We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The grounds are amazing - I had a room with no view.”
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Beautiful place to visit. Lots of grounds to go for easy or challenging hikes. Food was very good - although somewhat repetitive. Lots of amazing Salmon entree options.Staff were very friendly and helpful. Legacy Hall was an ugly room with no view - someone said it was a former tennis court.

Room Tip: Lots of activities for families or if you're travelling with others.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for posting a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the grounds and magnificent hiking trails we have available on property. One of the most popular trails is the “Look Out” as it offers a breathtaking view of Deerhurst Resort and Peninsula Lake.

Views from our accommodation range from hillside, forest, garden, lake and golf course views. Our reservations team is able to assist and provide our guests with recommendations based on preferences.

In addition, majority of our meeting and function space also offer expansive views of the resort grounds, ponds and lake. The indoor tennis courts were transformed into Legacy hall, our sleek new multifunction space, which is ideal for tradeshows, concerts and special events.

We look forward to your return and thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,096)
There are newer reviews for Deerhurst Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,408 - 2,414 of 3,096 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed in bldg. 54 this past weekend and had a Lakeside golf course view. Room was very nice & clean, front desk was very helpful. Had lunch in Maples before we teed off. Staff at Lakeside were great loaded your clubs on the power cart and supplied cold water! Marshall on the course was very helpful as my wife walks with a cane and advised us we could use the power cart on any parts of the fairway that didn't have any water.
Over all it was a great golf getaway well done Deerhurst Resort, see you in the fall.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthBayLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your golf getaway at Deerhurst Resort! We appreciate the compliments on our hospitality, accommodation and lunch in the Maple Grill and look forward to your return later this year to enjoy Muskoka’s brilliant fall colours.

Our guests are enjoying pristine conditions at Deerhurst Lakeside and the famed Deerhurst Highlands golf courses while taking advantage Muskoka’s best golf deal – Free golf with room!

To learn more, please visit our website or contact us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the Deerhurst in May 2013 and once more had exceptional service. The customer service manager, Louis Phillippe Tremblay, always makes our stay exceptional. We have been going to this resort for many years and are actually preferred members now. Louis always makes sure that we have a specific room that we enjoy and always welcomes us with a card or note! This truly makes our trip special each and every time. I can recommend this resort without reservation and hope that Louis is appreciated by his employer. He is the reason we keep coming back!

Chris and Iain

Room Tip: Try a 1 bdrm suite! There is beautiful views of the golf course and surrounding area. Higher rooms...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for posting a review and becoming a Preferred Member of ours. We are indeed fortunate to have the caliber of employees we have – especially Louis-Phillippe Tremblay. It will be my pleasure to pass along your comments to him directly along with our General Manager to ensure he receives the recognition he deserves. Thank you for including us in your experiences and memories over the years. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We purchased two preferred memberships which enabled us to stay two nights at $99 per night, which was an excellent deal along with discounts at Eclipse and Maple. We really enjoyed the buffet at Eclipse, but The food at Maple was way below our expectations and overpriced considering this (except that we did get a discount with our membership). We were there on may 27 and 28th. It was too chilly for outdoor water activities, but they have a nice pool and hottub which our two toddlers and infant enjoyed very much. We really wanted a bonfire to roast marshmallows, and though it wasn't permitted, the customer service manager, Louis-Philippe Tremblay made ever effort to accommodate our wishes--offering to himself be present to help us build a fire should we need it. And through the whole process of membership application and the slew of questions i had for him, he was a model of professionalism. We also received an upgrade to the Lakeside rooms--a beautiful view of the lake--which had recently been renovated. It was very clean and spacious, though the bathroom was a bit tight. The beds were very comfortable--that's a rare comment as we've stayed in many hotels with our three kids, but the two fit all five of us comfortably. A tea kettle and mugs in our room would've been nice.

We also took our kids for a pony ride/lesson on the resort. That was an excellent experience. We were so impressed with the young lady giving the lesson to our kids: she was fun and funny, while patient and kind...they have a lot of other animals at the stable/farm, too and our kids fell in love with the puppies.

I regret not taking advantage of the hiking trail, though I'm not sure if the terrain would've been appropriate for our small kids... Also, I would've liked a more natural scape...more trees, rather than a golf course which does beautifully weave the property. But, that's only because I don't golf...

Overall, we had a great time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for the 5 star rating and sharing your opinion of our resort with other Trip Advisor Readers. All of your comments are important and will be shared with the General Manager and appropriate department heads. We truly appreciate knowing about our guest's experiences so we can celebrate our successes, recognize our colleagues and address our challenges to better serve you n the future.

The Preferred Membership is a great value and is designed to provide perks and benefits for guests who visit us regularly throughout the year. The membership benefits include a discount on dining based on the number of guests in your party, 20% savings on Spa services at Shizen Spa, 20% savings on Golf Green fees and admission to Decades, our latest live show. Also included is a one night stay (available in select accommodation and is subject to availability).

For more information or to become a Preferred Member, please contact us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just wanted to write a quick review about a golf package at Deerhurst. We arrived early for a round of golf on the Highlands and were given a room immediately several hours before check in. The staff and the golf course were great, service after at Steamer's was friendly and the food was good. Went to the lobby bar and were treated so well we ended up staying there for dinner. The room was large with good beds. Had the breakfast buffet which was a good value and went to the Lakeside course to see about an earlier tee time and we were accomodated right away. Again the golf course and staff were great. Will definately tell friends and return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with others on Trip Advisor and the many compliments about the resort, level of service and amenities. Our Stay & Play Deals are of great value and available for either the Highlands or Lakeside Golf courses. Packages include everything from Free Golf with Room to Unlimited Golf Stays! To learn more about this amazing packages, please visit our website or call us directly. Hope look forward to welcome you and your friends soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

did a one night stay when we were in the area, fantastic service and support, excellent food, we got off season rates and it as very reasonable for the quality location. Nearby Huntsville is a charming town to check out, area golf is excellent. wiil go back again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Sincere appreciation for posting a review and the 5 star rating! Glad you enjoyed your short stay with us. We hope that you will return soon and recommend you take advantage of our ‘Stay Longer and Save’ rates so you can explore and experience Muskoka and ALL it has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Its a lovely place with lots family amenities options, from Lodging to spaces and child care,
its good to find out if it's a busy time while kids are off from school, otherwise not of all of the amenities are available. However if you have a gorgeous day the outdoors maybe useful. (like the outdoor pool) and canoeing was closed.

Room Tip: Book online better rates and better options then the front desk will offer for the same money
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChanyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience and impression on TripAdvisor. Deerhurst Resort and the surrounding area do have a wide range of activities and amenities available to our guests throughout the year. As you note, we do recommend guests visit our website not only to view our value added packages and specials but to learn about our offerings and make advance reservations for activities to avoid disappointment. We appreciate the time you have taken to share you feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
482 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
181 reviews
10.5 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: $171 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, ATV tours and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing