We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Not Recommend”
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed April 7, 2008

My girlfriend and I booked a weekend getaway to stay at Deerhurst. We had booked a Girls Getaway weekend, which was supposed to include upon our arrival a bouquet of roses, wine and cheese tray, small gift , robe and slippers for each of us to enjoy our spa services. Well when we arrived and checked into our room. We were absolutely appalled at the condition of the room. The counter and the sink were both coffee stained , the couch was black down one arm and had seen better days. The fireplace, well lets just say I could have gotten the same ambiance from a BIC lighter, the bathroom had hair all over the floor, the furniture was dated and looked like it had been assembled from a garage sale. The wallpaper was peeling off the wall, when I had called down to the front desk to ask if there had been some kind of mistake, because none of the items they had specified were in the room (robe , slipper, wine cheese etc)
They said it would be delivered later, at this point we complained about the condition of the room and asked to be moved. We were shown 2 other rooms in the same state of disrepair, dirty, pot lamps hanging 6 inches out of the ceiling and did I say dirty!
We drove 3.5 hours to visit and did not stay , we drove home. The manager of Deerhurst did not even have the decency to apologize. They refunded our money and we drove another 3.5 hours to a marriott hotel ,which was beautiful.
I would not recommend this place to anyone, At $500.00/night for 2 people you would certainly expect it to at least be clean.. 2 weeks later we stayed at Blue Mountain and it was great...!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Devine_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,155 - 3,161 of 3,309 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2008

My girlfriend and I were at the resort the day after Family day. We had an amazing time. The staff was vary helpful and the room was vary clean. I enjoyed the snow shoe trails and all of the resturants. I was a little disipointed that I could not go skating but that was only due to the fact that the area had alot of rain fallowed by snow the day before and the rink was not up to par. Excellent getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ResortRunner25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Had a wonderful winter interlude with my husband. We are frequent travellers and have stayed in the main Pavilion in the past. We stayed in a Junior suite Sports Villa #53 and found it beautiful. Room 306 is top floor, corner unit, the separate bedroom has a very comfortable king sized bed, wonderful duvets, very spacious and quiet. Windows on two sides of the unit and a lovely balcony, incredible views. Kitchenette was all that we needed. The dining room staff were amazing, helpful and very accommodating. The pool was very warm. Shower facilities were great as is the gym, tennis courts etc. We did enjoy cross country skiing. The tubing is free but we did not get there for lack of time. There are many activities to do here. I would recommend this resort to young and old alike!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank madamecola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We stayed at the Birchcliff Villas (timeshare) section of the Deerhurst Resort from Feb 23-27. We had rented the space from a friend and stayed in the 1 bedroom unit.
The space was very large--full bath with Jacuzzi, full kitchen, dinning room and full living with fire place and bedroom with king bed. The unit was very clean and well equipped but dated. The fireplace was nice but we found that the quick start logs that are used smell more chemically then a normal wood fire. The view from the living room was beautiful--full view of the open lake but I am sure it would be even nicer in the summer.
The resort has lots of winter activities-- free (but cost for rental equipment) skating, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, free tubing (including the tubes)plus downhill skiing nearby (discount pass--free shuttle). Also there were quite a few indoor activities, swimming pool, hottub, tennis, racquetball etc etc.

Overall nice decent unit but not luxurious like it is advertised.

Stayed: February 2008
4  Thank boowaaccaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Just returned from a three night stay at Deerhusrt, we had booked to stay over the Family Day long weekend (seeing as we are Brits we didnt realise this at first) so the resort was very busy. We were not able to take advantage of any of the winter activities on offer (dog sledding etc) as these appeared to have been booked up in advance but we still managed to have a fantastic stay. We had a two bedroomed villa which was huge and way beyond any expectations that we had, yes I agree the decor is a little dated but still it was very clean and well kept. Large kitchen dining area and living room with an open fire and free logs which we used every night. Bedroom one was huge also with an open fire and large bathroom with wirlpool bath, second bedroom was also a fantastic size with two queen beds. We ate in the Pub which is very child friendly and lively, had to wait a while as its very busy but average Pub food. We eat in the Eclipse for lunch and we were not that impressed so didnt return for dinner. We made full use of the kitchen one night as it has everything you need to cook a meal for 6. Then the last night we decided to head over to the Hidden Valley resort for dinner - this was nothing short of fantastic and we had an amazing meal and the service was excellent - although this was a little pricey it was worth every penny.

So all in all it was a great family weekend and we would not hesitate to return to deerhurst both in winter and in summer as it is a lovely all round resort well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cara07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

Our family visited the Deerhurst Resort for a conference. We stayed in a Pavillion Room on the first floor. The room had two Queen sized beds, a clean and good sized bathroom, mini fridge, tv and patio. There were also two work desks as well as free internet access. We brought our six month old daughter and the resort provided us with a playpen for her to sleep in. She was very welcome at Eclipse-- Deerhurst's fine dining restaurant located in the main hotel, which was impressive by Toronto standards (and so was their wine list). Overall Deerhurst was a good experience for me, despite negative reviews by others-- and I am picky.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank Melibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

Took my sister away for a weekend of spa and indulgence.

Just a two hour drive North of Toronto on a beautiful lake setting in the Muskoka's near Huntsville.

Very large resort with many modern conveniences and run with higher expectations considering it's location.

We stayed in a Sports Villa which was rather large with full kitchen, living room, bathroom, bedroom with two double beds and a large balcony with 6 person patio set on the balcony. Great views of the golf course and although the room was a little dated in its furnishing and colour patterns, very clean and well laid out. There was a pool just outside the villa which was convenient as we were quite a hike from the lakefront beach. The main pool and sports complex was just a five minute stroll away.

The Aveda Spa treatments we shared were absolutely fabulous. There was a mix up on our reservation when we first arrived although easily resolved and instead of us getting our facials at the same time, she got hers then I got mine. The massages the next day were perfectly timed. My sister had booked a hotstone manicure as well although they gave her a plain manicure instead and she didn't realize the error until the manicure was almost complete as she asked "So when do the hot rocks come out". The staff were apologetic for the error and I believe we got a refund for the difference.

We ate all of our meals at the Eclipse Restaurant which was pricey but great portions and very plentiful. Definately recommend the Sticky Pudding dessert which we went back for the next night only to have the dessert.

We booked the spa package which included spa credits and buffet breakfast. Very worthwhile and although very pricy although when you factor in how much spa credits we received and the large breakfast made it much more financially feasible.

Would definately recommend this place for families or for romantic getaways. Lots of activites during the day. We went hiking in the woods on the well marked trails. A nice incline made us feel like we were working out which was nice. The beach and activites were fine although for the price of the weekend I feel the kayaks and other watesport activities should have been included.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank TORN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
505 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
188 reviews
10.5 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: $165 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embracing Peninsula Lake near Huntsville, Deerhurst Resort is your year-round retreat to Ontario’s famous “Cottage Country” lifestyle in Muskoka and has been welcoming vacationing families and couples, as well as meetings and conference guests since 1896. Known for its excellent golf – including Deerhurst Highlands which ranked in the top 50 best you can play in 2016 by Canadian Golf Magazine, fresh, locally sourced cuisine highlighted throughout the four onsite restaurants, and live entertainment throughout the year, Deerhurst resort has everything you need for your ultimate Muskoka getaway. Offering the most activities of any resort in Ontario year-round including canoeing, stand-up paddle boarding, skiing and wakeboard lessons in the summer, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing and skating in the winter, amazing hiking trails to see breathtaking fall colours and so much more, plus Deerhurst is your gateway to Algonquin Park, just 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing