We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Condo with a marvelous view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Condo with a marvelous view”
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom condo in the Birchcliff Villa area of the resort. The location was awsome. We were on the second floor of a 3 floor building perched on a rock outcrop at the lake edge. We had a fantastic view of the lake from a huge patio door to a screened in porch. Our unit had 1 bedroom with spa tub in the bathroom; full kitchen; dining room and living area. Large brick log burning fireplace in the living room, as well as flat screen with surround sound and integrated sterio system. The suite was equipped with free Wifi which was "on again, off again" for the entire week. Resort amenities and available activities, even in winter are astounding. Indoor pool and hot tub; indoor tennis and squash courts; 2 of 4 restaurants open; free snow tubing, cross country skiing, skating and snow shoing. Pay as you play dog sledding, hayrides, and winter hummer treks. We had a great week and its just 10 minutes from town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malandgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    824
    621
    326
    163
See reviews for
1,191
843
22
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I just returned from a weekend at Deerhurst resort. We were looking forward to a relaxing time away from the city. Relaxing would not be a word I would use to describe our stay here...it was disappointing I'm sad to say.

Our plan: relax, use the spa, outdoor winter sports, enjoy a couple great meals...

Reality: 700 person girls hockey tournament, 2 swim teams, resort at 98% capacity (yes, I know, not their fault we chose the same weekend, right? But why wasn't it mentioned to us when we made the reservation? After telling the agent we were coming for a relaxing, spa getaway).

We were expecting an upscale, relaxing, Muskoka retreat. What we got was a ton of kids and their drunken hockey parents stumbling around the hotel with red plastic cups. The hotel staff booked us in the middle of a floor filled with hockey families that kept their doors open and let their kids run wild all night. We did approach the front desk about this both nights; they were understanding and sent security, although there was nothing they could actually do about it because we were the minority being a couple (what?). We asked to change rooms and there were no other rooms available in the entire resort. We understand that the resort caters to families, however since they also advertise as a destination for 'romantic' getaways, there has to be some responsibility on Deerhurst to let us know that they were hosting 700 ppl for a hockey tournament that weekend. Had we known ahead of time, we would not have gone (and saved the $1000 it cost us). It's difficult to imagine that the international leaders of the G8 were hosted here not long ago. Bet there wasn't a hockey tournament that weekend!

The spa is just okay. Staff were very nice, but the resort could learn from their 'upscale' spa competitors in Toronto or NOTL. The facilities could use an update, and they should revamp their system so that spa-goers (in my case, loud hockey moms) aren't waiting for their services in the change rooms. It's very difficult to relax when a huge sectional couch full of boisterous women is in the same small space (maybe 4m sq.) as the lockers, showers and steam room. I felt crowded, rushed, and there was no element of privacy or solitude (no policy on cellphones or noise in this spa, as far as i could tell).

+ We did enjoy the snowshoe trails and x-country skiing...and all the staff in the outdoor sports equipment area were absolutely great. Really nice guys.

+ Food was also good. We ate at Eclipse both nights, and one morning for breakfast. Pretty good wine list.

We had a good time regardless because we made the best of a bad situation, but we will not likely return. Its definitely suited for families and kids, not for young professionals/couples looking for a relaxing Muskoka getaway. If this is a target audience for Deerhurst, then they have some work to do.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toronto82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Public Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Toronto82: Our sincerest apologies that we didn't do a better job informing you about weekend events and taking care of you as a couple. Addressing Spa at Deerhurst atmosphere points you mention. (It is meant to be a quiet zone.) Have also sent you a direct message. Do hope we can invite you back to Deerhurst for the relaxing Muskoka getaway you planned. Meantime, thanks for the detailed review, food and sports/ staff compliments too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2011

This stay was a 50th anniversary gift for us from our family. It was one of the most relaxing stays I've experienced anywhere. The rooms are large,clean and very private. The food was beyond our expectations and at a price equal to what you would expect. The staff went out of their way to help in any way they could. We are already thinking of an excuse to return......

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Public Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Woody 339: Glad to hear you so enjoyed your anniversary gift stay at Deerhurst Resort. What a milestone, congratulations! And thanks for sharing that photo of Main St. in our charming town of Huntsville too. Soul Sistas, the cafe on the left, is a great downtown refreshment stop. Hope to see you back in our corner of Muskoka soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Our stay at Deerhurst was okay. We booked a Jr. one bedroom suite for the weekend which was fine for myself, my husband and our two year old. We were able to put him to bed in the bedroom while we stayed up and watched TV. The kitchette was very basic - not well stocked with utensils, mugs or plates. The room and bathroom could use some updating and maybe new couch cushions as ours had large stains on them. By biggest beef was the bed. Is it so hard to put a fitted sheet on the bed? Our king size bed only had a flat sheet on the mattress and every time we turned throughout the night, the sheet would come undone from the corners and we'd get all wrapped up in it. It drove me crazy!! When I woke up in the morning (after a horrible sleep I should mention), I was sleeping just on the mattress as the sheet was all piled up in a ball in the middle of the bed.
The service wasn't exceptionally friendly either (for example at the sports desk). But I have to say our waitress Lindsay at the Maple Restaurant was great. She was so friendly and helpful.
We had fun in the pool but again, the pool area could use an update. The walls had large water stains on them and maybe a splash of colour would brighten up the room - not the drab yellow colour that it is now.
So all in all our stay was good, but not great. Maybe it's better in the summer....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Public Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
JEF123: Thanks for taking the time to write about your family weekend at Deerhurst. Our genuine regrets for your bedding/ sleep wrangle and the fact that our service overall was not as warm and personable as usual . Your sheet and missing kitchenette items comments have been addressed in detail with Housekeeping. I've also passed your compliment on to your Maple server, much appreciated! Deerhurst's indoor pool area is popular in winter, but it is freshened up during a quiet week each spring. Please do consider a return trip to our corner of Muskoka for another family break. Summer features include a waterfront inflatable splash zone, kids' petting zoo at the Stables and much more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We were looking for something different and relaxing for Christmas this year, and we found it at Deerhurst. We arrived on Christmas Eve and stayed till Boxing Day, leaving refreshed and very well-fed. We were looking for nature, so we booked a Lakeside Room (which happened to be on sale 25% off), and although the building was obviously about 30 years old, the room was well-appointed and the sunrise view over the snow-covered lake was breathtaking. The main building is newer and very nice to visit, but we were happy to walk 5-10 minutes back to the lake to escape the crowds and have some quiet time together. We enjoyed snow-shoeing, skating, and hiking, (just a few of the many activities available), and stuffed ourselves at the varied and delicious Christmas Eve, Christmas Day Brunch, and Christmas Night buffets. We also enjoyed our choices from the wine list, which is extensive. The staff, for the most part, was very pleasant, which was nice considering they were working over Christmas! Our only complaints were that the floor in our room was perpetually cold, probably because of the building's age, and that the reserved seating for the restaurant seemed somewhat disorganized. All in all, it was a nice little visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uberscheduler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
312 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

i stayed here for business on a tuesday night and everything about this place is great. This week they just happened to be doing maintenance and the pool and restaurants were closed but the rate of $99/night reflected that. The rooms are big and clean and they look after you if you need anything. Overall great place and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klein3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

I was at the hotel to attend a meeting that was sponsored by my employeer, They paid for the room. When I received my credit card statement it looked like they charged me for the room. I let my employer know and he made enquirees and was told the charge was for deconaminate the room from someone smoking in the room. I guess my wife did while I was away. The thing that is upsetting is that I was not told of this charge when I arrived. It was almost 300 dollars. We were in the room less than 16 hours. Needless to say I will not be going back any time soon.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank occtravelerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
166 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Muskoka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
447 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
164 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tulip Inn
Tulip Inn
#10 of 18 in Huntsville
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Property: Deerhurst Resort
Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, ATV tours and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing