forget.
This is absolute hidden gem worth taking advantage of. Of the 27 or so people we went with, its safe to say we plan on making this our little getaway over the years to come.

Excellent!
Nick

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pillowmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2010

My boyfriend and I had been looking for a nice, quiet romantic winter getaway, and I came across the Walker Lake Resort from a Google search. The rates on their website looked promising, and the thought of being in our own fairly secluded cabin was very enticing.

We booked the Maple cottage for a week as it was a little cheaper than the other cabins, and we didn't need too much space for just the two of us. The morning of the day we were to drive up to Huntsville, however, a family member fell ill, and we had to postpone our trip by one day. We decided we would just write off one of the days of our vacation, but after getting in touch with the Walker Lake hosts, they offered to put us in the much larger Spruce cottage at the same low rate as the Maple cottage! It had also been quite cold the last little while and unlike the Maple cottage, the Spruce has both a wood stove and electrical heating, and our hosts wanted to make sure we would be warm enough. They also did not charge us for the night we would now be missing, and were happy to have us stay one extra day even though that would take us into the weekend when usually their rate goes up.

We finally arrived at our cottage the next evening and settled into our very spacious and clean cottage. The next few days were spent relaxing with a book by the big living room window, occasionally looking out to see any wildlife on the lake, having a snowball fight or making snow angels just outside the cabin, or taking a million beautiful nature photos as there is plenty of inspiration here. We also took the short drive to Arrowhead Provincial Park one day to hit their cross-country ski trails.

My only complaint was the sulfur-like smell that lingered in the bathroom, but this was mostly masked by a Glade Plug-In, and the smell did not venture into anywhere else in the cabin.

We did also miss out on the Norseman Restaurant as we happened to be there right after the holidays when they are closed for a week. This just means we will have to come back when they are open!

Overall, if you are looking for a quiet, cozy, private, no fuss getaway on a budget, the Walker Lake Resort is the place to go!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purple_Ura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
471 reviews
3.1 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3,000 reviews
6.4 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Lake Resort

Property: Walker Lake Resort
Address: Rr4 1040 Walker Lake Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Walker Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing all-season family resort nestled in the woods on Walker Lake in Muskoka, just 15 minutes from Huntsville, Algonquin Park, major resorts and golf. Seven lakefront cottages offer privacy and great views of the lake, some with Jacuzzi tubs and wood stoves. Sandy beach, swimming, fishing, canoeing, kayaking, water trampoline, stand up paddle boards. One, two and three bedroom cottages have kitchens, bathroom, living room, outdoor deck, bbq and free internet. Enjoy the haunting call of the loon and the tranquil quiet.Walker Lake Resort is a great choice for a skiing, snowshoeing and snowmobiling in the winter. We are only 20 min from Algonquin Park and Arrowhead Provincial Park, both beautiful places for cross country skiing with groomed trails. We are less than 10 minutes from downhill at Hidden Valley. We're only two minutes by snowmobile to Trails 77 & 78 near D101B and D102B in the Algonquin Snowmobile Region. From here you can get virtually anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Walker Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walker Lake Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing