We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer service excellent.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Customer service excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

My mom and i went to Deerhurst as a girls weekend. The customer service at the front Desk was amazing. The show was great as always and their new preferred membership is a great value.We are excited to go back and try some of their activities out such as indoor rock climbing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fridaythe13th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Glad you enjoyed experience at Deerhurst Resort! We look forward to welcoming you back so you may enjoy the resort on a more regular basis. The Preferred Membership is a great value and is designed to provide perks and benefits for guests who visit us regularly throughout the year. The membership benefits include a discount on dining based on the number of guests in your party, 20% savings on Spa services at Shizen Spa, 20% savings on Golf Green fees and admission to Decades 2012, our latest live show. Also included is a one night stay (available in select accommodation and is subject to availability). For more information or to become a Preferred Member, please contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    810
    613
    322
    162
See reviews for
1,177
828
22
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked a Bed & Breakfast package for late November. We arrived early on the check-in day and the staff was really great. They checked to see if our room was available - since it was not, they still checked us in and got us set-up. We were able to use all the facilities while we waited to get our room (2 hours early!). The Horseback riding through the powder snow was spectacular (safe horses and friendly staff). In the evening we had dinner at Eclipse off the a la carte. Very delicious and again, super friendly waiters. We stayed in a One bedroom condo with lake view. Absolutely breathtaking: 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms, jacuzzi, balcony, kitchen, 2 plasma screen TVs (one in each room) and a fireplace. Very romantic. In the AM we had the breakfast buffet - many choices: eggs benedict, bacon, oatmeal, tons of fresh fruit, juices, coffee, tea, made-to-order omelette. Absolutely amazing. We went for digestive walks throughout the resort. Buildings are at maximum 15 minute walk from the main pavilion.
Very clean. Very friendly. You are paying good money to stay here - but it's definitely worth it. I am curious to come back in the summer months, to experience all the lakefront activities and pools.
Definitely recommendable - and especially great for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Condos 19, 20, 21 are the highest up and have the greatest views of the lake (if you are wanting a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for 5 star review and recommending us to others. The summer is a great time to enjoy Muskoka. With three outdoor pools, a sandy beach and more, guests of Deerhurst Resort have every opportunity to swim, stroll or laze the day away on the shores of Peninsula Lake. In addition, our splash zone admission fee includes not only Canada's largest inflatable water park, but also use of canoes, windsurfers, stand-up paddle boards and kayaks. We do also recommend you make time to golf on one of our two 18 hole golf courses, or try an exhilarating Hummer or Rock Buggy tour followed by an evening of fun when our multi-talented show cast of dancers, singers, musicians take the stage, for DECADES our Live show. Look forward to welcoming you back - you may just need to plan for an entire week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I found Deerhurst Resort to be very comfortable and well appointed. I had a suite close to the main building and didn't mind the walk and that is was separated from the main building. The suite was very nice and had everything I needed. I was visiting Deerhurst for a conference and used the suite to do demos of our software program. The main room was large enough to comfortably sit 8 people.

The main building is also very nice, and I loved the artwork they have collected. The business rooms are also more than adequate for conference like setting.

I will return for a weekend golf trip next year for sure! The only advice I have is in the foodservice area, I wasn't very impressed with several meals we were served and thought they could have been better!

Room Tip: The suites are very nice with great views overlooking the lake and the golf course, great patios too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WJMorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for posting a review and the many compliments. Deerhurst Resort is quite expansive and we do have a variety of different types of guest rooms and suites, ranging from regular hotel rooms in the Main Building as well as lakeside accommodation and 1, 2, 3 Bedroom Condos, which are situated around the resort. Our reservations team is available to answer our guest’s questions and recommend room types based on preference as we make every effort to ensure all of our guests have a memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to ensure you leave with a more positive culinary experience and recommend you keep an eye on our website for golf packages in the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I attended a conference at Deerhurst for 3 days this fall. Everything from the room, to the meals (accommodating my wife's special diet restrictions) to our set up needs and their attention to detail was noteworthy enough to mention on this site. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. We sincerely appreciate the accolades and glad you enjoyed your experience at Deerhurst Resort. Our restaurant and culinary teams do their best to accommodate guest dietary requirements. Should a guest wish to speak with a Chef or Manager prior to arrival to discuss menu or special requests, we recommend they contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We attended the Chef Michael Smith culinary weekend on October 26th, 2012. It was a weekend of excellent service, excellent food and great interactive events with Michael Smith. He is very personable and an engaging speaker. The front desk upgraded us to rooms in the main building (cause I use a cane) as we asked and was able to do so for my parents who were with us. Amazing service, lovely young people on the phone, at the desk, the bar and everywhere on site. Thank you again ! We will see you soon !

Room Tip: Stay in the main building for events, but the outer buidings for privacy and cottage feeling
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strangesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We're glad that you enjoyed the weekend events and that we were able to accommodate your accommodate request. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We arrived the Friday afternoon and check in was smooth. There were two groups of us meeting in two separate buildings but we were close together. We stayed in Mapleridge. Upon entering our room I found it to be very dated. It certainly needs renovatoins, especially the bathroom. The kitchen was excellent, everything we needed was at our disposal. The Friday night we went to the 80's dance party and the supper was a little bizarre. We had bread plates for supper and we found small dinner buns and turkey, pizza and mashed potatoes in a martini glass. Needless to say we were all starving for breakfast the next morning. The dance party was excellent and the shuttle to and from the main building was quick and efficient. The next morning we had breakfast which was very good with a lot of choices. We attended the workshops and then back to our rooms. We took advantage of the shuttles into Huntsville that afternoon to do a little shopping. We had our sit down supper in the dining room that evening and I found the meal to be very bland. I was expecting a a little more from an upscale resort as this. That night we attended the Amanda Marshall concert in Huntsville. Going there everything was well organized. Coming back was another story. It was mass chaos with 600 hundred shoving and pushing onto sporadic buses in torrential downpour and thunder and lightening. They need to establish a better system next year of having the guests returning back to the resort. Overall our stay was excellent and the staff wonderful. They just need to update the rooms and some of the buildings on the grounds need some TLC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamilton_OntarioDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Glad you had an excellent stay! The multi bedroom condos are very popular and it is great to read that the condo met your needs. We are currently in the process of mapping out a renovation plan for these condos that we manage on behalf of private individual owners and are confident renovations will be completed soon. We apologize that the food did not meet your expectations and will share your feedback with our culinary team. The Friday night stand up reception was designed so that guests had the opportunity to mix and mingle with others and enjoy an array of Hors D'oeuvres including the mashed potato martini bar, one of the hottest trends in food stations. We hope that we have the chance to welcome you back next year and also want you to know that the Concert Event organizers will ensure a much more seamless bus departure next year. See you then!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Atteneded my husbands Christmas party, food and dance was wonderful,,, however we were simply disgusted with our room, we rented a 2 bedroom condo with another couple, for almost 400 dollars for 1 night and it was NOTHING even remotely close to what pictures or online descriptions said. Everything was outdated, furnature was stained, things did not work ie: tv...fireplace etc. it smelled gross and worst part was, if you used the kitchen you were expected to clean it yourself after or would be charged an extra house keeping fee if they had to do it...defeats the purpose of a getaway (and not a cheap one I should add) Our room was 15 minutes away from main building where the party was held which made us have to wait in freezing teperatures for a shuttle bus. The evening ended by us returning to our room to find the walkways unkept, snow covered and icy, even up the 3 flights of outdoor stairs we had to climb. I ended up slipping on ice, falling and breaking my wrist, which the shuttle driver witnessed and drove away from without even asking if I was ok. When all of this was mentioned at checkout all we got was a "sorry you were diappointed, we cant control the rooms esthetically as they are privately owned, a few have been recently rennovated but most have not so they are a bit outdated" none of which was explained to us while booking or checking in, and not even a discount for the poor condition of the walkways that ended in an injury, or for having non working appliances. UGH so disappointed in this multimillion dollar facility!

Room Tip: Specify you would like a main building room, you will sacrafice a view to the lake but the rooms the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are disappointed to read that the accommodation did not meet your expectations and apologize genuinely for your dissatisfaction. Since joining the Skyline Hotels & Resorts, we have been re-investing in our property. Over 200 guestrooms have received a partial or full renovation and we are currently in the process of mapping out a renovation plan for the multi bedroom condos that we manage on behalf of private individual owners and are confident further renovations will be completed soon. The safety and well-being of our guests is a priority for us at and many safety considerations are part of each department’s daily inspections and responsibility, especially during the winter months when we receive heavy snowfalls. In addition, we have guest service coverage at the resort 24 hours who can quickly respond, provide care and attention if needed. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future to ensure you leave with a more positive impression. Please contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com, should you wish to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huntsville hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Muskoka Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tulip Inn
Tulip Inn
#10 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Property: Deerhurst Resort
Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, ATV tours and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live stage show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing