We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10th Anniversary Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“10th Anniversary Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a weekend away at Deerhurst. We were celebrating our 10th Anniversary. Upon arrival, we asked if we would be able to get an upgraded room, but they were sold out for the night, so instead the gentleman at the front desk (shout out to Blake!).. Gave us complementary tickets to the live show performance... Which was Amazing! We also visited the Shizen Spa, treatments were fabulous (suggestion on dimming lights for a warmer atmosphere)....and the highlight of our trip was Treetop Trekking.... I was unsure about how I would feel.... As I am not the most "fit" person out there! All I can say is WOW!... Everything about this experience was wonderful. The guides were upbeat and encouraging. I did things I NEVER thought I would do....it's been wonderful to see Deerhurst offering these excursions! We WILL be back this summer with the kids.... Definitely a place to go for any type of experience you are looking for!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Snoo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Congratulations on your 10th Wedding Anniversary! Thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us at Deerhurst Resort! I am pleased to read of your positive experience and the personal touches our staff did to make your stay with us more enjoyable. It will be my pleasure to ensure everyone is aware of your feedback, especially Blake within our front office team. Also want to thank you for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor.

Since the addition of Tree Top Trekking to our adventure park last year our guests of all ages, agility and experience have been enjoying zipping, climbing, swinging and striding on a unforgettable journey through the forest. We highly recommend this year round activity to everyone! Look forward to seeing you in the trees again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    826
    621
    326
    163
See reviews for
1,193
843
22
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brechin, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Currently at deerhurst came back from the decades show... was excellent.. awesome talent great cover songs from 50's to 2010's... 5 star show for resort of small size

steamers restaurant was a disaster on the other hand..

in fairness the fish and appetizers were good... though had to wait about an hour for our food

the filets were cooked super super well well done even though we order medium and medium well.. sent steaks back took 25 minutes to get replacements,,..figured they must of screwed up again were cooking the 3rd batch.. when it came it was done right.. though they didnt have much seasoning on them and no sauce to wet the up

order mushrooms got carrots..

room was what was expected

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bighands31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We appreciate the compliments about our multi- talented DECADES show cast who put their heart and soul into each performance. We are disappointed to read that your dinner did not meet your expectations or our standards. Your feedback has been shared with our Executive Chef who will investigate your concerns with the colleagues working. Our Executive office has direct messaged you via TripAdvisor in hopes to personally connect with you, offer an apology and extend an invitation to return. We remain hopeful we will have the chance to welcome you back at some point and ensure you have a more positive dining experience with us, which we are known to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our last weekend's stay at Deerhurst was enjoyable. Huntsville, Muskoka, is captivating for its picturesqueness and tucked away in the midst of forestry, hills and lakes. Deerhurst Resort stands out remarkably at the top end of hotels in the Muskoka area. The Eclipse restaurant is served by very friendly and caring staff. Good food. The Sport Villas have multiple suites in each building. The buildings have spacious common areas too connecting the suites. The suite we used was well furnished with a kitchenette and living space (with a convertible sofa) besides the bedroom. The garden-facing rooms in the main building too were spacious and spotlessly clean. This is an overall well maintained property. There's ample car/van parking space for guests. The property is set in a golf course and also includes conference facilities, a marina for yachts, an indoor pool and video gaming area.

Room Tip: Those booking the sport villas suites have room for 2 children. You deal includes breakfast for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SivasWelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the comprehensive and glowing review of Deerhurst Resort. We are pleased to read you had an enjoyable family weekend in Muskoka and look forward to your return.


Whether you are planning a family getaway, romantic weekend, corporate retreat or convention, we invite you to enjoy the beauty of Muskoka and create memories that will last a lifetime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

It was a girls weekend from Heaven. We got a room in the main building which was pretty standard, beds are VERY comfortable. The staff is very friendly and they wear multiple hats so you will see people in all kinds of roles over your holiday. The food isn't cheap but it's very good and the portions are decent. All I can say is get involved and talk to other people. We had such a good time. We saw the show on Sat night for $35 per person and it was WELL worth it. I love this place and plan on going again in July.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat_Blazanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for posting a review and the compliments on the comfy beds, service and friendly staff. We are glad that you had an excellent weekend with your girlfriends and had a chance to see Decades Live Show which highlights some of the most memorable music from the past six decades.

We look forward to your return in July and recommend you visit our website to learn more about our Summer Getaway Packages. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iroquois Falls, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I absolutely love love love Deerhurst Resort. I have been going there since the age of 3. My parents introduced me to the resort and I must say I am hooked. I went there for my honeymoon and enjoyed it very much except for having a room with 2 queens. I recently stayed there and had the most beautiful room, a room I am told the Prime Minister stays in. However, this room which has 3 parts to it, a King Room, a Double Queen Room and a large living space complete with a beautiful dinette set was missing a fridge and microwave. This made our stay less comfortable. However they did allow us to use the resort fridge for our left over pizza from our team party. The STAGE STARS from Iroquois Falls is my dance team and we attended DANCEFEST at the resort. We had a great time and received 1st Runner Up Studio. What a great weekend. I must add the view at the Eclipse was breathtaking. Everymorning before my day that view and the freshair gave me clarity and a fresh start to every day.

Thanks Deerhurst.
P.S. You should have Room Service at a Resort of your Calibre.

Room Tip: Stay in the Pavillion...there's so much to do. If you stay off the main building it's nice b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your continued patronage over the years. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and experience with others and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

The resort does have a variety of different types of guest rooms and suites, ranging from regular hotel rooms in the Main Building, Lakeside accommodation and 1, 2, 3 Bedroom Condos. Should guests have a preference in room features like a fridge, king bed, view or extra living space; we encourage them to let us know in advance so we can recommend the right type of accommodation.

As the vast majority of our rooms have cooking facilities; there is a variety of ‘to go’ items in our General Store such as sandwiches soups, desserts etc. so guests may prepare meals and dine in the privacy of their guestroom or condo. In addition, the restaurants offer take out service and guests have the choice of the entire menu.

Kindly note, the shuttle service is not part of the daily service at the resort. This scheduled shuttle service is available and organized for large special events, golf and group tournaments, large conventions and wedding groups and available to all guests on evenings that our Live Decades Show is playing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

The employees at Deerhurst are fantastic. Front desk, restaurants, banquets and golf staff was all very friendly and helpful. My room was very spacious, clean and it had a great view, overlooking the lake. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 37KingEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Sincere appreciation for posting a review and giving us 5 stars! We are glad you were impressed with our hospitality and enjoyed your stay in one of our newly renovated Lakeside Rooms which offer a stunning view of Peninsula Lake.

I have taken the liberty to share your comments with our team to ensure our colleagues receive the recognition for their abilities to make your stay memorable.

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Last fall we stayed in Deerhurst for the weekend while my sweetheart was on a work conference. It was the last nice fall weekend and we enjoyed(ok only I enjoyed) the incredible fall weather.

Our 1 bedroom suite room itself was huge. We had a living room with electric, kitchenette and balcony and a large bedroom and nice bathroom. The bathroom was nice and very clean but there was NO TUB!!!!!! Gasp! If you have read any of my other reviews you know that the bed and the tub make/or break the room. But considering how cozy the bedroom was I could overlook the lack of tub in this case.

The king bed was super comfortable and bedding was great. I really appreciate when a hotel uses egyptian cotton sheets. It just makes sleeping so much more luxurious. The bedroom had a large dresser and two night tables plus a closet so there was a lot of storage space.

The living room was comfortable but the fireplace didn't work. Which wasn't a huge concern for us as we only discovered that it was non functional on the last day. Unless its a real fireplace we both would care less.

Meals at the Maple were good. Dinner was probably the best. Seafood Ravioli was delicious. We had good service every meal we ate there and the views were gorgeous. The grounds were beautiful and I was able to get alot of gorgeous pictures. There is a nice golf course if that is your thing.

Overall it was a nice weekend getaway and we were very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaSignora335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for posting a review and the many compliments about our resort! We agree that the fall is a stunning time to visit and enjoy Muskoka’s brilliant fall colours. We hope you will return again soon – maybe this summer? The summer offers an equally vibrant natural setting as well as a full range of activities.

Deerhurst does have a variety of different types of guest rooms and suites, ranging from regular hotel rooms in the Main Building, Lakeside accommodation and 1, 2, 3 Bedroom Condos. Should you have a preference in room features like a tub, fridge, view or extra living space, please let us know in advance so we can recommend the right type of accommodation to ensure you have a seamless and memorable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Muskoka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tulip Inn
Tulip Inn
#10 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Property: Deerhurst Resort
Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, ATV tours and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing