We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
7friends2015
Niagara Falls, Canada

Disappointing

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 27, 2019
Positives - staff especially Catherine at reception, Marge at breakfast - location and surroundings - beds
Negatives - terrible toilets, too low, no safety bars in shower, noisy, sound travels from lobby to upper levels, very tired rooms and where was the luxury?
Date of stay: October 2019
Room Tip: Top floor may be quieter
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMJesseHamilton, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review
Responded Nov 8, 2019
Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry to read that the accommodation did not meet your expectations but I am glad that you did find our staff agreeable as well as the beds in our guest room. Deerhurst Resort does offer rooms that are fully accessible and available to all our guest at point of reservation. I apologize that during the reservation process that our team did not identify your needs clearly in order to reserve a more accommodating suite.

Kind regards,

Jesse Hamilton
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$149
$127
  • Tripadvisor
    $127
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $127
3.6 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
$139
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.6 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$149
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $132
  • Expedia.com
    $165
1.0 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$164
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    $165
  • Expedia.com
    $164
1.7 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$141
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $141
  • Home2
  • Hotels.com
4.5 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
$289
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $289
  • Skyscanner.com
    $216
  • Booking.com
    $254
11.9 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$95
$89
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $95
  • eDreams
4.9 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $147
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.8 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $80
  • Official Site
    $88
4.8 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Huntsville
Reviews (5,129)
Filter reviews
5,130 results
Traveler rating
1,467
1,406
1,175
673
409
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,467
1,406
1,175
673
409
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building summit lodge bedroom condo maple restaurant rock climbing golf course march break dog sledding outdoor activities indoor pool cross country skiing beautiful resort winter activities family vacation water activities recommend this resort long weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,082 - 1,087 of 5,130 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2019

Overnight with a friend looking to buy a cottage in the area and we took her dog. This resort is supposed to be pet-friendly. Not only is it NOT pet friendly-it isn’t friendly at all!
Numerous things to note-$50 per night pet cleaning fee. Dog not allowed anywhere except lobby. The guests with dogs are relegated to one area of resort that looks onto the parking lot. No lake view or gardens. 15 min walk to even see the lake! Wanted to order room service for our dinner because we had the dog (obviously can’t go in restaurant with dog) however there is no room service. Order and pick up food to take to your room. Wanted a cocktail -no dog allowed in bar-so let’s take it to our room -not allowed to do that either! Have a drink sit in lobby with dog. Really!?? You can’t take a drink that you purchase back to your room?? I have never encountered this in all my world travels. And there was a pub crawl with all kinds of guests walking around with drinks in their hands!! Give me a break! Asked to have proper cutlery for our $51steak—- got the cutlery, dinner in a styrofoam container-no dinner plate for us! Only the 1 restaurant was open so not much choice to order from, but $51 for a steak and 18$ for a lame ass Caesar salad that was the size of a sandwich-wow!
So relegated to our room, went to order a movie-tv not working -that was resolved quick enough but honestly added to the disappointment of this stay. And it was $26.95 to order a movie!
Would I recommend-NO
Would I ever return?-you couldn’t pay me to come here again!!
Overpriced-no service -so ticked off I could keep going!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank loveroftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMJesseHamilton, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2019

We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Each one of our guest’s comments is investigated, since they are an opportunity of improvement of our services. I understand that Erica de Vries, our Administration Manager has reached out to you directly for further information so we can investigate your concerns with our team.

Kind Regards,

Jesse Hamilton
General Manager Deerhurst Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2019

Recently stayed for 2 nights with my wife and 2 yr old son. Our stay started a bit rocky but it ended pretty well all things considered. Once I lowered my expectations and stopped thinking about value, I was able to enjoy it more.

Check In:
-Wasn't smooth. Stayed on the 3rd floor in one of the Summit Lodge buildings which is not accessible so it was difficult getting stuff to and from the room (including stroller). Luckily a staff member was nearby and offered to help. I guess I'm spoiled living in Toronto where a lot of buildings are accessible. Had to leave the stroller in the car which made getting around the resort a bit challenging with my son.

-The crib (pack and play) that I requested wasn't ready which was not a big deal but had to call a couple of times to get it sent to the room before bedtime.

-When calling reception there was often no answer. I get that it's check in time but I think someone should be manning the phones or at least have a forwarding service especially during check in.

Summary: None of this was a huge deal but it was annoying as I was expecting a higher level of service.

Room:
-The room was tidy but not clean. The toilet paper had brown marks on it (eww) which indicated that things were not checked or cleaned properly. This kind of thing is similar to finding a brown spot on a towel.

-There is no safe which was surprising as I thought this was a standard feature at resorts where most people stay for more than 1-2 nights.

-Kitchenette was decent and everything worked properly.

-Housekeeping never came, left a note or even called to see if we wanted new towels or our linens turned over. A lot of hotel chains offer this kind of service if your room can't be serviced.
Summary: This hotel does not pay attention to details.

Activities/Grounds
-Lots of activities - not much for toddlers but more for older children

-Maple pub was good with a nice patio overlooking the grounds and lake

-Petting farm was fun for my son - a 15 min walk or you can get a ride from their shuttle service

-Outdoor pool - not too crowded, would be nice if they had a splash pad for little ones

-Trail was cool - not too difficult but a nice trek just off the main property

-Art gallery near the restaurant was nice - had a lot of "group of seven-ish" art if you're into that

Conclusion: I'm not sure if I'd come back especially paying almost $500/night. The value just isn't there. I might give it another try when my son is a bit older but I think renting a cottage is a much better option.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Real416
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMJesseHamilton, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2019

Thank you for posting a review. Your comments are important to us. Please know that I will take all your feedback and review this with our team. Deerhurst Resort strives to ensure that each guest enjoys their stay. While we recognize that doesn’t change your experience, we do want you to know we are actively working towards ensuring all our offerings meet guest expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Kind regards,

Jesse Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2019

Arrived for one night stay. Room was large and had 2 queen beds very comfy.Tried to connect to Internet but had problem as they had one internet network for the hotel reception and one network for the rooms area and it was very slow disappointing. Pool is very large but the pool walls around the water level were visibly very dirty. The vent in the bathroom was clogged with dust and dirt no wonder the exhaust did not work properly.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaMyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMJesseHamilton, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2019

Thank you for posting a review. Our goal is to ensure everyone has an enjoyable stay with us. Resort cleanliness is a priority, and we apologize that you had concerns with the pool area - the situation you describe is not to our standard. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope you will return to Deerhurst Resort again soon.

Kind Regards,

Jesse Hamilton
General Manager Deerhurst Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2019

We were looking at booking a couples resort in Whitney close to Deerhurst because they had private hot tubs with the rooms. After reading the reviews about it being dated and not worth the money we decided on Deerhurst. The atmosphere is nice and the scenery. When I booked the Lakeside suit the lady on the phone told me we would have access to outside hot tub. So we paid the extra when we got here it was closed. This was disappointing as it was our first night away from our baby and both of us were looking forward to relaxing in a hot tub. We would not have booked knowing that. We went to see the one in the main pavilion but it was loaded with kids and smaller then my bath tub. When we go in the room the air conditioning was on full blast it was freezing and took forever to warm up. Not so inviting. The fireplace was not working the place was not my standard of clean and the dishwasher was full of dishes. The bed in the new resort Lakeside are hard as rocks and I slept less here then I do at home with a baby. I would recommend staying with small children but in the main area as the lakeside are not work the extra.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Wright_chantelle1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JesseHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2019

Wright_chantelle1984, Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback. On behalf of our team, I sincerely apologize for the service inconsistencies you experienced in regards to the pool closure and the cleanliness of the room upon your arrival. I assure you this is not the level of service Deerhurst Resort is known to provide.

Our pools are open based on weather conditions in which we had expected our outdoor areas to be open; however we have had unseasonably cold temperatures.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future to ensure you leave with a more positive impression.

Regards,
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2019 via mobile

Stayed in Oakview... had to call about blood stained shower curtain and blob of hair left in shower and lack of dish towels and full dishwasher. They addressed everything but the blob of hair and dishwasher. Then kept awake second night with a constant pulsating noise like a fan left on which we couldn’t locate and felt it may be coming from the upstairs unit. We have stayed here before and felt it has gone down hill.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank mckellar827
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JesseHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2019

mckellar827, Thank you for sharing your experience. I sincerely apologize for the housekeeping concerns. I assure you the issue you experienced is indeed an exception and not in keeping with the normal servicing we are able to provide.

Each one of our guest’s comments is investigated, since they are an opportunity of improvement of our services. I understand that Erica de Vries, our Administration Manager has reached out to you directly for further information so we can investigate your concerns with our team.

I do hope this experience will not deter you from returning to our resort in the future. We remain hopeful that we will hear back from you to assist in the future.

Jesse Hamilton, General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews