We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Valley Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The resort provided a lovely, hidden escape from the city. The service and quality were impeccable, especially at the Birches restaurant. A great value overall. I would recommend this resort and likely return in the near future!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salima27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent review of Hidden Valley Resort , knowing that everything was up to your expectations is what our Staff work hard to achieve at all times.
Reviews are shared with our staff.
I hope we can welcome you back to Hidden Valley Resort in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 505 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Took advantage of an off-season package and really enjoyed our weekend here. The hotel was very quiet (it was between ski and summer season) which was perfect for some down time.
The included breakfast was great, and servers were wonderful. Dinner was nothing special, but again the restaurant staff were great and the atmosphere perfect for a relaxed meal.
The rooms were large enough, very comfortable (great pillows) and clean. Had a beautiful view of the lake - which was nice to have, but I`d likely opt out of that choice if only at the resort for skiing.
We spent the days hiking (there are some short trails in the area and longer ones closer to Algonquin), exploring Hunstville, and checking out the local stores/restaurants. Two days was the perfect amount of time to spend here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank illjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review Hidden Valley Resort on Trip Advisor and I am very pleased that you found the resort both comfortable , clean and offering great customer service.
I was concerned that the restaurant was not up to your expectations and these reviews are shared with our Executive Chef so that we make sure your dining experience is more than mediocre.
I hope to welcome you again back to \Hidden Valley Resort very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Although some of the criticisms of the other reviewers are valid, it would be hippocritical of me not to give this hotel a five circle rating because I have been coming here every winter for over the past ten years!

(Note that this review is directed more to travellers from the local area who are not used to skiing in the Rockies or the Alps. If you are expect Whistler, go to BC!!!)

The last couple of times I stayed here was over the Family Day long weekend. Despite the extra work involved (I gather this is their busiest time of the year), the staff are always courteous and professional. With the swimming pool, sauna, and lounge/bar area equipped with a cozy fireplace, this modest hotel takes on a very festive and relaxing atmosphere in the winter.

The restaurant has a nice ambience due to the natural lighting from the glass walls and the beautiful views of the lake and the ski hill. The food is not gourmet, but the service is very professional and the hand-cut fries are not to be missed.

As for the rooms, they are quite clean and they recently upgraded the furniture. The Group of Seven prints are a nice touch as are the heated bathroom floors. If you plan to hang out in your room during daytime with your book and coffee, the extra charge for the lake/ski hill views are worth it. If you will be in the room mostly overnight, don't bother.

Finally, although I do not have children, this hotel seems to be good value for famillies with young kids who are learning to ski or snowboard. Not just money-wise but time-wise: the ski-in, ski-out feature is very convenient.



Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank cannucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review of Hidden Valley Resort, so glad we can welcome you back year after year and that you find our resort up to your expectations.
We strive to keep doing more each year so our guests can enjoy the best customer service and
superior guest rooms at every visit.
We hope to welcome you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Good prices, specially if you book a deal.

Rooms updated (most), clean and comfortable.

Service was friendly and efficient.

some have balconies, other's great views.
Dinning room food if wholesome, good and properly priced.

some cozy seats by the fire in the bar.

What more could you ask for and be a 50 yard walk to the Ski Slopes

Room Tip: ask for 2nd or 3rd floor as they seem to have been more recently updated. If you don't like stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripopinonsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review of Hidden Valley Resort.
Our staff work hard to provide our guests with clean comfortable rooms, delicious food and
superior customer service.
Your comments will be shared with our employees.
I hope you will return to Hidden Valley this summer to enjoy our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights almost half a year ago during 2013 Thanksgiving weekend. I didn't realize I did not submit my review about this place. I'm compelled to do so because this place was a pleasant surprise and made up for the crappy weather during our trip to Algonquin Park.

The hotel is much better than I expected. It seems quite well maintained. The room is clean and beds are comfortable. We feel safe and secure here.
It sits on a hill overlooking a lake, very nice scenery. And, you can access the lake from the hotel.
We reserved a 2 double bed room but we got a bigger room with 2 queen and a sofa bed. This might have made a better experience for us.
The pool is also nice. A decent size and not crowded at all when we used it. Yes, you have to request for towels from the front desk but no big deal. And, I'm glad they have a shower and a change room in the pool area.
This place will be on our list on our next visit to Algonquin Park.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrickWall166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review of our resort and I am pleased that you were able to enjoy our facilities
and our clean comfortable rooms.
We have and are still renovating Hidden Valley Resort continually to provide our guest with the superior accommodation they deserve.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Hidden Valley resort in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We recently stayed here for a March Break family getaway and my husband and I both shared a food item and were violently ill afterwards. This problem was addressed at the time to kitchen staff, front desk staff and also the manager to no resolve or even a care. We were there for 2 nights and lost an entire day or more due to this.

Also nothing for the kids to do except swim. I had expected over March Break some extra activities to occupy the kids.

Beds were good, we would know since we spent a lot of time in them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cottagegirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. We value your comments, and will share them with our management team. It was unfortunate you didn’t feel that guest satisfaction was met. I assure we take great pride and care with the preparation of all our food in our restaurant, and I’m sorry to hear you were not feeling well that evening. I understand however you did get an opportunity to speak with the Dining Room Manager the following afternoon while you were enjoying your lunch in our Restaurant, regarding your concerns and I believe he did resolve that for you at that time.
During our march break we had a variety of activities for all the children to participate in and enjoy, we played two movies every night in our movie room, we had a Ping Pong room, outdoor skating rink, games room with pool table and video games, the indoor pool or course, we had a hill in front of our property for tobogganing, snowshoes available for use, not to mention we are across the road from downhill skiing and minutes away from a arrowhead provincial park. I think it is fair to say we had an abundance of activities to choose from.
I do hope this experience does not prevent you from joining us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed at the resort for 2 nights and had a great time. Hidden Valley is a very clean and lovely looking place. The amenities are first rate and the views across the lake and ski hill are excellent. The room 304 was clean and the housekeeping staff were quick and efficient. One small complaint was the small size of the towels for the swimming pool area. They were fine for kids and teens but not for adults. Overall very satisfied and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of Hidden Valley Resort and I pleased that you found our hotel clean and comfortable and that staff were efficient, I will share your comments with them.
Hidden Valley is constantly being renovated and upgraded to a high standard but the view from some guest rooms and our dining room can not be improved upon as you indicated .
I will look into our pool towels to see what we can do to improve size for adults.
I hope you will return soon to Hidden Valley Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
4 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#17 of 18 in Huntsville
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3,311 reviews
10.1 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Resort

Address: 1755 Valley Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: $98 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hidden Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel Huntsville
Hv Hidden Valley Hotel
Hv Hidden Valley Huntsville
Hidden Valley Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing