We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“March Break Getaway 2014” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“March Break Getaway 2014”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was my families 4th year to stay at Deerhurst for the March Break. We stayed in the Summit Lodge building 52. We tried the golf view for a change but found the room felt smaller.
The location is great for the kids to get to the pool and arcade. However we found the room not very clean, the pull out couch mattress in terrible shape. Our fireplace did not work and took 2 days to get working. The fireplaces in the main lobby of the building did not work. The cable for 1/2 the channels doesn't work well.They closed down the Maple due to numbers which was very unfortunate as it has always been open during this time frame. The Eclipse is not worth the money especially when you are charged $14.00 for a glass of wine. The rinks on the lake were not taken care of. You also now have to go downstairs to get pool towels, not convenient. The activities are expensive, not surprised at this. Arrowhead is close and a great day for the family. Shuttle buses were hard to come buy. Overall our kids had fun, and will probably be back. Hopefully the resort gets turned around to its former self.

Room Tip: Families with kids should choose summit lodge rooms or main hotel area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your patronage over the years. We are glad you had a great time over March Break with your family. The renovated Junior One Bedroom suites are very popular with many guests as they are in close proximity to the Main Building and just a ten minute walk from the lake (in the summer).

I am sorry to read that you experienced issues with the fireplace, cable and cleaning concerns. We would appreciate if you could direct message us at info@deerhurstresort.com to provide your full name and room number so we can address your concerns appropriately.

Our Maple & Steamers Restaurant(s) are now considered seasonal restaurants. The past winter, our focus was on enhancing and expanding the service and menus in Eclipse Restaurant and the Lobby Bar. In addition, both dining venues have been remodeled with a new updated look. Also want you to know that we do our best to set our prices to remain competitive and appreciate your feedback as we continue to evaluate this.

We look forward to your return so you may relax and enjoy your leisure time and explore everything Muskoka has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    810
    613
    322
    162
See reviews for
1,177
828
22
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great that it was 7 km. from Arrowhead park to ski.
Bayshore buiding had some deficits... much noise between rooms, like the people next door were sleeping in the bed beside us....creepy!...rattling entry doors to room when others entered their room, housekeeping was in building but missed us..not sure why.
Entry door from outside got stuck on cement platform and would only open 1/2 way...difficult to load /unload with winter equipment.
Not likely to spend much time at lodge during winter as walk there was cold and icy..had to always take coats, hats gloves etc.
Lake view was lovely, walk out to ski was fabulous.
Room should not have resort fee in this building!
Electronic check-out did not work, had to go line up and front desk. A nice weekend but not outstanding.

Room Tip: A few glitches....Rooms in Bayshore 1 have adjoining wooden doors to next room that have no filter/i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for posting a review. We agree that we are a great base to explore the great outdoors as we are only 10 minutes east of Arrowhead Park which offers magnificent cross country ski trails and 1.5 km skate path set amidst the snow-dusted trees that wind through the East River Campground which is highly recommend as a ‘must do’ !

Our genuine regrets to learn of the noise disturbance caused by neighboring rooms, housekeeping, express check out and difficulty with doors. I will review with the appropriate department heads to address.

We appreciate the time you have taken to post a review and hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We just went to Deer hurst for 3 days and had an amazing time. There are plenty of activities. We have 2 kids (7 and 3), and they, too, had a blast. We stayed in one of their summit suites. Newly renovated one bedroom suite with kitchenette. Clean. Outdoor activities include: cross country skiing, snow shoeing, skating, snowboarding. My son loves playing hockey on an outdoor rink. We also went dog-sledding which was a first time experience and tons of fun! During march break, they had an indoor play area with inflatable bouncy castles.
Rentals (cross country skips/skates) included in room rental. Additional activities like dog sledding were pricey, but worth it.

All in all- great mini getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emarie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your winter getaway with us and thank you for sharing your feedback with others on TripAdvisor. Our reputation for personalized service and variety of onsite activities and in the surrounding area make us one of the best, four-season resort experiences in Canada. As you experienced firsthand, many of our condominium owners have invested in upgrading their condos in the past year. We now have over 300 fully or partially renovated units and will ensure the remaining condominiums receive a renovation this year.

We look forward to your return to enjoy the scenery, atmosphere and friendly staff at our lakeside resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lively
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We went for March Break and it was awesome. There were so many activities that we were never bored. Plus the room was big enough (one bedroom summit suite) that we all has space to relax.
Group - 2 adults & 2 kids (3 and 6)
Pros - close to arrowhead provincial park for additional outdoor activities
- rock climbing
- indoor bouncy castles
Cons - no signs when coming south on hwy 11
- lost and found didn't help us find our stuff and never got back to us
- dog sledding for kids was expensive for only one short ride on the sled (don't do it, its only like 1 minute of sled time for over $25.)

Room Tip: One bedroom summit suites were awesome and the kitchenette comes in handy because there are few dini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for joining us over the March Break Holiday! We are glad you were impressed with our hospitality and appreciate you sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that the Chili Dog Session did not meet your expectations. The program is usually 25 to 45 minutes long depending on the number of participants. The adventure includes an introduction and instruction and one ride.

Our Housekeeping team has direct messaged you regarding your lost and found item.

We look forward to your return and recommend you visit in the summer too, as it offers an equally vibrant natural setting as well as a full range of activities for families to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We decided to get away for family day weekend and bring my mother in law. We booked her a room in the lodge and we stayed in a section by the lake with amazing views. We had a spectacular weekend with rock climbing, swimming, dog sledding, horse carriage rides and fabulous food at the lodge. We have been here before and enjoyed it just as much this time.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are great but it is a 5 min walk to the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Another 5 star review – Thank you!

We appreciate your detailed review of Deerhurst Resort and the many compliments. Glad you had the opportunity to stay in one of our newly renovated Lakeside Rooms which offer a serene view of the frozen and snow-covered Peninsula Lake at this time of year.

We are hopeful you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We came for the snow & we got it, 1st to 5th Mar 2014. Our 1 bedroom suite, in building 52, Summit Lodge, was close enough to walk to the main building with ease, even in bad weather. The suite was basic, but comfortable & practically equipped. After walking through snow & road salt, the waterproof flooring in part of the suite is absolutely necessary. At first it looked like cheap flooring, until I realised how much snow & ice our boots brought in. The suite was clean, with the heating & fire place settings easy to use. All the staff were very friendly & helpful; especially Ian & Drew in the recreation centre & Casey at the stable. Skiing, snow-shoeing, ice skating (all included in the resort fee), dog & horse sledding (additional cost) were all on property; with tubing and more skiing just 10 minutes away, at Arrowhead park. The town centre is just 7 minutes drive, with a good choice of restaurants & a large Walmart. Hidden Valley downhill skiing is not too far away, for the more adventurous. Overall we had a great time & I would certainly recommend Deerhurst Resort, to all ages. Great family destination & reasonable value for money, so long as you want to enjoy outdoor activities. During the winter season not all the restaurants are open, so plan a few nights eating in the town for more variety.

Room Tip: If not staying in the main building, stay in Building 51 or 52 Summit lodge, as they are closer than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Sincere appreciation for posting a review! We are glad you enjoyed your winter vacation with us and were able to partake in the many onsite activities and amenities.

We agree that we are a great base to explore the great outdoors as we are only 10 minutes east of Arrowhead Park which offers tubing and a magnificent Ice Trail. The trail is a 1.5 km skate path set amidst the snow-dusted trees that wind through the East River Campground is highly recommend as a ‘must do’ !

Thank you again - we do appreciate your opinions and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Simply put!!! Great accommodations at reasonable rates. The room was clean and well appointed, The staff were very friendly and helpful….and all the activities to keep our little guy busy from swimming, cross country skiing to a game of hockey on the rink…snow shoeing and the list goes on which was all included and provided for in the nightly rate. For some extra dollars we did some downhill skiing and a little snowmobile trip all within a 5 minute drive. The country side was beautiful…we have to come back and try a summer stay!!!!

Room Tip: Books lots of time!!!! there was so much to do!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review. We are pleased to read that you were impressed and enjoyed your winter vacation at Deerhurst Resort! We appreciate you taking time to post a detailed review and will pass your feedback along to our team. We look forward to your return so you may relax and enjoy your leisure time and explore everything Muskoka has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Muskoka Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tulip Inn
Tulip Inn
#10 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Property: Deerhurst Resort
Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, ATV tours and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live stage show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing