We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kristina H
Carpentersville, Illinois

Great place

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 18, 2019via mobile
This resort I would visit again. It was like we were in our own apartment for the three days we stayed there. They had a fire place as well.

Beautiful views all around. They offer activities in the price. Rock climbing, the pool and hot tub, arcade. We were able to hangout on our balcony when it wasn’t raining.

We drove to trails that were nearby. You buy a permit for like 8 something that you can use all day. Get a map at the same time. It best to stay organized and on track. They have several different trails at Algonquin provincial park.

We did not do all of the trails. We did all the best ones. They were different in their own way, had different levels of difficulty. I think we did # 2,10,11,13,14,15.

Number 11 in different parts you can smell fresh pine. #10 definitely worth the view at the end. #14 we did not see beavers but good hike. #15 hands on interactive and a history lesson. Good for adults and children.

The resort hot tub was enjoyable to go into after hiking all day. Everything you can do is located in the main building. It stinks you have to drive or walk to it instead of it being in each building but it was nice. Spend a beautiful day hiking all day a rainy day doing the inside activities. Get your moneys worth.

In the eclipse room of the main building they offer a buffet breakfast for like 31 something. Offer a lot and you eat until your full or they have a $15 dollar breakfast. Other restaurants in the main building you can eat dinner at if you wish. Great resort for summer or fall.


Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JesseHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review
Responded Oct 23, 2019
Thank you for the 5 star review 708kristinah!

I am glad to see you appreciated our resort including Algonquin Park. Our region has everything you need to enjoy great Ontario outdoor adventure, culinary experiences, entertainment, arts, culture and more.

The next time you visit I recommend you take advantage of our ‘Stay Longer and Save’ rates so you can explore and experience our resort and Muskoka some more!

We look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$150
$127
  • Expedia.com
    $127
  • Hotels.com
    $127
  • Priceline
    $127
3.6 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
$139
  • Expedia.com
    $139
  • Tripadvisor
    $139
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$155
  • HIExpress.com
    $155
  • Algotels
    $151
  • Expedia.com
    $155
4.7 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$173
$147
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $147
  • Expedia.com
    $147
  • Priceline
    $147
4.8 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$149
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Agoda.com
    $142
  • Priceline
1.0 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$165
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $164
  • Expedia.com
    $164
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$141
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $141
  • Hotels.com
    $141
  • Priceline
    $141
4.5 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
$289
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $289
  • Skyscanner.com
    $216
  • Booking.com
    $254
11.9 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
exterior
$88
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $88
  • Agoda.com
    $80
  • Expedia.com
    $88
4.8 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
    $95
  • Agoda.com
    $89
  • Expedia.com
    $95
4.9 miles from Deerhurst Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Huntsville
Reviews (5,129)
Filter reviews
5,131 results
Traveler rating
1,467
1,406
1,176
673
409
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,467
1,406
1,176
673
409
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building summit lodge bedroom condo maple restaurant rock climbing golf course march break dog sledding outdoor activities indoor pool cross country skiing beautiful resort winter activities family vacation water activities recommend this resort long weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,090 - 1,095 of 5,131 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2019

First of all, this was my first visit, and I did have expectations, based on comments from friends who had stayed there years ago. Unfortunately, over time it would appear the service has declined, and my expectations were far from met.
This is supposed to be a luxury resort, and we stayed in the Summit Lodge 1 bedroom (room 102), with a fireplace and kitchenette.
The first thing of note was the entrance to bldg 52. There were numerous cigarette butts along the 30 foot path, and bits of paper and other debris. There was a sock and used coffee cups on full display in the parking lot in front of the building, and they stayed for the duration of the trip. It was obvious that the grounds were poorly maintained.
In the hallway were about 10 oversized bags containing the bedding from the previous night. They were still there when we departed. This was very unsightly, not to mention possibly unsanitary. The unit itself had that “cheap-motel-cleaning-fluid” smell when we entered, and we quickly opened the sliding door and all windows. Eventually (a couple of hours) the odour disappeared.
The room itself did look like the picture, but in person it revealed poor cleaning. There were rust stains around the base of the shower, and there was black mold in the shower on the grout between the tiles near the base. (see pics)
The kitchen sported a dishwasher – but no dishwasher soap! They had a great looking coffeemaker – but no coffee filters to put in it. I called guest services who said they’d send someone from guest services with filters immediately. Eventually (in about 30 to 40 minutes) they did send some, but I had already gone into the hall and found the housekeeper cleaning the room next door. He grabbed one filter for me from that unit’s supply.
I went to plug in the coffeemaker and realised it (or the toaster or the kettle) would have to sit on the stovetop to access the only outlet. Guess you can’t cook eggs and do toast at the same time? Poorly planned.
There were no toiletries in the bathroom (i.e no shampoo, conditioner, or other). There was 1 small bar of soap.
Also I was surprised to find the towels very stiff and rough to use, again giving that cheap motel feel.
At breakfast we sat near the window, and I again took note that the outer deck where there were a number of tables had not been swept in some time. I would guess maybe even a week? There were spiders on the windows and they had spun webs on the furniture, webs that had been there some time it seemed. Again, a lack of maintenance.
Overall, our stay reinforced the impression that a very good place was being let run down, probably because they are trying to increase the profitability by lowering staff expenses, and offering fewer amenities. Just another business that will slowly but surely lose the customer base they were fortunate to have inherited. Sad to see, indeed. If you are up to spending for luxury, your dollars will go much further elsewhere.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulking1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JesseHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2019

paulking1950, Thank you posting a review. I am sorry to read that the accommodation location did not meet your expectations and we were not more responsive when bringing your concerns to our attention.

As a valued guest and customer we do appreciate your opinion and I invite you to please email me directly so that we can follow-up with you at info@deerhurstresort.com to my attention.

Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019

Arrived early at 1:15 p.m. and asked if we could get into our room. (check in is at 4). They said they would and would text when the room was ready. Ended up getting into our room at 5:30 (an hour and a half AFTER regular check in). It does not take 4 and a half hours to get 1 room ready. NO EFFORT.

Left at 10 a.m. the next morning to go to Algonquin Park. Came back at 5:20 and they were just starting to clean the room. Had to wait until they were finished. Didn't replace towels, toilet paper, and left dirty glasses. They have a problem with managing their housekeeping staff.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JesseHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2019

Phil B, Thank you for sharing your most recent experience. We sincerely apologize for the delay at check in that you experienced during this busy fall season period. Despite bringing in additional housekeeping staff, the unusually high concentration of departures and arrivals that day meant missing our usual standard of having all rooms ready for our guests by 4pm. We’re very sorry for any inconvenience and want to assure you that this in indeed an exception to the normal service standards we strive to provide.

I do hope this experience will not deter you from returning to our resort in the future. We remain hopeful that we will hear back from you to assist in the future.

Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2019 via mobile

Grounds are beautiful!
I have stayed here number of times, always for work.

This is my first time staying in the main building. The “out buildings” are much nice in the rooms however the convenience of being in the main building is worth it. Still very nice, just older.

Food was a bit disappointing. Risotto cakes
were quite good. Chicken meal was just ok with very fatty chicken. The chicken wings were close to terrible. They probably would have been ok if we asked for Very well done.

Service was good.
Atmosphere in resort and restaurant is great and very relaxing.

Date of stay: October 2019
1  Thank C5608TMangelak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JesseHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2019

C5608TMangelak, Thank you for posting a review. I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon, maybe even to experience some of the many winter activities we have to offer. Your comments regarding your dining experience is important to us and on behalf of our Director of Food & Beverage, I apologize for the inconsistencies in service and food. We have shared with our culinary team to ensure more positive future experiences for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2019

We have stayed here many times. We always stay in the main building, so cannot speak to the accommodations on the rest of the property. Our room has always been amazing. Clean, quiet, well-maintained. We love the choice of four on-site restaurants, and our favourite is a fine meal at Antler Steakhouse. We also enjoy the Compass Bar for lighter food and cocktails. There is a small but decent exercise area, and a very nice pool area, with a hot tub. There are LOTS of activities on site, and close by, and Guest Services are great at helping you navigate these. There are also a couple of gorgeous golf courses. It is a large resort, but somehow we never feel crowded. Staff are super friendly and helpful!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaraFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JesseHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2019

MaraFromToronto, Thank you for posting a review and sharing your experience. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Your host,
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2019

We found the Deerhurst Resort accomodation rather basis - albeit fully functional.
Our room was in one of the Summit blocks. The suite had a kitchen and sitting area, but the bedroom layout was rather tight. The bathroom was very small, cramped and equipped with a small shower cubicle.
Breakfast options are a la carte of buffet. We opted for the former as this ensured provision of freshly made food.
We did not use the restaurant for any other dining.
The property offers conferencing facilities - but as a base for a vacation I would suggest thinking twice.
Not one of our favourites on this tour of Ontario.

Room tip: Not too sure if paying for a Lake View is worth it
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JesseHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2019

Michael S, We appreciate the time you have taken to share you feedback as we continue to monitor our customers' thoughts, comments and feedback in order to adjust our operations, invest in the property and communication. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with some aspects of your guestroom. Overall we have received very positive feedback for our junior suites; and I will be happy to share your comments with our management team.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near futures

Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews