We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hidden Valley Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hidden Valley resort the last week of july for 6 nights. It was exactly what we wanted, big room with balcony facing the lake. We wanted peace and quiet and thats what we got. Beautiful weather all week, what more could we ask for. We will be returning for another visit .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty_ann_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear betty_ann_ca,

Thank you for your time and your review of our resort on TripAdvisor. So glad to hear you got exactly what you wanted, a big room with a balcony facing the lake and experienced relaxation at its best! Thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 491 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went with our whole family and had a great time. The resort includes a beach, boats (canoe, kayak, paddle boats), tennis and basketball courts and two pools (indoor and outdoor). The customer service was amazing from everyone we met, they were extremely friendly and accommodating. The room rates are reasonable and the hotel restaurant has great food at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend a lakeside room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldfish_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear goldfish_ca,

Thank you for your time and your review of our resort on TripAdvisor. Glad to hear you had a great time with your whole family and enjoyed our many outside activities and experienced amazing customer service from everyone you met. Thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our resort.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have stayed at this resort many times over the last 20 yrs. Generally it has changed hands quite a few times, but still a great value for families and couples. We found the property to be clean, lots to do, nice beach front and friendly staff. We ate in the restaurant twice for dinner and breakfast. Lovely views of the lake, if the weather cooperates, you can have a drink or your dinner and breakfast outside. Nice bar. Great tennis courts, basketball courts, and indoor and out door pools. Rooms have been updated. A little noisy sometimes, as we could hear people talking through the adjoining door, and someone using there bathroom above us. Good value.Yoo can tie up your b oat here, there are lots of activities nearby. Huntsville has great restaurants. Good swimming, and paddle-boats, canoes, kayaks to use at beach.

Room Tip: Second or third floor, with view of the lake. Chose the lakeside rather than the parking lot. The vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readytobook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear readytobook,

Thank you for your time and your review of our resort on TripAdvisor. Yes, things change over time, however the resort still offers clean and comfortable rooms with friendly service and many activities for families and couples at a great value. Glad to hear you had a great stay and thank you for your continued business over the years and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights out of convenience because our friends were getting married right at the resort. We got a discount on the room, but for what we ended up with, it was overpriced.
Things were reasonably clean, and the bed was very comfortable but the room was dated, and definitely had no "extras." We were woken in the morning by housekeeping entering our room to see if we needed anything (glad we were semi-clothed at the time!) Upon returning home, after our 2-day stay, I found myself covered in bites (bedbugs?)
The food we had during the rehearsal dinner and the reception was excellent, though breakfast was not included in the cost of the room. We appreciated the free paddleboats and canoes, though the motorboats speeding around the lake made it difficult to enjoy our time on the water. We were disappointed with the "beach" that was advertised. It was no more than a tiny strip of sand with some lounge chairs and a volleyball court. We were happy to find the indoor pool was open until 11pm, though it was not the cleanest.
All in all, it was a decent place to stay, but I expected more for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the "hills" overlook the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel both for the day with our kids and then for an overnight as a couple. The hotel was very accommodating, allowing our kids to join us for the day from camp even though they weren't staying overnight. The casual aspect of the hotel made us relax as parents as our kids can get a little excited. Our room was nicely decorated and the view was wonderful. With both indoor and outdoor pools and the waterfront there were lots of swimming options. . A must try: their homemade potato chips. SO good! For breakfast the only option was the buffet but the waiter charged us only for the items we had (fruit and croissant and tea). Staff were all very helpful and pleasant A couple of improvables: We had trouble connecting by phone both as we tried to book the room and while we were staying (trying to contact the front desk); we couldn't take a canoe out for an early morning paddle until the attendant was on duty later in the morning. Also, it's a long walk for kids from the beach up to the main building if they need a washroom. All minor things as far as we were concerned. We haven't stayed at this hotel for about 6 years so found that they have done a great job on renovations and improved things quite a bit.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by rooms on the first floor. The hotel is on a hill and the view of the lake wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blessedt0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My 2 boys, wife and I stayed here in June for 2 nights for one of my boys lacrosse tournament. We had a decent stay, but there were a few minor issues.

Check in was fine, we tried to check in early, but room wasn't ready. We wanted to arrange wakeboarding for our boys, but front desk clerk wasn't overly helpful other than to tell us that is wasn't available there. Eventually found out it was offered at Deerhurst and borrowed the phone to make arrangements.

The rooms were fairly large but somewhat dated. Standard hotel room with decent beds. Everything worked well. Seemed fairly quiet.

The location is about 10 minutes from Huntsville. The resort is located on a nice lake with a small beach. They have kayaks, peddle boats, and canoes for resort guests to use. There was always boats available to use and we did this a few times. They also have fire pits that they light up in the evenings. Nice way to spend a warm summer evening.

They also have an indoor pool, outdoor pool and a volleyball court. With the outdoor pool, they seem to have an issue with ducks landing in the pool and leaving a mess of feathers and duck poop. We noticed that the duck poop sitting on the edge of the pool deck at the beginning of our stay never was cleaned up. They could also use more loungers and seating around the pool.

We decided to go to the restaurant one night after 8pm. There was a group of 8 of us (4 kids) and we alll ordered very basic meals - chicken fingers, pizza, burgers etc. After waiting an hour and a half we left. The server was very apologetic, but the wait was completely unreasonable.

Overall a resort that is in a great location but could use some updating. With some work this could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamielidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It still floors me why this hotel isn't full - you're right beside Deerhurst with the same spectacular views for a fraction of the cost!
The rooms are similar to Deerhurst - ask for a lake view - it's worth the little bit more. They have the water and they have a pool - what more do you need?
Front desk are super friendly and helpful.
This is a hidden gem and well worth the price point.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#17 of 18 in Huntsville
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3,223 reviews
10.1 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Resort

Address: 1755 Valley Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: $96 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hidden Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel Huntsville
Hv Hidden Valley Hotel
Hv Hidden Valley Huntsville
Hidden Valley Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing