We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“snowmobiling getaway”
Review of Walker Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walker Lake Resort
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed March 20, 2013

he norseman resort is truly a great find. If you want peace and quiet in a rustic atmosphere, look no further. From the time we booked to arriving we were not disappointed. We were booked for the maple cottage, but because the spruce cabin was available, Les the owner upgraded us. Thank you for that Les. He met me the next morning to give me a snowmobile trail map and explain the area. We came as a family of four and we all enjoyed the clean cabin with our own rooms, the wildlife and our snowmobile excursions. Although we didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant it has a nice cozy, "day gone by" feel with a nice stone fireplace in the centre. Can't wait to come back and see the property in the summer as the cottage is right on the lake. Thanks again Les and Sue for making us feel at home, this was a great family weekend getaway!

The Brock's
Woodstock , Ontario

Room Tip: Every cottage has a great view of Walker Lake! During our stay we watched from our large window as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnB19681968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norsemen, Owner at Walker Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

What a wonderful review. Thanks very much for taking the time to write it. We do our best to make sure our guests are comfortable and get to enjoy the peace and quiet of Walker Lake and the overall rustic atmostphere of our resort. We're glad you found the cabin clean and enjoyed the wildlife and your snowmobile excursions. Snowmobiling as a family with your kids is one of those rare winter delights that make great memories for the future. Believe it or not it's still snowing here and there are deer tracks everywhere.

Thanks also for your nice comments about our restaurant. Hopefully you'll get a chance to try it out in the summer. The fireplace won't be working then but the screened in porch overlooking the lake is a great place to relax over dinner while listening to the loons.

We look forward to you all coming back in the summer. The water trampoline and stand up paddle boards are a big hit with the kids (and parents too).

Best wishes for a great year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 75 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

We wanted to be close to the ski resort, Arrowhead and Algonquin Parks, and in a peaceful setting. The locaiton of Walker Lake did not disappoint. The layout of the Cedar cottage suited us perfectly. We are a family of four and the open plan area, wood stove and the floor to ceiling windows was lovely.

The linens and bedrooms were spotless, as was the kitchen and bathroom.

The owner was polite but utterly absent after his brief greeting. There is definitely a lack of TLC about the place with lots of minor repair work that had been overlooked (burn marks in the carpet, the ceiling fan and upper windows were really dirty, drywall patches that needed fixing in various places). We were given a deal to stay for 3 nights ($175 per night for 2 nights, $100 for the 3rd night), and we would have felt hard done by if we'd paid any more than this.

Overall we were very happy with the place and are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canuckistani_Hutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norsemen, Owner at Walker Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thanks very much for taking the time to write your great review. We're glad you found the location perfect and close to the ski resort and to Arrowhead and Algonquin Park. We're happy you found the kitchen, bathroom, linens and bedrooms spotless. We will make sure in our annual spring cleaning to clean the ceiling fan and upper windows and take care of the minor repair work you mentioned. Thanks for pointing them out.

We're glad that you were very happy overall with our place and that you are looking forward to returning next year. I enjoy meeting with all the guests and definitely look forward to spending more time with you next year than I had a chance to this time around.

We wish you a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a fantasic time....the snow coming down...white tail deer feeding out the front window..the fish were bitting 40 yards off the front deck on 8in of ice , book with Walker Lake Resort and you wont be disappionted at tall. were going back next winter.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brassmonkeybrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norsemen, Owner at Walker Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know what a fantastic time you had here. We're glad you got to meet some of our deer. In the winter we can see them walking across the lake onto our property. I guess they like to visit our guests. Also glad you got to try a bit of ice fishing on our frozen lake. We look forward to seeing you again next winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We traveled from Singapore in December to Walker Lake Resort on the recommendation of a friend for our Muskoka adventure. We were looking a rustic but clean cabin, peace and quiet, and easy access to the surrounding parks so we could hike and play in the snow. We were not disappointed! While most people vacation in Walker Lake Resort in summer, we would recommend this destination for anyone looking for a winter holiday, in your own private cabin warmed by the hot wood stove and picturesque view of the lake.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norsemen, Owner at Walker Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thanks very much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We really enjoyed meeting you and are glad your kids got a chance to build a super snowman. It charmed other guests for at least two weeks after you left until it melted. We hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Celebrated New Year's Eve 2012 with great friends - and met lots of new ones. What a fun night. We ate, drank, laughed, sang and danced! The live music was perfect! Great job Sean! The food was AMAZING! Check out the pictures below. What a treat - Chef David even came out and all the guests got to meet him. The Duo of Crab and Bay Scallops was like something I have never tasted before and the roast beef filet - yummy!! Didn't stay over - this time - will for sure be back. The scenery is beautiful in the winter - can't wait to see what it looks like when the snow melts! Thank you Les and Suzi - you have a fabulous spot! Can't wait to come back and visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband took me and our newborn son on a 2 day getaway to walker lake resort. We had an amazing time and got some much needed relaxing time. Les made sure we had everything we needed and was very hospitable. We enjoyed trying out the paddle boards and can't wait to come back next year with friends to babysit so my husband and I can paddle board together. We have decided this will now be a yearly getaway we go on. The food at the Norsemen was delicious and the service was fantastic. Our cottage was clean and had everything we needed and more. The jacuzzi was the perfect way to unwind with a glass of wine once the baby was asleep. I can't say enough good about this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelintravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norsemen, Owner at Walker Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thanks very much for your great review. We're glad you had an amazing time and got to relax together. We loved meeting your new son too. We think it's wonderful that some of his first experiences were the sights and sounds of nature at Walker Lake... the lake and trees and the birds at Walker Lake. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Our paddle boards and kayaks will be waiting for you. Thanks for letting us know the cottage was clean and had everything you needed. We do our best to make sure our guests have a relaxing time, get to unwind and can take home great memories of their time here. Thanks also for your nice comments about the food and service at our restaurant. Our cottage staff, chef and servers also read the reviews and appreciate your thoughtful comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were at the Norseman for a wedding weekend and stayed in the Maple cottage. The location can't be beat. All cottages are lakefront and the view is beautiful.

The cottage was fine. If you like rustic, all the better! It had electric heat and also a wood burning stove. It was perfectly clean. When I settled into bed I thought that the room/blankets smelled of smoke. I saw a few of the other cottages as well, which I thought were nicer than the Maple.

The wedding reception was in the main building and they did a terrific job. The food was all very good - biscuits, roasted squash soup, caesar salad, steak/mashed potatoes/veg and creme brulee.

I would recommend this resort, and I would go back.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank ComingFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norsemen, Owner at Walker Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thanks for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed the rustic atmosphere. We're sorry about the smoky blankets - we sent them out for dry cleaning after we read your comments. All of our cottages are a little different, some more rustic, some less. I'm happy to hear you would come back, we would certainly be happy to see you again.

We're especially glad you enjoyed the wedding reception, the food and the terrific job our people did. We go all out for our weddings and every single one of us does our best to make sure the wedding couple has the best wedding they could have imagined.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
505 reviews
3.1 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3,311 reviews
14.8 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Lake Resort

Address: Rr4 1040 Walker Lake Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: $227 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Walker Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing all-season family resort nestled in the woods on Walker Lake in Muskoka, just 15 minutes from Huntsville, Algonquin Park, major resorts and golf. Seven lakefront cottages offer privacy and great views of the lake, some with Jacuzzi tubs and wood stoves. Sandy beach, swimming, fishing, canoeing, kayaking, water trampoline, stand up paddle boards. One, two and three bedroom cottages have kitchens, bathroom, living room, outdoor deck, bbq and free internet. Enjoy the haunting call of the loon and the tranquil quiet.Walker Lake Resort is a great choice for a skiing, snowshoeing and snowmobiling in the winter. We are only 20 min from Algonquin Park and Arrowhead Provincial Park, both beautiful places for cross country skiing with groomed trails. We are less than 10 minutes from downhill at Hidden Valley. We're only two minutes by snowmobile to Trails 77 & 78 near D101B and D102B in the Algonquin Snowmobile Region. From here you can get virtually anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Walker Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walker Lake Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing