We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many chances and still just meh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Valley Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel before the ownership changed and my ring was stolen out of the room. When we contacted management they said that what we were told by the desk staff didn't even make sense. Fast forward to now ... I gave it a second chance cause I figured new owners maybe new experiences... although the beds were comfortable beyond belief, the internet was good and the hotel is in a peaceful surrounding we overheard a staff member making fun of us to another guest. We advised the front desk and they said they would handle it and then just kinda stared at us. Sorry but I have worked in hotels something more should have been done. Also when we checked into our room there was a container of salad in the fridge... we opened it just wondering if one of us maybe left it there... nope .. almost gagged.
Like I say they had done some things well but these two soured it for me.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disneykristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHamm0nd, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank-you for your review.
I am not sure about previous owners or operators or stolen rings. I am not really sure how that fits as a review of our business but however, I guess you have a bad feeling from a previous time.
We attempt to employ professional staff and we call on them to remain professional at all times as well as friendly and helpful. Perhaps we failed in the area of courtesy on this. Perhaps you did not hear everything that was said. All of that should go without saying but a salad left behind is not acceptable from a guest room cleanliness position. I am very sorry that happened to you and I hope you will forgive our shortcoming in the housekeeping department.
Thank-you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 498 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

My friend is getting married at the resort this September and we took advantage of a Living Social Deal to do some wedding planning. Was very impressed with the design, decor and cleanliness of the front lobby. Staff at the reception desk and the wedding specialist were extremely friendly and helpful with excellent sense of humors . Great big thank you to John and Lindsay for all there help and recommendations, (loved the nail salon, Le Nails, Lindsay recommended). Room was very quaint and clean, a little squishy for 4 females and accompanying luggage but we managed. Beds were super comfy and pillows very fluffy. Loved that there was a fridge in the room and that each room had its own private balcony. After dinner we finished our evening off with a swim in the pool and played in the arcade, lots of fun and super clean. We are so looking forward to returning in September for the wedding that we might go up again before then.

Room Tip: Highly recommend rooms lakeside, especially on 3rd floor, best view ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHamm0nd, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Wow! What can I say after your great review other then thank-you. You were great guests to have with us. You were the perfect group and we can hardly wait until you return in the fall.
We continue to work very hard at Hidden Valley Resort to make every guest as happy as you are. We also encourage all of these posts on Trip Advisor to help us along the way to exceeding guest expectations.
Thank-you for sharing your experience!
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at hidden valley last weekend with not much of an expectation. We had bought a grouponfor a weekend escape that was much needed. The food was great - we had the fish and chips one night and a 3 course steak dinner the second night. They have a pool an sauna however the sauna didn't get as hotbas we would have liked. The cleaning staff were very friendly. We stayed in room 319 and the cleaning staff came to our door and asked very politely if we wanted our room cleaned. She even offered to come back at a better time which I felt was extremely legendary service levels. The staff at the front desk were pleasant as well. Next time we will stay at yhos resort during the summer months as there's not too much going on in April. We will be back not only for a vacation but webare seriously considering getting married here. Thanks for a relaxing weekend Hidden Valley. Please offer another wagjag soon!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robynbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHamm0nd, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

What a wonderful review! And we would love to host your wedding here. I hope that we were able to provide you with some information to help you make an informed choice and select Hidden Valley Resort for your big day!
Thank-you for your review and your business. We look forward to your return.
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have stayed at Hidden Valley several times, but this was the first time since we had a baby, which brought some issues to light. The front doors are not automatic, making it very difficult to navigate an infant in a stroller and all our baby gear. I can only imagine how someone with mobility issues would be frustrated by the front entrance as well, which is unfortunate because the rest of the hotel appears to be accessible. Also, the crib we requested in the online reservation was not in the room upon our arrival, even though the front desk assured us that it was set up in there when we checked in. After calling the front desk from the room, a playpen finally arrived half an hour later, but we had to set it up ourselves. Apart from these 2 things, though, we enjoyed our stay and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We didn't order food, but we went for a drink in the bar and found it warm and welcoming. The view from the lakeside rooms is lovely. Overall, if you don't have mobility issues and don't mind struggling with a baby in a stroller, I would recommend Hidden Valley Resort.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the lake view. Make sure to ask for your CAA/AAA discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HuntsvillePumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHamm0nd, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with Trip Advisor.
We really look forward to all of the feed back that we receive from our guests. As you can probably understand it offers us the opportunity to make adjustments to our business and further improve on our guests services.
It is unfortunate that you had to wait for a crib in your room. That was an error on our part and for that I must apologize. I am glad it did not inconvenience you too badly. It was nice to see that you took advantage of our lake side rooms! The view is indeed splendid.
We are planning to have our front doors renovated to include automatic door openers.
Thank-you once again for your business,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at Hidden Valley the first weekend of March, 2013. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and made us feel like valued customers. Our room was very clean and quiet. The boys loved the pool, which was also very clean. The restaurant is a little bit pricey for what you get. The good news is though that the resort is close enough to town where there are quite a few dining options. I would say this hotel is a good choice for families with pets.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHamm0nd, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

We love to get feedback from all of our guests! It helps us along our journey to excellence in hospitality. Thank -you for sharing your experience and your opinions on Trip Advisor.
I agree we are a great location for a family get away. We will continue to offer the best value and service that we can give all of our guests as well as continue to give great food and beverage options in our restaurant. Once again thank-you for your business and we look forward to your return.
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The rooms were clean and an ok size. I wouldn't pay extra for a lake view room since I paid extra and the view I had was mostly of the condos between the hotel and the lake (we were able to see a sliver of water). All in all, not really worth the cost but at least it was clean. It might have been worth the money if breakfast was included. Bees nests on the balcony (and it looked like they were on many of the other balconys as well).

Room Tip: Lake view room is not worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carrie_R_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHamm0nd, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Hi and thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. So you stayed with us back in September and you are posting your review in February. That is interesting but never the less we love all the feedback we can get. I am glad you found our room clean to your satisfaction. We work very hard to make sure cleanliness is our first priority.
Not to pick apart your review but we do not offer any lake view rooms at our resort. We do however distinguish our rooms by either lake side or hill side and the room that you stayed in and paid a slightly higher rate was newly renovated with several upgrades. You were not paying extra for any promised view of the lake. The balcony is a wonderful extra in September and I know you would have enjoyed the colorful surroundings from that vantage point.
Depending on the package you selected and the date that you stayed you could have had your breakfast included but as a standard we do not include breakfast with the room rate. I hope you return again and that we have the opportunity to serve you. Thank-you again for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I've stayed at Hidden Valley Resort a couple of times and attended conventions there also. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and very welcoming and comfortable. It's not overly fancy, but quite nice. The food was very good, however I think it is a bit pricey for what you get.
All said and done it is a great place to stay in the area for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Threekidsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHamm0nd, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

It was great to have you back with us again. Thank-you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is really easy for us to be friendly and helpful when we get to have nice people like you to deal with. We will continue to do more of the same in the future and perhaps the next time you are here we could discuss our food program in more detail. I would love to get more specific details from you. I hope to see you again soon,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
4 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#17 of 18 in Huntsville
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3,236 reviews
10.1 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Resort

Address: 1755 Valley Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: $103 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hidden Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel Huntsville
Hv Hidden Valley Hotel
Hv Hidden Valley Huntsville
Hidden Valley Resort Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing