We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!”
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was the 7th time I have stayed at the Deerhurst Resort and once again it met all expectations! This time I stayed in Building 51 which is one of the Summit Lodges and the suite was newly renovated and beautiful! The rest of the resort of course was very warm and cozy. I cannot say enough positive things about the staff as they are always welcoming and friendly. There was even some staff that recogized me and welcomed me back. How nice is that! I definitely recommend the Deerhurst Resort as a great getaway!

Room Tip: I definately recommend the Summit Lodges if you like to have your bedroom seperate from your living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your return trip to Deerhurst Resort! As a valued and loyal customer of ours, we hope you will join our Preferred Membership program which is designed to provide perks and benefits for guests who visit us regularly throughout the year. The membership benefits include a discount on dining based on the number of guests in your party, 20% savings on Spa services at Shizen Spa, 20% savings on Golf Green fees and admission to Decades 2012, our latest live show. Also included is a one night stay (available in select accommodation and is subject to availability). For more information or to become a Preferred Member, please contact us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,667 - 2,673 of 3,232 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just enjoyed a nice weekend with my girlfriends of 20+ years! We get together twice a year so I am sure we'll consider Deerhurst again. Great rooms (really comfy beds) and the food in the pub was excellent along with great service. The Muskoka art displays in the lobby and along the hallways are a very nice touch. One thing I noticed about the rooms is that you cannot hear the people beside you - very quiet! Highly reco resort!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SullivanFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Sincere appreciation for posting a review and the 5 star rating! We are glad you and your girlfriends enjoyed the resort and more importantly your time together. We look forward to your return and recommend you consider our Girls Spa Getaway Package that includes accommodation, a welcome tapas platter and cocktail in the Lobby Bar, Shizen Spa credit and glass of wine during your spa experience. Please feel free to contact us direct or visit our packages page on the web to learn more about this great new offering. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This beautiful Muskoka resort was perfect for a mini 3-day family gathering - 2 couples stayed in the hotel, 3 couples stayed in the newly renovated Summit Lodge #54. Meals in the hotel, especially the breakfast and Sunday brunch, were delicious, filling and good value; service attentive and friendly; pool perfect temperature; our third floor corner one-bedroom suite was very comfortable: filled with light and large enough for the 5 couples to meet for conversation and cocktails before dinner. The fireplace in the living room was a real plus. Next time we'll arrange an outing so we can play golf as the courses are GREAT!

Room Tip: Corner suites have lots of light; the third floor (back) provided great view of the property. Other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDCCexhibitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you so much for posting your Deerhurst review. Glad your family enjoyed our Resort including the accommodation, hospitality and food. Please do consider a return trip to our corner of Muskoka for a golf getaway next year. Our guests have the choice to play two 18-hole golf courses, the picturesque Deerhurst Lakeside or the famed Deerhurst Highlands. We look forward to your return and recommend you check our website for packages, savings and best available rates online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The peronnel at this hotel were absolutely great. Great service and excellent food!
The wekend included two breakfasts and two dinners. The evening meals were recipes form Chef Michael Smith's new cookbook. The atmosphere and the people were great. I will definitely go back next and I have many friends upon hearing about it, want to come.

Room Tip: I like staying at the hotel instead of a condo because I don't have to wear a coat to go for bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

So glad you enjoyed the Chef Michael Smith Weekend. We are overwhelmed with the positive feedback we have received from our guests and are looking forward to planning the next event.
Thank you for posting a review and giving us a 5 star rating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in the renovated Sports Villas/Summit Lodges, in a "junior one bedroom suite".
Although not ultra luxurious, the accommodations were just fine: clean and spacious with a kitchen, separate bedroom with second TV, and gas fireplace. The central lodge lounge was gorgeous, with cozy couches and a big screen TV. Our room was very quiet, but there were very few people in our building, so not certain what the noise level would have been if others had been utilizing the lounge space.

We were part of the chef Michael Smith weekend. The Friday night "marche" dinner was a huge disappointment. The offerings included poutine, various sliders, basic fresh or pasta salads and bland desserts. For $1000 per couple for two nights, especially given the "foodie" theme of the weekend, we expected better. The dinner on the second night was great thankfully, but Deerhurst should have made sure all meals were up to snuff. A little highway restaurant a mile away served us an infinitely better lunch at a bargain price (Three Men and a Stove). Also, it seemed like the resort "oversold" the event, and what was presented as more of an intimate weekend with a celebrity chef included over 350 people, with a lot of standing in line for check in/breakfast/dinner etc.

Chef Michael ultimately made the weekend a success. His down home style and personality made everyone feel welcome, with lots of laughs and personal stories.

The weather was too dreary to make use of any resort facilities. We went into town for some shopping to pass the afternoon. Several nice muskoka theme stores for window shopping in Huntsville.

Room Tip: We like the corner rooms in the Summit Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of the newly renovated Junior One Bedroom Suites, our charming town of Huntsville and the Chef Michael Smith Weekend. The events were designed so that our guests had the opportunity to see Chef Michael Smith up close, interact with him along with other guests, learn new recipes and techniques in preparing menu items under the guidance of Chef Michael himself. We are disappointed that the Friday night ‘Marche’ did not meet your expectations. The menu that evening was quite extensive. In addition to what you outline in your review it included a variety of interactive stations such as Oyster shucking, Wine & Beer sampling, carved roast New York Striploin, assorted soups, salads, desserts and many of our local Savour Muskoka partners offered samplings. We hope you had the chance to meet Chef Michael Smith directly as many of our guests did and that you will join us in the future for another special event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The room was adequate, with a decent bathroom, but nothing exceptionally nice. In fact, the furniture has seen better days and could use an upgrade.The bedding was average, but the pillows were terrible! I had problems with the reservation and the girl looking after that by phone was absolutely rude, but at check-in, they were very nice and helpful.The stage show was the highlight of the trip. The performers were extremely talented, and so funny!!! We loved it! Well worth the money. We enjoyed the spa treatments but found it far from the rooms. The Sunday buffet was ok, but again,nothing different or exciting. We waited quite awhile to be served as we were "between two stations"?? I had to ask for coffee 3 times.Really? I wouldn't go back.again. I was there 20 years ago with my husband and really loved it! Too bad.

Room Tip: Not sure if any rooms are better.................only saw ours in the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

While we are glad you enjoyed the Decades Live Show, Shizen Spa treatments and our welcoming front desk staff. We are concerned that a portion of your stay did not meet your expectations or our standards as well. We would like the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience so that we can actively address the details you noted. Please contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future to ensure you leave with a more positive impression and in keeping with what you experienced in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Deerhurst has undeniably ticked the box for location- sat on the shores of one of Muskoka's many beautiful lakes, it's a great base to explore the local area from. However the resort itself was not up to the other resorts you get across Canada.

Firstly the kids area is crazy crowded, especially in Summer when my family and I visited. The beach isn't quite large enough for the number of guests, so it's better to get away from the resort if you want to spend some time by the lakeside (I recommend Arrowhead National Park, only 20 mins away- there's a great area you can hire canoes/kayaks from for a small cost or swim and a nice little river to take the canoes down).

Secondly if you're a golfer it's heaven. Unfortunately none of my family are (I travelled with my brother and parents, my brother and I are in our early 20s). Clearly this is a resort geared towards the wealthy Torontonian businessman who wants to get out on the weekend and play some golf. Not saying this is necessary a negative, it's just not for us.

Thirdly, the motorised boat rentals is a bit casual. My brother and I tried to get jetskis out, but after a lot of faff, some kid said 'oh they've been taken away now, come back tomorrow', we came back and apparently they actually only have one. On the other hand, it is really easy to take out a normal motor boat, which would have been nice.

That's the negatives out the way, on the other hand the resort had some bonuses. Our rooms were really lovely, we stayed in Junior suites which have recently been renovated, but mind they're a walk from the main resort. Nonetheless, there's parking all outside so you don't have to walk far to get your car (if you rented). Also the food is great, but be prepared to pay! The main restaurant was where the UN ate when they came to Canada- although that's quite exciting, the bill is not.

I don't want to sound overly critical, but having stayed in similar resorts before (on the west canadian side), this was a bit of let down. Nevertheless, if you want a nice location, you're a young family/ golfers or you just want a good base to explore Muskoka, this place is probably the best of it's kind in the area around Huntsville.

Room Tip: The Junior suites have recently been renovated and are lovely, but quite far from the main resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We’re glad you enjoyed our lakeside location! Thank you for posting a review and the compliments on accommodation and food. The waterfront area of the resort is quite expansive and does include a sandy beach with designated swim. This area will be expanded and have a refreshed look by next summer with a few other areas around the resort. Deerhurst Resort does cater to all guests, couples and families alike and our guests do have plenty of leisure and activity options to choose from. The summer season is typically busier with families as many take vacations at that time of year. During the fall we tend to welcome more couples to enjoy what our destination has to offer and appreciate the packages we have available designed to offer a soothing getaway packed with relaxation and romance.

For future guests: Deerhurst does have a variety of different types of accommodation and in various locations around the resort and should a guest prefer a different type, style of room, or location our reservations agents would be pleased to assist and answer any questions you may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#17 of 18 in Huntsville
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
498 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: $159 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, ATV tours and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing