We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat
Ranked #8 of 21 Huntsville B&B and Inns
1 review
“Just wonderful!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have stayed already various times at the Algonquin Mists, it is a wonderful place year round. Gail and Jim are the best hosts you can imagine, the rooms are cozy and clean, and the breakfast is oustanding. The warm atmosphere makes you feel at home immediately, and the peaceful surroundings guarantee that you will have a relaxing stay. I am sure I will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen_YYZDUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estie46, Owner at Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review..hope to see you this winter...snowshoeing at the park is such an enjoyable pastime. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed at Algonquin Mists a number of times since it opened. All the rooms are spacious and nicely done. On our most recent stay in September we stayed in their newest addition the Forest View Bachelour Suite it was so nice to wake up at our leisure to a self-serve luxury breakfast on the patio overlooking the forest. We loved the privacy of this newest suite, like your own little cottage in the woods. Another peaceful time at the MIsts! Thanks Jim and Gail for being great hosts.

Room Tip: Forest View Bachelor Suite very privat with own entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estie46, Owner at Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the delightful review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitchener, ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

After selling our cottage in Muskoka we wanted a vacation place to go to near Algonquin Park. Algonquin Mists was a perfect choice. All the suites are spacious but our favourite is the Forest View Bachelor Suite with its private entrance, patio and breakfast bar with mini - kitchenette ideal for our extended stays. Gail and Jim are great hosts with lots of knowledge about the area. Fine Dining at the Norseman Restaurant on Walker Lake is within walking distance or just a minute drive if you want some takeout to enjoy on the patio. Wonderful lakes and beaches near by. Gail and Jim know all the hidden ones. Be sure to check out the Limberlost Wild Life Reserve its just minutes from the retreat with great hiking and snowshoe trails. Thank you for creating Algonquin Mists, we sill see you soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, loved the Forest View Bachelor suite the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pappy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estie46, Owner at Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our newest suite "The Bachelor Forest View Suite." See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My new husband and I took a few days for our "mini-moon" up North and Algonquin Mist was highly recommended by my sister. We had the most lovely, relaxing, refreshing couple of days to regroup after our wedding. Gail and Jim were truly great - I was sick with laryngitis and Gail was sure to bring me some home remedies and herbal treatments to help get me back on my feet! We loved staying in the Garden View Suite - we were really looking forward to the ensuite jacuzzi, the most comfortable King size bed, and cozy fireplace. Our room was kept incredibly clean, our breakfasts were so delicious, and it lovely to chat with Gail in the morning as well as another couple visiting from overseas. Gail and Jim provided many ideas about other parks & restaurants to visit, and Algonquin Mist was only a short drive to Algonquin. Thank you so much for providing such a beautiful retreat for us! We will see you again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estie46, Owner at Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review and congratulations again on your recent marriage. It was such a pleasure to have you both stay with us. Thank you for filling our home with such happiness and joy...till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My fiancee and I had a trip to Ontario in August, and we decided to spend two days at the Algonquin Mists. It was such a good choice: Gail and Jim are wonderful, helpful and friendly hosts, the house is so cozy, peaceful and luxurious, our room was beautiful, spacious and clean, with ensuite bathroom, a King size bed, sitting area, kitchenette, and a fireplace. We arrived late at night and Gail and Jim offered us a glass of very good red wine, and suggested us the right places to have dinner (trattoria La Dolce Vita was very good). Gale is such a good cook, and breakfast was excellent and plentiful. She also suggested us what to visit in Algonquin Park. I'm dreaming about going back to Algonquin Mists, one day...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 878Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estie46, Owner at Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Looking forward to your next visit and we will be cooking Milanese Veal for sure. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our one year anniversary with a trip to Algonquin park and Algonquin Mists was the perfect place to stay. We were in The Forest View Bachelor Suite, which was a lovely large open space room with fire place and a lovely bathroom including a huge soak in tub-just great. The owners Jim & Gail were super helpful and very sweet and friendly-all in all-a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estie46, Owner at Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your review and the photo of the Forest View suite we are so glad that you had a great time and enjoyed our new suite. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus ,Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in the Forest Glenn suite and found it to be spacious, comfortable and private. Lots of room with a private deck and entry. Continental breakfast was plentiful with enough left to use for a snack at lunch. Gail and Jim were very helpful and friendly. We took their recommendations as to where to hike and eat (Nourseman, Tall Trees, La Dolce Vita) and found them to be excellent. And you can't beat a long day of fun and then relaxing on the back deck with a cocktail. House is quite new and in a quiet location conveniently between Huntsville and the park. All in all-as perfect as you can get!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gathp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estie46, Owner at Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review...we hope to see you again in the near future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#6 of 18 in Huntsville
178 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Pine Lodge Inn
Pine Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
99 reviews
2.7 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,924 reviews
6.5 mi away
Arrowhead Inn
Arrowhead Inn
#12 of 21 in Huntsville
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat

Property: Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat
Address: 1080 Walker's Glenn Crescent, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Huntsville
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Algonquin Mists Guest Home And Retreat Huntsville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing