We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad...needs a bit more to be good or great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hidden Valley Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not bad...needs a bit more to be good or great”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nice overall setting on the lake and there are a lot of great amenities...have know this place for 20 years however I think that it may be slipping a bit...it has great potential but needs a bit more to make it great....room was a good size, bed was comfortable, pillows great ...however the certain things needed to be updated...e.g. my bathtub had several huge chips in it, town bigger than a toonie...fitness room has a water cooler but not paper cups and there are no paper towels/cleaner to clean off the equipment after your workout....went to the bar for a drink but they were moving me out before 10:00...however staff were very nice

any event ...not bad and has the potential to be great

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear lingar,

Thank you for your time and your review of our resort on TripAdvisor. Glad to hear you enjoyed your good size room with a comfortable bed and pillows. We have shared your comments with our team and we are committed to upgrade and improve our resort like the bathtub in the room you stayed in. Thank you for your business and look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    162
    72
    40
    27
See reviews for
167
161
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Hidden Valley this summer for a family retreat. My idea of a Muskoka holiday isn't what we got at HV. Too many people at the beach for a peaceful setting, too few activities at the resort for it to be entertaining. It falls in that unfortunate zone of boring not relaxing.

We went to order lunch one afternoon from the dreadful restaurant because we just decided to eat in and guess what? No service at all. Called from the room phone because I couldn't believe a 'resort' wouldn't serve food and drink at 2pm...and no, answer. I clocked more kilometres on the car driving into town to eat than I would have cared to do on a holiday. Lunch (when we could get it) was not bad, breakfast and dinner were horrible.

All that said, if you have younger children I'm sure that HV would be a great place. Small enough to feel safe with the kids running around. Two pools, two fire pits and a small beach. If only our kids were 10 years younger. Oh, well...

The housekeeping service ladies were quite nice. Jade deserves commendation.

We'll be booking a cottage next time we are in the Huntsville area. I like more privacy or more action than HV provided.

Room Tip: Ask for the low 200's or 300's (if stairs are not a problem). A lake side room with a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MammaBear67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear MammaBear67,

Thank you for your time and your review of our resort on TripAdvisor. Disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time on your Muskoka holiday with your family and my apologies. We have shared your comments with our team and especially your commendation of our housekeeping member Jade. Thank you for your business and hope you will give us another try in the future.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We purchased five nights through jaunt voucher to accommodate us while our son attended a hockey camp. The rooms were basic but clean. Our view was disappointing, a brick wall and a tree. Our door was right beside the exit door and stairs. We asked for a different room but never were accommodated. That was disappointing as we were staying five nights and 6 days. Overall the staff were friendly with the exception of one waitress. We were opting for the special "prime rib dinner" which they were out of and opted for fish & chips off the menu which was overcooked. Our dinners for the rest of the week were okay. The breakfast buffet had a nice selection and was great. We utilized the canoes, pool and games room which were all fun. There are no elevators which was okay for us but my husband had to assist an elderly couple with their luggage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Heather C,

Thank you for your time and your review of our resort on TripAdvisor. Sorry we could not accommodate you with a room with a better view in one of our renovated lakeside rooms. Glad to hear you had fun with the canoes and our indoor and outdoor saltwater pools. I have shared your comments with our F&B team on your experience in our restaurant. Thank you for your business and hope you will come back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went with a jaunt.ca package. Found we were not given all the rules at the front desk. We went for their special "prime rib" at 7 and ordered - then were told they were out of the prime rib. In exchange they offered the more expensive alternative - this was the right way to handle the problem, We had a wine voucher (part of our package) for $30. We were not instructed - that this was only good for a bottle of wine. We had ordered a litre of house red. At the end of the meal, they informed us that we should have been told at the front desk. They did acknowledge their mistake and accepted the voucher but told us to "take note for the next night". Cleaning staff nice and friendly. One heated pool and one outside pool. Lovely dock and paddle boats and a small beach. My suggestion, that since it is so steep (and so many stairs) to the beach, that the property should invest in a golf cart, so that they could take people down to the beach and bring them back up (people with problems walking). A reasonable package with a close golf course would also add to its appeal.

Room Tip: ask for the 3rd floor because they have a balcony - no elevators.(If stairs are a problem, ask for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnaburlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear donnaburlington,

Thank you for your time and your review of our resort on TripAdvisor. Glad to hear you enjoyed our beautiful setting on the lake and our waterfront beach and activities. Sorry for the confusion on the Jaunt package details and I have shared your comments with our team. Thank you for your business and look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We took some friends to Hidden Valley Resort as a treat for their 25th Anniversary. Admittedly, we did it through 'Jaunt', but even though it was a special deal, it was not free. Prior to our arrival, I had spoken with the hotel on a few occasions to make sure that our friends stay was special, and I arranged to upgrade both rooms on arrival to King Beds in rooms with balconies, next to each other. When we arrived, they did not have what we booked available, so they put us into two rooms which were at the extreme opposite end of a very long hallway. Neither room had a balcony although the girl that checked us in seemed to think one of them did. When I called from the room to tell her there was no balcony, her response was to laugh at me!! Our room was next to the fire exit which they allowed to be banged opened and closed all night so that the smokers could come and go without having to walk outside. Upon checkout, they actually charged me for two upgraded rooms and basically said it was just 'tough luck' that our rooms didn't have balconies, but that we should pay for an upgrade anyway as they did have King beds! In addition, I guess it was also an upgrade to share our room with all the dead wildlife that we found under the furniture and behind the drapes (wasps, beetles etc). I have never met such rude and unacommodating staff in my entire life, and would warn anyone against this property - especially if you are celebrating a special occasion and want it to be nice!

Room Tip: Choose another resort, not another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Miriam M,

Thank you for your time and your review of our resort on TripAdvisor. Very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your special occasion visit with us. We value your comments as we take customer service and cleanliness very seriously and I have shared your comments with our team. Thank you for your business and hope you will give us another try in one of our renovated lakeside rooms with a balcony.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val d'Or, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hidden Valley resort the last week of july for 6 nights. It was exactly what we wanted, big room with balcony facing the lake. We wanted peace and quiet and thats what we got. Beautiful weather all week, what more could we ask for. We will be returning for another visit .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty_ann_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear betty_ann_ca,

Thank you for your time and your review of our resort on TripAdvisor. So glad to hear you got exactly what you wanted, a big room with a balcony facing the lake and experienced relaxation at its best! Thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went with our whole family and had a great time. The resort includes a beach, boats (canoe, kayak, paddle boats), tennis and basketball courts and two pools (indoor and outdoor). The customer service was amazing from everyone we met, they were extremely friendly and accommodating. The room rates are reasonable and the hotel restaurant has great food at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend a lakeside room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldfish_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear goldfish_ca,

Thank you for your time and your review of our resort on TripAdvisor. Glad to hear you had a great time with your whole family and enjoyed our many outside activities and experienced amazing customer service from everyone you met. Thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our resort.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,841 reviews
7.7 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Resort

Property: Hidden Valley Resort
Address: 1755 Valley Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hidden Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel Huntsville
Hv Hidden Valley Hotel
Hv Hidden Valley Huntsville
Hidden Valley Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing