We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing conference at Deerhurst”
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I would without hesitation recommend Deerhurst Resort as a venue if you want to plan an exceptional conference. There were 270 of us and each one of us was made to feel special from our first inquiring phone call to the last speech at the conference. The ambiance, the rooms, the food, the breakout rooms -- the entire facility is incredible. The staff is even better -- the Conference Services Manager, AV staff, the Catering Manager and his staff, in fact, all the staff made planning and execution of our first ever national conference very, very easy. They were accomodating of all our wishes (a campfire in April!!) and enhanced our experience in any way they could. I know where our next conference will be!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGTena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for the 5 stars and recommendation to others – we appreciate it!

Our team is here to assist whether it is a conference, trade show, special event or family getaway – we are an all in one, easy-access, lakeside location for everyone.

We look forward to hosting your conference next year and recommend you ask about our Adventures in Excellence Team Building Programs which are designed to increase flexibility, creativity, trust and communication.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,565 - 2,571 of 3,236 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked a one-night package (including the Just For Laughs show) on the spur of the moment because it looked like a great deal - and it was. The show was a lot of fun and worth the trip on its own, but I think what impressed us most was the great service. Our package included a "culinary demo" and wine tasting - we did not have any details about these sessions, but I would say that spending over two hours with the executive chef and sommelier of the resort exceeded any expectations we may have had. Especially when we saw them both later that night overseeing the large dinner that preceded the show - like the rest of the staff, they did everything possible to create a great experience. We look forward to finding an excuse to go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay at Deerhurst Resort, the Just for Laughs Show and Interactive Demo’s by our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager. We are overwhelmed with the positive feedback we have received from our guests and are looking forward to planning next year’s event!

To help give you an excuse to come back.…Inquire about our ‘Weekend with Chef Susur Lee”. An unforgettable weekend with Canada Most Famous Chef May 24-26, 2013, where you will have the opportunity to meet, greet, watch and savour the artistry of Chef Susur during this special culinary weekend. We hope you will join us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went for a "Just for Laughs" and "Masters" weekend deal. It was a great price and well worth it. I've never stayed anywhere where every employee treated us like a long lost friend! It was great, totally relaxing and a whole lot of fun. The food was excellent and all the amenities were wonderful. A great place for a short getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Sincere appreciation for posting a review and giving us 5 stars! I have taken the liberty to share your comments with our team to ensure our colleagues receive the recognition for their abilities to make your stay memorable. Thank you.

We do recommend you view our Special Events & Concert Series Page on our website to learn more about our spring events – Myles Goodwyn & April Wine Concert Weekend or A Weekend with Chef Susur Lee, Canada’s Most Famous Chef!

We hope you will return soon to enjoy the many offerings we have available throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We got an amazing mid week deal - with a spa credit, wine and fresh strawberries. We got a free upgrade to the Birchcliff lodges which were really nice. We had a model suite with modern decor and very nice views of the lake. The service at the resort was excellent.

We had dinner at Eclipse which was good. We are big foodies and eat out quite often in Toronto so have pretty high standards when it comes to food. The seafood pasta was tasty, but the venison was overcooked. We visited the spa - my husband had a very enjoyable massage. I had a pedicure which was expensive but this is to be expected at a resort spa. The staff made a real effort to ensure my comfort (the room was a bit drafty). The spa was nice but not quite as nice as some of the Toronto spas (Elmwood, Stillwater). There are limited amenities outside the spa services and the spa is a little no frills. No snacks. No 'spa' water. No scented candles and music that can't be heard in every room.

This is probably not the best time of year to visit Muskoka. It was cold, raining and the lake was frozen. I can't really comment on the outdoor activities. However, I think this is a great 'one stop shop' for families especially in the winter or summer.

Overall, I think we would come back another time of year. It was a nice mid week escape from the busy city.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank lovetotravelgal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Glad you enjoyed our Midweek Romance Package designed for couples to getaway, reconnect and enjoy spectacular services and amenities. We apologize for the service inconsistencies you experienced and want you to know that the Shizen Spa does offer a lavish ambiance to include candles, flavored water and music, along with access to the indoor pool, hot tub and steam room.

If you are planning to visit again soon, I do recommend you visit our website and check out our Muskoka Your Way package with accommodation plus a $100 resort credit as it is a great value. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have just finished a two night stay at this hotel as a conference delegate. The hotel has a classic lakefront location, grand entrance lobby with vaulted wooden ceiling, convenient parking, large renovated and quiet rooms with comfortable beds. A cozy bar near the lobby area with comfortable chairs and a fireplace is a great place to read a book and have a drink. Drinks are reasonably priced. The hotel restaurant has great views over the lake and serves a good buffet breakfast. Conference facilities are spacious and easy to access for exhibitors. There is a large heated indoor pool and spa. A classic hotel in the Muskoka tradition!

Room Tip: My comments are for the main lodge known as the Pavilion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

So glad you enjoyed our destination resort and conference centre. We hope that you will return when you have more leisure time to enjoy and explore our surroundings!

Embracing Peninsula Lake, Deerhurst Resort is your year round retreat to Ontario’s famous ‘cottage country’ lifestyle in Muskoka. We recommend everyone come discover the sense of fun, adventure and unique activities that Deerhrust has to offer. Find your ideal mix of accommodations, value packages and special events – perfect for everything from a weekend break to interactive meetings with 45,000 sq. ft. of venue space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent the weekend here as part of a large conference and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The conference facilities were first rate and the food and service were excellent.
We upgraded our room to a suite because the regular rooms were too far away from the conference rooms (a bit of a hike at night in winter) and the suite was fantastic. It had a separate bedroom, a large living area with a small kitchenette that was usefull for preparing meals, two large TVs with multiple channels, a small office desk and a fireplace. We had a discounted group rate and thought the price was quite reasonable. I don't know what it would cost at a regular rate or in summer, but at least in summer you would have access to a lot more of the outdoor activities.
Our building #52 had a large communal gathering area with two fireplaces and TVs. It would be great for group or family get-togethers.
Although I was busy full-time with the conference, my wife was able to hike around the grounds on the trails that would have been used for cross-country skiing had most of the snow not already melted. The pool area looked well maintained and not too crowded, but we did not have time to enjoy it.
My only disappointment was that I was surprised to see a "Resort Amenity Fee" tacked on to my bill upon check-out. I don't know what this was for and was not informed of the charge in advance. Because I was at the resort for a conference, I did not have any time to use any of the facilities other than the conference rooms.

Room Tip: The main building and blocks #51 and #52 are most convenient to the main resort facilities, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

We appreciate your detailed review of Deerhurst Resort and the many compliments. Our guests often enjoy nature sightings on the resort property and nearby trails which include everything from deer, wild turkey, herons, eagles groundhogs and even the odd black bear!

We apologize that you were unaware of the Resort Amenity Fee as all guests should be notified at the reservation stage. The fee has been in place at our resort for many years and is common within the resort industry in some form or another. The resort amenity fee allows Deerhurst to provide guests with a number of services and amenities that are not specifically charged for such as guest room and public area high speed internet access, parking around the resort, fitness room, indoor/outdoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis, basketball and volleyball courts, beach access, cross country & hiking trails and our skating rinks.

Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The place was infested with kids the weekend we were there, lol. The main pool was unusable due to the number of kids (pre teens) playing in it. Not a good setting for a romantic weekend getaway, in that sense. It's not really a nature resort, either. The resort has a waterfront and a small wooded area across the street - a few acres of trails on a few hillsides between the resort, a ski hill and Highway 60. You can hear cars throughout your walk. It's close to Algonquin Park but its not a nature reserve or anything like that, and the grounds itself are all roadways and buildings, not a calm wooded oasis, if that's what you think Deerhurst is.

Activities are too expensive if you have done any of them previously and know what they should cost. Activities your friends let you do for free at their cottage, cost $300 for a few hours here (ie. snowmobiling).

I would say this place is for families who have no way to access nature in their own. No friends with cottages, no family living in Parry Sound, perhaps no interest in buying or renting some of the gear required to spend a couple hours in the woods. Fully urbanized families with no outdoor experience. If you grew up in the Sault, spent summers at Camp or grandpas farm, or were a Boy Scout, you will be disappointed with the lack of nature. It's also too crowded and full of kids to be a romantic getaway. Views from any of the rooms will disappoint. You'll see trees but also cars, roads, buildings, etc.

The on site Restaurants were fantastic though, spectacular fare. And the staff set the standard for friendly but professional and un-intrusive service. All other resorts should have staff that good!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for the review and your kind compliments regarding the high level of service our colleagues provided during your recent stay with us. Your comments will be shared with our team as the recognition is appreciated.

We realize our guests choose their vacation spots for many different reasons, the popularity of our resort with families during the summer season and peak weekends throughout the year would have affected your expectations, if you preferred a more quiet and private experience. In future, I would recommend visiting in the late spring or early fall when the resort is not as busy and many of the activities that you would enjoy would still be available. Our reservations team would be more than happy to review available options with you, as we make every effort to ensure all of our guests have a memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#17 of 18 in Huntsville
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
498 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: $159 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, ATV tours and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing