We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot”
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We liked the resort very much. Two negative items: we went with my wife and child. While she was busy (at the OMEA conference) we planned to do the buggy rides. But we were only told when we went to reserve it that it is now closed for the season. this should have been posted on the website that we checked.

Second item is poor signage. Delegates could not find: ex room cw, lake view a and b (sign said turn right downstairs ...... There were no stairs), lodge ballroom.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Jimg0. Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed the resort. Our sincere regrets that your family did not get to experience the buggy ride as expected. Deerhurst Resort is proud to offer the most on-site activities of any resort in Eastern Canada; however as outlined on our website some activities are only available on select dates throughout summer and fall and of course all outdoor activities are subject to weather conditions. We will review how we notify guests of seasonal closures and look at ways to improve. We do apologize that you had difficulty finding your conference rooms. We will certainly take your signage comments into consideration. Please know that many of the adjustments we make at the resort come directly from guest suggestions and forums like TripAdvisor and we do appreciate you letting us know about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,791 - 2,797 of 3,161 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

We had a wonderful opportunity to spend a glorious weekend at Deerhurst. Although it was late in the fall and the beautiful Autumn colours were long gone the beauty of the environment made it delightful! Our townhouse style 1 bedroom suite was clean, comfortable and extremely cozy with a lovely fireplace. The service by all staff was exceptional from the front desk reception to the host at the restaurant to the spa staff. Most defiantly would highly recommend spending time at the stunning resort.....the only negative comment I could possibly say was that the alcohol was very expensive...we spent $90 for 6 drinks! That said get a suite and you can bring your own wine/cheese etc and enjoy it in the comfort of your own space! We will most absolutely be returning!

Room Tip: We stayed in "The Greens" which were 1 bedroom suites much like a condo or townhouse.....v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetravelalot999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

MersSal. Wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us - Thank you for sharing your experience! It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests felt well cared for during their stay. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our entire team. We hope that Deerhurst Resort will be your resort of choice for many years to come. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My family and I stayed here for 4 days in substitute of going to a cottage. The grounds themselves were quite nice however I would not recommend this for people that like privacy and quiet. This place is ideal for families with small children (since they have an inflatable park on the lake) or people that golf. My family did go kayaking and waterskiing and the people that worked there were friendly although sometimes not as fast as we would have liked it. We decided in the end that it just wasn't our type of family trip and so we would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan2742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Megain2742. Thank you for the review. As we realize our guests choose their vacation spots for many different reasons, the popularity of our resort with families during the summer season would have definitely affected your expectations, if you preferred a more quiet and private experience at the waterfront. In future, I would recommend visiting in the late spring or early fall when the resort is not as busy and many of the activities that you would enjoy would still be available. Our reservations team would be more than happy to review available options with you, as we make every effort to ensure all of our guests have a memorable stay. Thank you you for recognizing our colleague’s friendly service and attention to detail on the grounds. Much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We spent the October long weekend with friends at Deerhurst and had great time. We biked along the resort, swang at indoors pools, played Ping-Pong, tennis and had a small trip around to Lion Head Looklout, Huntville town and Dorset Lookout tower to enjoy the beautiful fall season.
The resort has water splash area in the lake beach area, which must be fun but closed while we visited. The indoor pool is nice but the change room/shower room is really out-of-date. The golf area looks prety great.
The front desk is friendly and very helpful.
We'll be back for summer time for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Aliu66. Sincere appreciation for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of the amenities at Deerhurst and nearby places to explore in Muskoka. When planning your summer getaway, the splash zone admission fee includes not only Canada's largest inflatable water park, but also use of canoes, row boats, windsurfers, stand-up paddle boards and kayaks which provides a great way to experience the shores of Peninsula Lake. In addition to golfing on one of our two 18 hole golf courses, we do recommend you try an exhilarating Hummer or Rock Buggy tour followed by an evening of fun when our multi-talented show cast of dancers, singers, musicians take the stage, for DECADES. Look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Trying to get someone's attention to book an activity was near impossible since everyone was "very busy" -even though some staff members were standing around having a chat.

Unbelievable service for such a resort that's apparently highly rated.

NEVER going back or recommending to anyone else!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

“Melissa K”. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize, as your experience is not reflective of the service our team is capable of. We pride ourselves on warm and engaging service and we regret that this was not reflected during your stay. We remain hopeful that you will contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com to give us an opportunity to make things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I gave this an average rating because the food was really exceptional as was the setting but the accommodations were very dated. We were there in the fall when the leaves were at their height of beauty. The lake and forest setting were quite magical. One of our group golfed for a reasona ble rate and was very pleased with the experience on th Highlands course. In our housekeeping unit the kitchen was well equipped. I thought the rugs should be cleaned.

Room Tip: Ask to be by the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psychlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Hi “Psychlone”, really pleased to hear how your group of couples enjoyed dining here and golfing our Deerhurst Highlands course. Deerhurst is actually a founding member of the growing Savour Muskoka culinary trail. And while our waterfront area condo product does vary, by the end of January 2012, over half of Deerhurst’s accommodations will be freshly renovated. The best thing to do if you have questions about specific room types and features is to give us a call at 1-800-461-4393.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My husband & I stayed at Deerhurst Resort October 10 & 11, 2011. This was our second visit as we wanted to enjoy the Fall colours & a round of golf.

The resort, itself, is in a beautiful location with great scenery & many amenities. We chose the Bayshore Bldg., 2nd floor, with balcony as it allowed us to enjoy the view of the lake & surrounding area. As with other reviews, we agree that the rooms are very tired & the beds are doubles. Carpets are in need of cleaning and/or replacement. A nice extra would have been a bar fridge in the room as we like to bring our own water/beverages.

The Lakeside Golf Course is definitely a challenge, but very pretty with much beautiful scenery. The only problem are the geese droppings; on many holes you could not enjoy the scenery as you had to be careful where you were walking. even on some greens.

Dining can be expensive if you choose eat at the Eclipse, however, we chose this time to eat at the Maples Sport Bar which was more reasonably priced -- except that we found $11 for a glass of wine somewhat on the high scale! Also, beware there is an Amenity Tax added to everything. Food was tasty, but not outstanding.

The most disappointing part of the trip was that I got severe food poisoning which is still lingering 5 days later after a visit to the hospital. Upon checkout, the young lady was very apologetic & had us speak to someone from the Food & Beverage Dept., which was followed up by a phone call from the Sous-Chef. Even more disappointing is that there was no compensation offered whatsoever, not even for that portion of our meal.

We loved the resort amenities, scenery & relaxing time in their off-season, however, we will think long & hard about returning..

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

“Mike W” thanks for taking the time to post and for speaking to our Executive Assistant on the phone this afternoon. We are glad that you are feeling better, as we were very concerned to read that you suspected you got ill from something you ate here. At Deerhurst we have strict protocols in place to protect all our guests’ as the health and safety is a priority. As for your comment on the geese, our lakeside property is home to lots of Muskoka wildlife. We have implemented natural and non-harmful deterrents and will continue to address this. Finally, we wanted to let you know that Deerhurst has had new ownership since earlier this year, who have renovation and enhancement plans already well underway. While we realize that doesn’t change your thoughts from last week, we remain hopeful that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#17 of 18 in Huntsville
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
486 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: $162 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, ATV tours and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing