We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I am giving a rating of 3 strictly based on service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I am giving a rating of 3 strictly based on service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Eclipse is one of the restaurants on the grounds of Deerhurst Resort. It is touted as their premier restaurant. The service was outstanding. Sadly the food feel short of any expectation we had. I ordered the halibut which was served flavorless with what appeared and tasted like tomato soup poured over half of it. The seafood platter was good but seriously overpriced for the amount of seafood on the plate. The wine was reasonably priced but the overall dinner which cost $133.00 before tip and did not include pre dinner drinks, appetizers or dessert, was a shocking price to pay for what we received. disappointing!!!

Room Tip: This is not a restaurant you want to visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We appreciate the compliments about the service, although very disappointed to read that your dinner did not meet your expectations or our standards. Your feedback has been shared with our Executive Chef who will investigate your concerns with the colleagues working. Our Executive office has direct messaged you via TripAdvisor in hopes to personally connect with you, offer an apology and extend an invitation to return. We remain hopeful we will have the chance to welcome you back at some point and ensure you have a more positive dining experience with us, which we are known to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    810
    613
    322
    162
See reviews for
1,177
828
22
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alliston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I can't thank Deerhurst enough for all they did to make our wedding day perfect! My husband and I got married at Deerhurst a week and a half ago (June 8), and our weekend was perfect! From our first visit to Deerhurst, right up until our check out after the wedding, it was perfect. Our contact and coordinator was Jennifer Brocket, who was the one to really sell us on having our wedding at this resort. Everyone we were in contact with was prompt in response, and very helpful. They worked with our budget, and the food was delicious. Our wedding had 141 guests, and I have not heard a complaint at all. We had guests in all locations for lodging (condos throughout the facility, as well as main building). The views were great, and everything was clean. We were originally to have the ceremony at the beach, but changed to the Rotunda in case of bad weather. I am so glad we made this decision! The Rotunda has such a pretty view, high ceiling, and great chandelier, that we would have had it in there rain or shine after all. The Peninsula room is where we hosted the reception, spectacular! Lots of space, and so much fun. Great views again with the huge windows. I feel this is going to get repetitive as it was perfect, perfect, perfect. We would not change a thing about our weekend! Thank you to ALL at Deerhurst, right from front reception staff, to banquet staff, to management, you all made it perfect!!! We will never forget it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Congratulations on your Wedding! Thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us at Deerhurst Resort! I am pleased to read of the positive experiences and your personal recognition of Jennifer and team for delivering great service. It will be my pleasure to ensure our entire team is aware that you shared your experience with others on TripAdvisor and are appreciative of all their efforts in ensuring your wedding day was seamless and memorable. We hope to see you again soon!

For future brides and grooms: Our Wedding and Special Events Manager welcomes your wedding inquiry. Please submit a Request for Proposal on our website and we will reply with customized information for your event. Whether you envision an intimate wedding ceremony by the beach or an elegant evening in a grand ballroom, Deerhurst Resort has a variety of Muskoka wedding venues and banquet halls available for your special day at our majestic lakeside setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago with our 2 year old and had a great time. However, I am writing now, to tell you how the customer representative I just spoke to was not helpful at all. With the prices they are charging, they need to hire more professional staff. That is all. Will not consider going here for Canada Day weekend, like originally planned.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ica011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize as your experience is not reflective of the service our team is capable of. We pride ourselves on warm and engaging service and we regret that this was not reflected during your stay. We remain hopeful that you will contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com to give us an opportunity to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We came to Deerhurst for a three day golf getaway. On arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly, helpful front desk staff, who informed us that we had been upgraded. The condo was a wonderful surprise. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms a full kitchen, dining room and living room. Our view overlooks the golf course. Great location, great service and very relaxing. Great place for a family getaway

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We appreciate your glowing review and glad you enjoyed your visit to our resort. We look forward to your return in the future to enjoy the many activities we have, engaging service and personal touches that we are known for. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We hired a condo at Deerhurst this year. Condo was great, clean wonderful view. Some of my friends did say the resort was looking a but tired compared to last year.

Friends liked the facilities - lake was wonderful as could go kayaking etc.

Only frustration was there was nowhere for us to jog - the golf course had a great track running alongside it but we kept getting blocked by the golfers, who said it was not a walking trail and to go run on the road - not really what we wanted. So, the clientele seem to be heavily golf oriented, and they cater well for that.

Food was fine. Only bad experience was at Steamers restaurant - place looked tired, food was not that good - had no flavour, and they didn't have bread. Service was excellent though. The Eclipse restaurant they have is definitely much better.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelbobv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your weekend away with friends!

We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We appreciate the time you have taken to share you feedback as we continue to monitor our customers' thoughts, comments and feedback in order to adjust our operations and communication.

Deerhurst Resort has many hiking trails which our guests can enjoy a stroll or jog on. Whether you’re up for a few hours or a quick walk up to the stunning look out, you can find a trail to explore the many facets of Deerhurst and the surrounding areas beauty. Our resort does back onto beautiful neighboring areas which are ideal for jogging and we will ensure our Recreation Team has this information readily available for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
426 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Check in lady was very friendly and answered all our questions in a friendly and professional way, her name is Jordan.

Our room was in the recently renovated bayshore building with a beautiful view on the lake and the beach.

The hotel has different restaurants and a picturesque scenery of the lake and the surrounding area.

What I didn't like is that I found the hotel room rate is expensive and pricy.

Room is renovated but very basic, no mini bar or room service.

Extremely dark at night and there is no security in the area or at least to access the building with a card as it was far away from main building and door is open.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arabianman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your feedback and experience with others on TripAdvisor. So glad you had the opportunity to stay in one our newly renovated Lakeside Rooms which are conveniently located close to the beach and offer a stunning view of Peninsula Lake.

The resort does have a variety of different types of guest rooms and suites, ranging from regular hotel rooms in the Main Building, Lakeside accommodation and 1, 2, 3 Bedroom Condos. Should guests have a preference in room features like a fridge, king bed, view or extra living space; we encourage them to let us know in advance so we can recommend the right type of accommodation.

Also want you to know that we do our best to set our prices to remain competitive and appreciate your feedback as we continue to evaluate this. Based on your fondness of our setting and the service you received we hope that you will return soon to enjoy our resort and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

iplanned a trip with my famiy and we chose the deer hurst based on what we have seen in the pictures and we really wanted to go to muskoka because we heard a lot about it.overall it was o nice trip you definitely cant beat the views of the lakes and golf courses ,the closed pool area was nice and my kids enjoyed it. the sunday brunch was really good although it was alittle bit overpriced.unfortunately the condo they gave us had nothing of these amazing views and was reallydated except for the kitchen appliances which were new also the pullout couch was not comfy at all.

Room Tip: demand to have a room with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Pleased to read you had a nice getaway and enjoyed the views! There are many points of interest at the resort and surrounding areas to take in the breathtaking views overlooking our crystal clear lakes and forests.

Views from our accommodation do range from hillside, forest, garden, lake and golf course views. Our reservations team is able to assist and provide our guests with recommendations based on preferences.

We now have over 300 newly or partially renovated rooms and hope to welcome you back to the resort soon to enjoy one of these!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Muskoka Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tulip Inn
Tulip Inn
#10 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Property: Deerhurst Resort
Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, ATV tours and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live stage show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing