We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place to go in the Spring”
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a place to go in the Spring”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I enjoy the beauty that Ontario has to offer. So we were excited to stay at Deerhurst. The entrance was breathtaking and the interior with the high ceilings felt like you were somewhere really magnificent. We stayed in one of the modern rooms, which was nice to look at… but not to sit on. The couches were uncomfortable and the bed was on the more firm side, which isn’t our preference. We loved the fireplace and the flat screen TV, and the side table. Unfortunately, it rained the entire time we were there so we weren’t able to do much. There was also a cheerleading competition going on so there were children everywhere which we normally don’t mind but they were literally EVERYWHERE – no peace and quiet. The restaurants were actually closed on the different nights we were there, so we had to eat at the same one each time. We like to try new places when we go but weren’t able to . We had a reservation at the spa but cancelled it because the rest of the trip was disappointing already, we didn’t want to spend extra money to be disappointed further. I am sure this place is better in the Summer or Winter when there is more to do, but not worth the money in the Spring.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for posting a review and the many compliments. We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with aspects of your stay.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future to ensure you leave with a more positive impression. Please contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com, should you wish to give us another try.

Future guests: We do recommend guests visit our website or contact us directly to learn about our facilities/amenities and offerings and make advance reservations to avoid disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    864
    648
    337
    168
See reviews for
1,250
871
22
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our three days and two nights stay at Deerhurst Resort. We really enjoyed the snow show trails, the hot tub and the friendly staff. Our room was spacious clean and comfortable. The facility is first class.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcolmMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review. We are pleased to read that you were impressed and enjoyed your winter vacation at Deerhurst Resort! We appreciate you taking time to post a review and will pass your feedback along to our team. We look forward to your return so you may relax and enjoy your leisure time and explore everything Muskoka has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and two young sons recently returned from a weekend at Deerhurst. Overall our experience was enjoyable and was happy with our decision to try Deerhurst. I loved the easy access to the skating and cross-country skiing. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and a good size. We had two dinners at Eclipse and the wait staff were exceptional. Our waiter was very personable and warm and he went out of his way to put our young sons at ease in a "fancy" restaurant. The only complaint is that there is not a place to have a light breakfast. The breakfast buffet is too much food and overly priced for families who are looking for a light breakfast. Pool was great too! We will definitely think about returning next year.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for giving us a try! We are glad you were impressed with our hospitality and appreciate you sharing your experience with others.

The next time you dine with us please inquire with your server about the various breakfast options available. For those guests who prefer a lighter breakfast menu, we offer an al a carte offering (option of ordering menu items separately) or purchase the Cold Buffet portion which provides a selections of fresh fruit, assorted cereals, breads and yogurt.

We look forward to your return next year – if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was my families 4th year to stay at Deerhurst for the March Break. We stayed in the Summit Lodge building 52. We tried the golf view for a change but found the room felt smaller.
The location is great for the kids to get to the pool and arcade. However we found the room not very clean, the pull out couch mattress in terrible shape. Our fireplace did not work and took 2 days to get working. The fireplaces in the main lobby of the building did not work. The cable for 1/2 the channels doesn't work well.They closed down the Maple due to numbers which was very unfortunate as it has always been open during this time frame. The Eclipse is not worth the money especially when you are charged $14.00 for a glass of wine. The rinks on the lake were not taken care of. You also now have to go downstairs to get pool towels, not convenient. The activities are expensive, not surprised at this. Arrowhead is close and a great day for the family. Shuttle buses were hard to come buy. Overall our kids had fun, and will probably be back. Hopefully the resort gets turned around to its former self.

Room Tip: Families with kids should choose summit lodge rooms or main hotel area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your patronage over the years. We are glad you had a great time over March Break with your family. The renovated Junior One Bedroom suites are very popular with many guests as they are in close proximity to the Main Building and just a ten minute walk from the lake (in the summer).

I am sorry to read that you experienced issues with the fireplace, cable and cleaning concerns. We would appreciate if you could direct message us at info@deerhurstresort.com to provide your full name and room number so we can address your concerns appropriately.

Our Maple & Steamers Restaurant(s) are now considered seasonal restaurants. The past winter, our focus was on enhancing and expanding the service and menus in Eclipse Restaurant and the Lobby Bar. In addition, both dining venues have been remodeled with a new updated look. Also want you to know that we do our best to set our prices to remain competitive and appreciate your feedback as we continue to evaluate this.

We look forward to your return so you may relax and enjoy your leisure time and explore everything Muskoka has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great that it was 7 km. from Arrowhead park to ski.
Bayshore buiding had some deficits... much noise between rooms, like the people next door were sleeping in the bed beside us....creepy!...rattling entry doors to room when others entered their room, housekeeping was in building but missed us..not sure why.
Entry door from outside got stuck on cement platform and would only open 1/2 way...difficult to load /unload with winter equipment.
Not likely to spend much time at lodge during winter as walk there was cold and icy..had to always take coats, hats gloves etc.
Lake view was lovely, walk out to ski was fabulous.
Room should not have resort fee in this building!
Electronic check-out did not work, had to go line up and front desk. A nice weekend but not outstanding.

Room Tip: A few glitches....Rooms in Bayshore 1 have adjoining wooden doors to next room that have no filter/i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for posting a review. We agree that we are a great base to explore the great outdoors as we are only 10 minutes east of Arrowhead Park which offers magnificent cross country ski trails and 1.5 km skate path set amidst the snow-dusted trees that wind through the East River Campground which is highly recommend as a ‘must do’ !

Our genuine regrets to learn of the noise disturbance caused by neighboring rooms, housekeeping, express check out and difficulty with doors. I will review with the appropriate department heads to address.

We appreciate the time you have taken to post a review and hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We just went to Deer hurst for 3 days and had an amazing time. There are plenty of activities. We have 2 kids (7 and 3), and they, too, had a blast. We stayed in one of their summit suites. Newly renovated one bedroom suite with kitchenette. Clean. Outdoor activities include: cross country skiing, snow shoeing, skating, snowboarding. My son loves playing hockey on an outdoor rink. We also went dog-sledding which was a first time experience and tons of fun! During march break, they had an indoor play area with inflatable bouncy castles.
Rentals (cross country skips/skates) included in room rental. Additional activities like dog sledding were pricey, but worth it.

All in all- great mini getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emarie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your winter getaway with us and thank you for sharing your feedback with others on TripAdvisor. Our reputation for personalized service and variety of onsite activities and in the surrounding area make us one of the best, four-season resort experiences in Canada. As you experienced firsthand, many of our condominium owners have invested in upgrading their condos in the past year. We now have over 300 fully or partially renovated units and will ensure the remaining condominiums receive a renovation this year.

We look forward to your return to enjoy the scenery, atmosphere and friendly staff at our lakeside resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lively
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We went for March Break and it was awesome. There were so many activities that we were never bored. Plus the room was big enough (one bedroom summit suite) that we all has space to relax.
Group - 2 adults & 2 kids (3 and 6)
Pros - close to arrowhead provincial park for additional outdoor activities
- rock climbing
- indoor bouncy castles
Cons - no signs when coming south on hwy 11
- lost and found didn't help us find our stuff and never got back to us
- dog sledding for kids was expensive for only one short ride on the sled (don't do it, its only like 1 minute of sled time for over $25.)

Room Tip: One bedroom summit suites were awesome and the kitchenette comes in handy because there are few dini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for joining us over the March Break Holiday! We are glad you were impressed with our hospitality and appreciate you sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that the Chili Dog Session did not meet your expectations. The program is usually 25 to 45 minutes long depending on the number of participants. The adventure includes an introduction and instruction and one ride.

Our Housekeeping team has direct messaged you regarding your lost and found item.

We look forward to your return and recommend you visit in the summer too, as it offers an equally vibrant natural setting as well as a full range of activities for families to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
457 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
171 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tulip Inn
Tulip Inn
#9 of 18 in Huntsville
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Property: Deerhurst Resort
Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, ATV tours and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing